Customer Reviews


164 Reviews
5 star:
 (111)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard Rocking and 'Proggy'
I am by no means a Deep Purple fan, just an occasional listener, but I have to admit I found this album fantastic. The album starts off with a slow ballad, that quickly turns into a classic sounded Purple rocker, with rousing keyboards, riffing, and a fantastic rythmn section - and powerful vocals from Ian Gillan. There are plenty of 'symphonic' moments as well, which is...
Published 24 months ago by The Soft Machine Operator

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Now what
The seller was great. The product was clean. The music is just not there. I have every album the band has ever made. This the very first time to give a DEEP PURPLE legendary band that poor rate. It is just not there. I found the vocals to be too much. Ian Gillan still has it but not here. I think that this is the album that could stay out of the game. I believe that for...
Published 13 months ago by Athanasios Simotas


‹ Previous | 115 16 17 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now What ?! (Audio CD)
its a change but when you digest it, its very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now What ?! (Audio CD)
ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Time for a major re-evaluation, 8 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now What ?! (Audio CD)
To say disappointed would be an understatement. From the hype I was expecting a return to form, from what should be the classic rock band to end all. To put it simply classic hard rock is not policital or meant to have deep messages, but it should have killer riffs, innovative guitar solos and backing tracks to keep you interested after two repeat plays. This album has none of these!!. It most certainly is not an album of the class of Made In Japan or Perfect Strangers as per the sticker found on the front cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacklustre, 29 April 2013
By 
Mr. K. de Jong (Belfast, Antrim United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Now What ?! (Audio CD)
Despite having a great producer and talented songwriters on board, Gillan & Co. produce a distinctly average album after seven years. Steve Morse, a man of great ability, struggles to put his stamp on the proceedings. The obligatory organ-solo on 'Hell To Pay' is rather decorative, and a throwback to the worse of 1970s sympho-rock excess. Gillan rarely pushes his voice to his full range, unless it is highly stylised like on 'Above and Beyond'. That said 'Body Line' is a nice blues-rocker where Morse finally lets lose and the opener 'A Simple Song' has an excellent intro as does 'Uncommon Man'. Highlight is 'Blood from a Stone' which has a nice groove and Gillan digs deeper then before with Airy's organ playing a more integral part to the song. A tentative glimpse of Gillan's higher range is given on 'Aprez Vous' (sic) but the use of vocal effects is disconcerting. The hard-rock of 'Vincent Price' about the American horror actor is one of the album's redeeming factors, and almost sounds like a Black Sabbath song. Lyrically, the album disappoints and fails to bring a consistent theme. Overall, the album never really surpasses expectation and the title really says it all, indifference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overall good, 31 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now What ?! (Audio CD)
I didn't give it 5 stars because it didn't come in a hard back case
My dad has all there albums so this one was just to complete his collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Touch of Grey but not the Force of Old!!!!!, 29 April 2013
By 
This review is from: Now What ?! (Audio CD)
Deep Purple are Legends of Heavy Rock and let's not forget that.
The sheer musicianship and grandiose skill of Messiah's Blackmore,Lord,Paice,Glover and Gillan in the MKII line up and the classic albums such as In Rock,Fireball,Machine Head and Made in Japan etc will be forever etched into everyone's Hard Rock memory.
Deep Purple although still going strong are not getting any younger but the full force of there Live Shows and Aggresive in your Face style Hard Rock of the 70's has long passed and now the Band has become a Touch of Grey and are now more of a mellowed out Band.
NOW WHAT!! is a very good album and is a lot better and Ian Gillan seems to have reached his more mellowed vocal range and is not the screamer of old which is understandable.
Ian Paice still has the skill and so does Don Airey for the Solo's on the Album.
Hell to Pay is a good track sounds like the Deep Purple of old and Don Airey is definitely a brilliant keyboardist and who was always going to be the perfect replacement for Jon Lord (RIP).
Although a very good album, i think judging by there past catalogue this album will become like all the other albums with Steve Morse and forgotten very quickly unlike the MKII and MKIII line ups which are the albums that define Deep Purple and are forever etched into your Heavy Rock Memory.
Jon Lord can be replaced but Ritchie Blackmore NEVER!!!!!!
Although a very good album Deep Purple are not the force of old but i would still pay to go and see them live for Nostalgia's sake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly decent, but, not good, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now What ?! (Audio CD)
I have listened to the new album 3 or 4 times and you have a thoroughly decent album but it is not a good album.

As with previous recent Deep Purple releases Ian Paice is on normal good form as are Roger Glover, Steve Morse and Don Airey.

The same problem still exists Ian Gillan's voice has gone and no amount of terrible layering, keyboards and guitars doing some of the work or vocal effects or even backing singers can cover this up. As long as Ian Gillan does not try his voice sounds alright and that is the problem with the vocals on this album Ian Gillan very rarely puts much effort in he is only going through the motions.

Bob Ezrin did his best to produce a good album and apart from the vocals he has done a pretty good job and there is nothing he can do about those.

Compared to Rapture of the Deep or Live at Montreux 2011 it is good
Compare it to Perfect Strangers or House of Blue Light it is not bad but it also is not a good album.
Compare it to Machine Head or In Rock and you hear how very far they have slipped from their peek
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just had to buy it!, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now What ?! (Audio CD)
Impressed with speed of service as usual. Can't really say what I think of the CD, as it will be a Father's Day present in June, but I know my hubby will love it, as he does all things Deep Purple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's OK........., 2 May 2013
By 
Mr. T. Kovacs "Machine Head" (Wakefield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Now What ?! (Audio CD)
.....But after 8 years is ok good enough? I really want to like this offering, but something is missing. I think we know. 'Hell to pay' just about makes the grade but that's it. Airey & Morse seem to be playing Purple by numbers. Especially Airey. You can just about see him thinking 'Is this how Jon would do it'? Some of the stuff he plays sounds like it was chucked by Keith Emerson. Morse tries to sound like Blackmore but falls back into his 'twiddley widdley' ways. Oh, if only Satriani had taken the gig. Anyway, at this rate, Gillan will be 76 by the time of the next release!! I much prefer 'Wake the Sleeper' by Uriah Heep from a few years ago. Or even 'The Stranger Within' by that German Purple tribute band Demon's Eye with Doogie White. Whatever. At least it's better than the latest from Bon Jovi but that's not hard. Then again, with some of the s***e around these days purporting to be 'Rock', this will probably be looked back on as a classic in years to comes and not another bunch of bananas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Vincent heralded something different., 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now What ?! (Audio CD)
Good Purple rock, but too monotonous, too predictable apart from Vincent and It'll be me good only for preschool party
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 115 16 17 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Now What ?!
Now What ?! by Deep Purple (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews