Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer Excellence
I have just finished watching this DVD for the first time and experienced 93 minutes of continuous goosebumps. The sheer excellence of this concert... words fail to adequately describe the quality of this performance and the beauty of these songs. Yes, I know it sounds as if I'm getting a bit carried away but rarely have I seen a concert DVD as overwhelmingly good as...
Published 11 months ago by Ron Unna

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor Recording...
Nice to have a Visual recording of Clannad but I have to say that the picture and sound quality was not too good.
Published 10 months ago by andyg


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer Excellence, 10 Dec 2013
By 
Ron Unna "unna@ein-carmel.org.il" (Ein Carmel) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clannad Live: Christ Church Cathedral [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I have just finished watching this DVD for the first time and experienced 93 minutes of continuous goosebumps. The sheer excellence of this concert... words fail to adequately describe the quality of this performance and the beauty of these songs. Yes, I know it sounds as if I'm getting a bit carried away but rarely have I seen a concert DVD as overwhelmingly good as this. I recommend... Highly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed this, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clannad Live: Christ Church Cathedral [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Really enjoyed this thank you, You might have been around a while but you still sound great and as true musicians you sound fantastic live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great comeback, 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clannad Live: Christ Church Cathedral [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
As a long time fan of Clannad, I was waiting for this DVD (and companion CD) to be released and I pre-ordered both of them. Both the album and the DVD are very good and the group is on top form. Máire (Moya) Brennan's voice is still wonderful and they picked up a sort of "best of" repertoire that could not fail. The setting in Christ Church Cathedral in Dublin is fantastic and the quality of the audio is very good. Any Clannad fan will be delighted to be able to listen once again to all these wonderful songs, many of which are in Gaelic. Recorded on January 29th, 2011 -- over two years ago! -- this set sees the band five member accompained by some guest musicians: Máire Breathnach on violin and viola, Sinead Madden on violin, Jane Hughes on cello, Eamonn DeBarra on keyboards, Robbie Harris on percussions and of course Brian Kennedy for the vocal duet in "In a Lifetime". Plus we have the vocal group Anuna in five songs. The DVD is good, too, and it has two more songs than the CD list, one of which is one of my favourite songs of Clannad, taken from their second LP Clannad 2, "Coinleach Glas An Fhómhair". I strongly recommend this set to all Clannad fans and to everyone not familiar with the group and who want to have a proper introduction to the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gift, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clannad Live: Christ Church Cathedral [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I do like the band and have done for a while but this is a gift and just hope my friend likes it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for Clannad fans, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clannad Live: Christ Church Cathedral [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
The set chosen by Clannad includes all their classics from their early days to recent work (but pre their latest album, Vellum). The atmospheric setting of Christ Church Cathedral adds to the specialness. I keep playing this and it still hasn't lost any of its charm. Musical excellence from the band, and lead singer Moya is on superb form. Well worth the purchase price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clannad simply better than ever, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clannad Live: Christ Church Cathedral [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This DVD is a must for all Clannad fans.The accoustics in such a building added to the haunting harmony that you always get from Clannad, All their hits are covered plus the bonus of Brian Kennedy doing a "Bono" on " In a lifetime" Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed this album very much, 25 April 2014
By 
Peter Rendell (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clannad Live: Christ Church Cathedral [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I was a Clanad fan from their first release. I stopped following them when Enya left the group. This is the first time I have seen the new group and they are excellent. All the traditional tracks are performed in an excellent acoustic arena.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clannad, 16 April 2014
By 
MF Dutson "MFD" (Northumberland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clannad Live: Christ Church Cathedral [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
We went to see Clannad at the Sage Gateshead and it was a wonderful show, so we bought the DVD, a really superb concert and setting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Poor Recording..., 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clannad Live: Christ Church Cathedral [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Nice to have a Visual recording of Clannad but I have to say that the picture and sound quality was not too good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent concert, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clannad Live: Christ Church Cathedral [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Exciting concert. Fail words to describe . Excelent realization And sound recording. Thanks Clannad for your music during fourty years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Clannad Live: Christ Church Cathedral [DVD] [2013]
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews