Customer Reviews


107 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The good thing is that he can also roll it on ...
This is a high quality piece for the wooden rail trains such as BRIO and IKEA (though the IKEA rails
are of lower quality in terms of connectors).
I bought this for my 4 year old son. He loves it. The good thing is that he can also roll
it on the floor with his hands since the motor is de-clutched with the small yellow button.
He has taken it to the...
Published 7 months ago by costas

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars very bad design
this was a xmas gift for my daughter but to put the batterys in you had to unscrew a screw that was down the funnel of the train you could not see what you were doing plus it was on to tight to get any movement very dissapointed going to send it to Brio head office very bad design!!!!!!
Published 4 months ago by ken stacey


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The good thing is that he can also roll it on ..., 23 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BRIO 33592 Mighty Red Action Locomotive (2013 model) (Toy)
This is a high quality piece for the wooden rail trains such as BRIO and IKEA (though the IKEA rails
are of lower quality in terms of connectors).
I bought this for my 4 year old son. He loves it. The good thing is that he can also roll
it on the floor with his hands since the motor is de-clutched with the small yellow button.
He has taken it to the kindergarden where everybody loves it and it is proven
durable enough.
I absolutely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars most successful present, 3 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BRIO 33592 Mighty Red Action Locomotive (2013 model) (Toy)
For a two year old's birthday. So successful he ignored the other presents and his little friend had to get one too. Added some extra track to supplement the beginner's kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Brio, 4 Dec. 2013
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BRIO 33592 Mighty Red Action Locomotive (2013 model) (Toy)
Love this engine! Only had it a day so can't comment on durability. But first impressions are good. A lot of thought has gone into the design, including rubber rings around its powered wheels to improve traction and a moving joint between the main engine and its rear-most wheels to allow it to go round bends easily. It is relatively quiet, and powerful enough to pull quite a few carriages up a slope. The 2 front lights are not very bright, but adequate without draining the battery. When the engine is in reverse mode, there is a red reverse light that doesn't seem to be mentioned in the description. You can also disengage the wheels with a simple switch on the top of the engine, so that it can be played in free wheel mode. The sounds it makes are not continuous, and play for several seconds when you initially start the engine so it doesn't irritate you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nicest train so far with nice train sounds., 26 Nov. 2013
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BRIO 33592 Mighty Red Action Locomotive (2013 model) (Toy)
I have ordered another brio train in the past with rechargeable batteries and they worked great for the first month. However when the battery starts to get older it can't power the train enough meaning the train can't pull very much. Now it can barely go up the bridge alone.
The Mighty Red Locomotive seems stronger though and is using standard AAA batteries instead of the horrible rechargeable batteries I was writing about earlier.
Our 3 year old and 1,5 year old loves the sounds and we are very pleased with this train (we have only used it for two days so I might edit this review later if it starts slowing down). They do need to be supervised as the train is a bit fragile, but most toys has to be supervised when kids are under 5 anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars brio train, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BRIO 33592 Mighty Red Action Locomotive (2013 model) (Toy)
really sweet little train. I was put off by reading some of the reviews at first about the battery power running out v quickly. well i have not found this at all. My little boy ok isnt like using this for hours each day but so far the batteries are still working for past 5 months. it goes around the track nice and smoothly, has nice little head lights on it, and looks cute too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, quiet but problem with tight turns, 3 July 2013
By 
Mr. T. M. Giles (Staines (the west side) UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BRIO 33592 Mighty Red Action Locomotive (2013 model) (Toy)
My wife and I had bought our 2YO son the smaller, single AAA battery BRIO train last year. Almost instantly we realised that unless you put a lithium AAA in it, it didnt really have the power to pull a reasonable train up the normal BRIO grade of hill. The other issue was noise, it was very loud.

This type of train from BRIO is completely different. With two AAA batteries, you can run rechargable no problem. The noise is extremely muted and it will automatically power off if your little bundle of joy likes to switch it on and leave it running. The only problem we have hit is that this train refuses to go round the tighter bends. The large bend pieces from BRIO and the like are ok, hills: up and down, no problem. However with the tighter bends the train will try and run off the track.

Still, with a mostly large bend track, this train is more fun for our son, much quieter for us all and brilliant fun (just how much will it pull!?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic engine., 27 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BRIO 33592 Mighty Red Action Locomotive (2013 model) (Toy)
My son has had a few Thomas branded engines. They seem to start off well then break shortly afterwards.

This Brio one has more features (ie sound, lights and can go backwards). It is also capable of going up bridges and slopes. I have not managed to get it to go over bridges towing carriages which some of the other reviewers suggest is possible. For the record none of the Thomas branded ones ever made it over a bridge (with or without carriages). It can pull a number of carriages on flat tracks without slowing down.

It does seem rather slowly but this steady pace means it seems to deal better with curves and bends and gaps between rails. It rarely gets stuck or shoots off the track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful train, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BRIO 33592 Mighty Red Action Locomotive (2013 model) (Toy)
I've had this train for 3 months, no problems whatsoever. Battery life could be better, I think it's because of the sound it's a little chew-chew. Gets around the tracks just fine, beautifully made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous train, 25 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BRIO 33592 Mighty Red Action Locomotive (2013 model) (Toy)
This was really popular with my 3 year old nephew, so much so he took it to bed with him almost every night!
Lovely train, very good quality.

Battery life lasts well, which is amazing considering all the other trains it has to pull. We bought a smaller one battery train from Brio and Early Learning but they struggled to cope with the load...this one now is excellent, would really recommend it.

If it hasn't been played with for a while it turns itself off, thereby saving the battery. It even has a little light on the front and makes a whistling sound when you push the button.

Would highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mighty indeed, 5 Jan. 2015
By 
John Kirwan (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BRIO 33592 Mighty Red Action Locomotive (2013 model) (Toy)
Mighty indeed
great features - sounds and lights for forward and back plus the motor disengages when switched off so it can be freely pushed around.
I also like that the batteries go in thru the funnel!
our two boys (4 & 2) love it, it works well with all their different wooden train sets (Melissa & Doug; Big Jig; Ikea etc) and can pull quite a number of carriages
it seems fairly robust and has survived drops and bashes so far
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews