Customer Reviews


220 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (34)
2 star:
 (26)
1 star:
 (87)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't work! - does now!
Original review - written 7th February 2013

This does not work if you do not have a wifi connection where you want to read the paper. In the old kindle keyboard versions it was possible to download the paper and then later turn on the kindle and read the paper. Try that with this version and the first thing it tries to do is connect to a wifi connection, fails...
Published on 7 Feb. 2013 by J. Brand

versus
126 of 135 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not ready, buggy, and poor
Given the updates to the app I am updating this review. The good news is many of the bugs I mentioned in my original review have been fixed. (Notably the endless requests to sign up for the trial subscription). However, and it is a big however this is still a very poor offering and the team behind the app have a lot to do and we the consumer deserve better...
Published on 1 Jan. 2013 by Peter Bell


‹ Previous | 1 2 322 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't work! - does now!, 7 Feb. 2013
By 
J. Brand "jbrand" (Somewhere else) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Times and Sunday Times (Kindle Tablet Edition) (App)
Original review - written 7th February 2013

This does not work if you do not have a wifi connection where you want to read the paper. In the old kindle keyboard versions it was possible to download the paper and then later turn on the kindle and read the paper. Try that with this version and the first thing it tries to do is connect to a wifi connection, fails and then refuses to let you have the paper. So if you had any idea that this might let you download a paper at home and then sit on the train, or anywhere else without wifi, and read the paper then save your time because it does not work. It will charge you the money but it won't let you have the paper.

Update - 15th February 2013

Barely a week after writing that it seems to have been fixed. There was an update this morning and it now seems to be able to read without a wi fi connection. Certainly a full shutdown, bringing the kindle back up again in flight mode and then starting the times app allowed me to read and change editions. There may be other changes which have been introduced and there are still a few niggles but the major problem has been fixed. So that change alone changes this from a one star review to a four star review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Downloading, 14 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Times and Sunday Times (Kindle Tablet Edition) (App)
This has been a complete waste of time. I enjoyed a few days of reading the newspaper on line and it was fine until the first Sunday Times issue was attempted! That finished off my reading of the Times through my Kindle Fire! Nothing downloads now! It is completely blocked. Useless![[ASIN:B000J0ZPGU The Times and Sunday Times)}
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Subscription login?, 9 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Times and Sunday Times (Kindle Tablet Edition) (App)
Absolutely useless to me until I can log in as an existing subscriber (print and tablet editions - works brilliantly on iPad). I certainly refuse to sign up for a free trial and provide payment details with the risk of being charged again for something I am already paying for. Needs sorting quickly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Subscription Problem, 21 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Times and Sunday Times (Kindle Tablet Edition) (App)
If it clearly states that current Times subscribers are able to access the app, then why won't it allow me to log on? It says that my "subscription has run out" every time! Please get this fixed, I look forward to the day I can read The Times on my Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars won't download and have to keep deleting and reinstalling, 18 Mar. 2013
By 
Mr. King Cheung "Cheungster" (Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Times and Sunday Times (Kindle Tablet Edition) (App)
I'm getting a bit tired of waiting for the paper to download - internet working? Check. Other apps working? Check. My Times app downloading? Nope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish app - thankfully the paper is good, 18 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Times and Sunday Times (Kindle Tablet Edition) (App)
It fails to open or crashes; page turns freeze; images don't fully download. Surely News International can do better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can be disappointing, or brilliant, 6 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Times and Sunday Times (Kindle Tablet Edition) (App)
Very often does not update to "today's" edition - However, when loaded the content is brilliantly displayed; graphics and images are difficult to improve on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Times and sunday times, 1 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Times and Sunday Times (Kindle Tablet Edition) (App)
The product failed to download properly and a message saying it was corrupt appeared. Rather annoying as I was thinking of subscribing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love it, just what I've been waiting for., 1 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Times and Sunday Times (Kindle Tablet Edition) (App)
Really love the app, has brought my kindle to life. There are a few glitches (like you can't swipe past the T2 cover for some reason) but i imagine these will be ironed out. Hope other papers follow suit soon, was the one thing i really regretted about getting a kindle fire over a nexus 7. That and the bizarre inability to download video - but that's another story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars trouble abroad, 22 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Times and Sunday Times (Kindle Tablet Edition) (App)
I think reading some of the reviews here, people are expecting too much. are you able to read a paper for less than the print version costs? Will it get better over time?

my only complaint is that I am currently abroad and am unable to download today's paper. no idea why as my old kindle was fine with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 322 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews