Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly maginificent
Watched this round my mate's while we were nursing our relative hangovers. Really didn't expect much but, wow, boy I was wrong.

The opening credits have an explosiveness to rival any Marvel film and just as you're getting ready to get back on your seat, you're thrown in at the deep end of a non-stop blistering-paced football match. Some of the re-enacting of...
Published 10 months ago by Maxiedge

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sadly, not very magnificent at all
The Magnificent Eleven must have been an easy sell. After the runaway success of Trainspotting, anything with writer Irvine Welsh's name on it gets the greenlight. However, this film is nothing like its dark and moody predecessor.

Trainspotting had social commentary and healthy doses of black humour. Here, we have a sort of `London's answer to The Full...
Published 14 months ago by Albatross


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly maginificent, 9 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Magnificent Eleven [DVD] (DVD)
Watched this round my mate's while we were nursing our relative hangovers. Really didn't expect much but, wow, boy I was wrong.

The opening credits have an explosiveness to rival any Marvel film and just as you're getting ready to get back on your seat, you're thrown in at the deep end of a non-stop blistering-paced football match. Some of the re-enacting of the sport was so spot on that I felt I was watching the Champions League final. In one scene, a player throws himself to the ground after he's been recklessly challenged. From the passion and sheer determination on his part to make sure the scene stays true to the game, he takes an almighty jump and lands on his head. I think he broke his neck. He's not in the rest of the film. That's dedication.

So what about the storyline itself?? You know, they say some of the best ideas come from closing time down the pub, and this movie totally justifies that saying. So we have the football team in the middle, with an almighty tug-of-war on both sides as to who will be their sponsor. I know what you're thinking, isn't this a re-make of the Magnificent Seven? Well no, it' isn't. Luckily, the producer's had the foresight to steer well away from any pending lawsuits by making a film at the other end of the spectrum and completely independent in it's originality.

In a real masterstroke by the movies' producers, the audience remains completely emotionally detached from any character for the entire length of the film, thus leaving creative license for any scenario. For example, the entire cast could have simultaneously combusted at any moment and I couldn't have cared less. It wouldn't bother me. Genius.

Just a special mention to Keith Allen's character who oozes charisma and charm, a real throwback to the days Humphrey Bogart and James Stewart, delivering his lines impeccably (even though his character is clearly autistic).

Bravo everyone involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sadly, not very magnificent at all, 15 May 2013
This review is from: The Magnificent Eleven [DVD] (DVD)
The Magnificent Eleven must have been an easy sell. After the runaway success of Trainspotting, anything with writer Irvine Welsh's name on it gets the greenlight. However, this film is nothing like its dark and moody predecessor.

Trainspotting had social commentary and healthy doses of black humour. Here, we have a sort of `London's answer to The Full Monty,' only with humour that just doesn't work.

It's about a pub football team who blag their way into getting a local Indian Restaurant to sponsor them, only to find later that the restaurant is in debt to `the mob,' therefore they have to help them out and defend the naan bread and tikkas-to-go. Yes, as its name suggests, it's a homage to The Magnificent Seven. Whereas the cowboy film had action as its main selling point, this one has - er - not much. The humour is really weak, most of the characters are stereotypes and, although it's easy to sympathise with some of the characters who are finding it hard to find work in these times of austerity, they're just not interesting or funny enough to truly get behind.

About the only point is a spirited performance by Jenna Harrison, who comes across as suitably lovely. The rest if the cast,
despite boasting some impressive British acting talent, come across as pretty bland.

However, the bottom line is, if you want some British comedy, stick to the Full Monty. If you want a cowboy film, stay with the Magnificent Seven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars British Humour Meets The Wild West, 16 May 2013
This review is from: The Magnificent Eleven [DVD] (DVD)
Is this the new Full Monty? No...it doesn't hit that level and has a much more old fashioned Carry On feel about some of the humour. But Full Monty was 15 years ago and this is one of the better attempts to capture that British underdog spirit since Bend It Like Beckham. It doesn't feel very Irvine Welsh except perhaps one or two glimpses of his darker tone; and the appearance of Robert Vaughn in quite a major role is a great nod to the original western but the similarities mostly end there except the occasional reference and the music (which is great!)... Overall this film is a good concept, reasonably well executed to deliver a feel good British comedy which is a welcome break from the negativity of gangs and violence churned out by British cinema in recent years. Sad that it will inevitably be negatively compared to other films rather than judged on it's own merits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Widescreen urban western with laughs, 25 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magnificent Eleven [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed the playful elements of western meets gangsters. Well-made and with good performances. Fun and funny.
Look out for Irvine Welsh as a curry house customer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hardly magnificent., 12 Sep 2013
By 
D. A. Besser - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Magnificent Eleven [DVD] (DVD)
Arguably the worst film I have ever seen.Incomprehensible plot, appalling dialogue, terrible acting.Just unbelievably bad.Robert Vaughan et al would obviously do anything for money.I would give zero stars, but Amazon wouldn't allow it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars funnier than you might think, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magnificent Eleven [DVD] (DVD)
An under-the-radar Britcom with a decent cast that is well worth a watch. Grab a few beers, settle and have a giggle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent Fun, 13 Jun 2013
By 
J. Dawe - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magnificent Eleven [DVD] (DVD)
If you want an easy, fun film.. then 'Magnificent Eleven' is the one. It's a good fun British film with humour that you can just sit back and enjoy...Give it a go..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cowboys and indians, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magnificent Eleven [DVD] (DVD)
Good entertainment, I liked this film a lot, some parts a bit slow, but on the whole a pretty good watch. The thing that let it down was the writing, but good direction and music. Cowboys and Indians and the cavalry in the form of the police at the end! Good fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Magnificent Eleven [DVD]
The Magnificent Eleven [DVD] by Jeremy WOODING (DVD - 2013)
6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews