Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nasty piece of work.
Another After Dark Films release.

Basic premise has Lily retreating to a new life at Cassadaga after her sister is killed in a tragic accident. Traumatised by her loss, Lily seeks the help of a medium to connect with her sister. Instead, she connects with a darker spirit which possesses her and leads her down a self-destructive and sinister path.

A...
Published on 20 Nov 2012 by Wayne Simmons

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh it's not the worst horror film!
The main actress Kelen Coleman is amazing in this film, its a shame the film wasn't amazing! It'a a decent enough watch but its predictable, generic and barely creepy or scary but there is much much worse out there!
Published 15 months ago by Mr M Mclenaghan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nasty piece of work., 20 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cassadaga [DVD] (DVD)
Another After Dark Films release.

Basic premise has Lily retreating to a new life at Cassadaga after her sister is killed in a tragic accident. Traumatised by her loss, Lily seeks the help of a medium to connect with her sister. Instead, she connects with a darker spirit which possesses her and leads her down a self-destructive and sinister path.

A bizarre hybrid of TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE, PARANORMAL ACTIVITY and RITES OF SPRING, CASSADAGA is not only an odd movie, but a slow movie too - and all the better for it. Beautifully shot with wonderful performances across the board, the characters and their interactions are the main drivers of this story. You can almost taste Lily's angst and guilt as she struggles to come to terms with her sister's tragic death, and her perceived part in such. And while some ends are left untied, the movie reaches a satisfying and heartbreaking conclusion.

One of my favourite horror films of the year and a huge step forward for After Dark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good., 9 May 2012
By 
This review is from: Cassadaga [DVD] (DVD)
Anyone expecting another tedious 'torture porn' romp will probably leave this feeling rather let down. The gore and nastiness is there, but largely takes a backseat to plot and characterisation. It twists and turns at a satisfying rate, and both acting and direction are good. This won't blow you away, but if you fancy an engaging, slightly offbeat macabre thriller, then 'Cassadaga's worth a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 Nov 2012
This review is from: Cassadaga [DVD] (DVD)
I'm not usually one for ghost horror, but I thought this was an absolute gem.

1) I liked the way that your expectations were manipulated. After a plot twist 3/4 of the way through I was sure of the villain's identity. Wrong !!
2) I liked the way the film was shot.
3) I liked the heroine .. super sweet girl.
4) I liked the marionette maniac. Super cool idea.

In summation this was quite an eerie film with a very capable actress in the lead role and a neat killer. One of the better After Dark productions imo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars must see film, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cassadaga [DVD] (DVD)
great film will keep you on edge of your seat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars MUTILATES WITH SCISSORS, 2 Dec 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cassadaga [DVD] (DVD)
The film opens up with a young boy (Garrett Boyle) being disciplined by his mother (Janine Klein) for dressing up as a girl and playing with dolls. This leads to a self mutilation. We then move to the present, some unspecified years later. Lily (Kelen Coleman) is a deaf art teacher. Her sister (Sarah Sculco) speaks French then gets hit by a bus causing Lily to leave her job and relocate at Cassadaga, a Florida town known for its psychics.

Here she meets Mike (Kevin Alejandro) the father of a student. She teaches for Mrs. Anderson (Louise Fletcher) whose recluse grandson Thomas (Lucas Beck) likes to polish his furniture while watching Internet porn. After contacting a local psychic (Avis-Marie Barnes), a portal opens which allows an angry spirit to come through and haunt Lily.

The film was interesting as you see a plot and a slightly confusing minor subplot of the past. The film was done well, but is far from a classic. It lacked cohesion. The film takes 45-50 minutes to develop which was fine, but really needed an extra 10-15 minutes of horror factors where it was light.

Worth a rental price. 3 1/2 Amazon stars seems about right.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, sex, nudity (Brooke Lawless, first movie credit)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Meh it's not the worst horror film!, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cassadaga [DVD] (DVD)
The main actress Kelen Coleman is amazing in this film, its a shame the film wasn't amazing! It'a a decent enough watch but its predictable, generic and barely creepy or scary but there is much much worse out there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lacks ... something, 10 April 2013
This review is from: Cassadaga [DVD] (DVD)
I am a big baby when it comes to horror films - I don't get on very well with gore for the sake of gore and I'm one of the first people to jump/scream even though I'm expecting something to happen.

This one ... given that it was an 18 ... I was a bit cautious and, as I'd never heard of it, I didn't know what to expect. My friend wanted to give it a watch, so I armed myself with a cushion and watched it.

I'm finding it difficult to write this review without spoilers so ...

::::WARNING!! SPOILERS ALERT!!! SPOILERS ALERT!!!::::

The concept actually freaked me out a little bit. The idea of a gender-confused child growing up to make living women into live marionettes is very creepy. Especially as you see the severed limbs being fixed with the metal joints and the eventual formation of the live puppet. It's frightening - you can't deny that. I thought about it for a while when I went to bed and got a bit worried.

But the film was so predictable. Me and my friend could've written the whole thing as it went along and it actually got to the point where it was quite funny because either she or I would suggest what would happen next and, would you believe it, it did. Apart from once. Well, fancy that.

I wasn't entirely sure why there had to be a romance in there - he didn't really play much of a part and he didn't even turn up in the end to redeem himself - the one bit where our predictions didn't ring true. I got that she had established this life for herself and the horror she was going through, she eventually had to face alone. But I wasn't feeling the romance and then the heartbreak - it wasn't working for me at all.

Word of warning to people of a similar disposition as me ... Maggots aren't my favourite animal in the world, so that was another thing that freaked me out ... but they didn't seem relevant to anything. When the body was found, it wasn't filled with maggots, so why they were everywhere else I'm not entirely sure. I think there are plenty of other ways to present a horrified girl's psychological breakdown. And again, it became predictable - it was obvious she'd drink something and spit it out because there were maggots. She'd open the fridge and they'd be there. She'd fall asleep and she'd dream of them. She'd be sick and guess what she brought up ... yuck.

The acting was a bit bland as well. That was maybe why the relationship didn't work for me and the friendly-good people were all over cheerful and friendly and the creepy guy was a bit TOO creepy.

So initially ... the concept was very good and very chilling. But it lacked something. I think it was just very poorly put together. No, I couldn't do better, but I'm not a professional film-maker.

I give it three stars because as I've said, the concept was good. There were some tense moments and one point when I screamed because something made me jump ... but otherwise it's very lacking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Think Gothika but not quite as good, 7 May 2012
By 
Mr. J. Ryden (In your mind, in the part you've forgotten about.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cassadaga [DVD] (DVD)
I was a little reluctant to give this one a try based on only one other review but thought i'd take a gamble. As it turns out it's a decent film. The synopis itself gives away the plot so I don't think drawing parallels with Gothika will give much more away. In essence, our heroine tries to make contact with her dead sister via a medium but ends up being hooked-up with a vengeful spirit out for revenge; said spirit being the victim of a serial killer in the town of Cassadaga (hence the rather odd title).

So what you have is a blend of whodunnit, serial killer flick and supernatural horror in one; which all works reasonably well. The lead actress does a good job of carrying the picture along with a cameo from Louise Fletcher (my has it been that long since Cuckoo's Nest?).

The intro scene is rather bizarre which makes more sense as we find out what our particular serial killer's pecadillos are. Very gory and disturbing in equal measure; the whole torture porn genre has a lot to answer. Although medically impossible but, hey, I watch horror films to suspend belief.

In short, a decent watchable horror-ish film that does what it says on the tin. Oh, and the rather toothsome female spends most of the film wearing just shorts which is always a winning plot device in my opinion...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth it!, 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cassadaga [DVD] (DVD)
I had been looking for something that I hadn't seen before and that was a little 'fresh'. I was not disappointed by this little gem. A must for horror/supernatural collectors :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great After Dark horror film, 27 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cassadaga [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoy the After Dark horror series of films and I think this was my favourite. Excellent acting and quite frightening and one I would certainly recommend - great viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cassadaga (2011) (Blu-Ray)
Cassadaga (2011) (Blu-Ray) by Anthony DiBlasi (Blu-ray)
Used & New from: £19.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews