Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Than Double the Usual Spenser Fun!
Robert Parker has introduced a new element in this fine novel. He has Spenser carrying on two investigations at the same time. One is for a friend of Susan's, the other for a friend of Hawk's. Both are nonpaying jobs, and both are demanding. So you get the equivalent of two novels in one.
Better than that, the two story lines involve different ends of the Spenser...
Published on 26 May 2004 by Donald Mitchell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Below Parker's usual high standard
Hush Money sees the return of Spenser and Hawk to the mean streets of Boston, but in this novel, something seems to be lacking.
Spenser searches for the reason why a Proffessor was denied tenure at a University and uncovers a heap of deceit and blackmail and in the meantime gets himself a stalker.
The problem with the novel is that the plot seems to drag at...
Published on 6 July 2000 by themarquisdecarabas


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hush Your Mouth, 24 Mar 2009
By 
The Private Eye genre is perhaps one of the most oversubscribed around and Robert B Parker one of its most prolific authors. With countless novels to his name it's amazing to see that the quality is usually of a decent standard and in some cases great. `Hush Money' is another in the Spenser series and follows battered PI Spenser around as he investigates a stalking case and a University Professor not getting tenure. Neither concept should be overly interesting, but Parker makes them exciting and funny cases.

It's the humour in `Hush Money' that makes it a joy to read. Spenser and his friend Hawk in particular have a cynical and amusing look out on life and this comes across on the page. The story itself is also good with a decent pace and interesting conclusion. The only real misgiving I have with this book is the slightly chauvinistic feel that it has. This is all done in a tongue and cheek manner, but with storylines surrounding sexuality and race it skates a slightly uncomfortable line. Overall, I really enjoyed this light and breezy book as it was a genuinely amusing crime fiction novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Than Double the Usual Spenser Fun!, 26 May 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 122,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Robert Parker has introduced a new element in this fine novel. He has Spenser carrying on two investigations at the same time. One is for a friend of Susan's, the other for a friend of Hawk's. Both are nonpaying jobs, and both are demanding. So you get the equivalent of two novels in one.
Better than that, the two story lines involve different ends of the Spenser spectrum. We get lots of female, sexual and romantic issues in the case involving Susan's friend, and lots of political, sexual and racial issues in the other case. Seeing them all together provides a fuller picture of Spenser's personal ethic, Robert Parker's favorite theme. Parker does a good job of designing the challenges to Spenser a way that he comes up against his moral limits quite often, which helps to flesh out his character is a very satisfying way.
Beyond that benefit, the book is also improved by providing new insights into Susan and Hawk that have not been revealed before.
As a result, the story line keeps moving much better than in most Spenser novels. That asset is further improved by a plot that has more reversals in it than in any other Spenser novel I can remember. The irony is chin deep before long.
The only thing I didn't like about the book was Parker's insistence on having Susan and Spenser feed Pearl, the wonder dog, all kinds of unhealthy food like doughnuts at every possible occasion in the story. What's the point?
If you have ever enjoyed another Spenser novel, read this book immediately! It will probably turn out to be one of your favorites among the books in the series. Have a great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and snappy, 30 July 2006
By 
lmhh (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is the first Spenser novel I have read, and it is entirely carried by the wise cracking dialogue, and the interesting relationships between Spenser (the detective), Susan (his girlfriend) and Hawk (Spenser's friend) as the key characters. Assuming these themes recur in the other Spenser novels, I will certainly give more Robert B Parker creations a read. The spare style is reminiscent of the best 40s detective novels. And it would be nice to think that you could behave in the way Spenser and Hawk do, with complete disregard for the "normal" rules of conduct, and still put the bad guys away and ride off into the sunset!

Not a book that will change your life, but one that will provide several hours of enjoyment and entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spenser is fun as always, but how does he pay his bills?, 9 April 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Hush Money (Hardcover)
This time Spenser takes on two cases for the price of one, which is zero. He even mentions in passing another case he had that he didn't get paid for. When was the last time he made any money? I don't think he is independently wealthy, so I guess he just makes money off the boring cases that we don't read about. Or maybe Susan is supporting him? That aside, this was a good story with lots of twists and surprises. I would like to have seen a bit more of a confrontation with the guys who threaten to kill Spenser and Hawk. They do get theirs in the end, but that is largely offstage. The strength of this book, as always, is the interplay among the characters. The resolution of the stalking subplot was really good, we get to see an unexpected side of Susan. I enjoyed this book, but I still wonder if Parker would keep writing them if his financial arrangements were the same as Spenser's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER SUBLIME MYSTERY SOLVED...., 21 April 2014
By 
Greggorio! (Amazing Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hush Money (The Spenser Series) (Kindle Edition)
When a college professor walks into Spenser's office (via encouragement from Hawk) seeking assistance into his tenureship application, things are looking pretty low key. Life begins to look up (for us readers) however when the lovely Susan asks our man "Spenser" to help a friend who believes she is being stalked by an "ex" of one kind or another. Your interest as a reader of this fine novel will rise even further when a suicide investigation (by Spenser) at the same college turns into an unofficial suspected homicide.

The two apparently completely independent cases soon become intertwined and the first example in the book of Mr Parker's unequivocal brilliance shines like a beacon on full beam at the end of chapter nineteen when Hawk takes a moment to explain some rather rash behaviour earlier on. A warning of the significance of the moment came just paragraphs prior and when by chapter's end Hawk had made his point to his lifelong friend I had goosebumps on my goosebumps.

The rest of the story is smooth, entertaining and satisfying to read. Once again the reader is kept enthralled by the ever-increasing complexity of the plot, as well as completely satisfied by the character interaction between Susan and Spenser as well as Spenser and Hawk. Characters that start out as innocent victims are shown to be somewhat duplicitous by book's end and this is another example of Mr Parker's talents and abilities. Long time fans of the Spenser series have grown accustomed to the togetherness of Spenser and Susan and it has to be said that Parker had become a master at teasing the emotions of his fans with moments of anxiety for the potential disaster to occur between the two. Thankfully the dreaded event fails to materialise in HUSH MONEY and once more the two God blessed lovers live on in perfect harmony for another day. Another sublime mystery solved.

BFN Greggorio
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hush Money, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hush Money (The Spenser Series) (Kindle Edition)
Flowed along nicely with various deviations.
Liked the banter between Spencer and girlfriend, also his friend Hawk. Some of the description was more than needed.
Recommended for people who like a light easy crime read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hush Money (The Spenser Series) (Kindle Edition)
a very american novel , a good dectective story and intrigue , very different to UK situations and a good escape !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and entertaining, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hush Money (The Spenser Series) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this novel and will definitely read more. As an avid reader of this genre I was surprised at how fresh it felt and I loved the gritty realism. Great characters and both developed well as the story progressed and it was not an obvious finale. Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I always enjoy the Spenser books., 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hush Money (The Spenser Series) (Kindle Edition)
The characters are so well written and I find the conversations between Spenser, Hawk and Susan very entertaining. The plot in this book was complicated but intriguing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a good book, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hush Money (The Spenser Series) (Kindle Edition)
this was a great read to have on a long warm night and read in bed with a hot drink
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xadd1d8e8)

This product

Hush Money (The Spenser Series)
1.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews