Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pink continues to pitch and deliver
Daniel H Pink's To Sell is Human traces how the world of marketing has changed with a consequence that the stereotypical image of a secondhand car salesman is a long way from best practice today. There has been a fundamental shift in power: in the past Salesman had knowledge of the product and of pricing creating a power imbalance between salesman and customer (hence...
Published on 13 May 2013 by IndependentHead

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars meh, it's ok, not sure I see the point and I'm in sales
It's ok. Filled with a load of examples. Initial thoughts on the book: meh. Read something else. There is loads out there. :) his book Drive is better.
Published 21 months ago by Anandha


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Soft Seller, 16 May 2014
Pink is great writer, and is extremely convincing, which is not that surprising, really, considering the subject matter. This was an impulse buy, but I was charmed by his writing and convinced by the central argument - that we are all in the business of selling. There are plenty of practical tips on how to get people around to your way of thinking, but it is gentle persuasion rather than a hard sell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really great insight to modern selling, 4 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Sell is Human: The Surprising Truth About Persuading, Convincing, and Influencing Others (Kindle Edition)
This book was laid out in a really great format that lead you from how selling used to be, to how we should do it in the 21st century. I put the book down when he was describing the work of an old door to door salesman, but I'm so glad I picked it back up and I shall be using a number of his suggestions in my work as a shop manager. Thank you Dan for updating us on sales techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 1 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Probably the best book on the art of selling that I have ever read; so much so, I bought copies for our sales team.

Easy to read, the book contains straightforward advice and amazing insights into the task that everyone of us engages in, whether we are selling ourselves or a product.

Critically, the book reflects the paradigm shift around the informed consumer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To Persuade, Divine, 23 Feb. 2013
By 
Mark "Speaker, Trainer, Facilitator, Coach" (Neath, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Sell is Human: The Surprising Truth About Persuading, Convincing, and Influencing Others (Kindle Edition)
It may only be February but this is probably the best business book of 2013. If your work involves selling ideas to or moving others, and as explained here most job now do, this books offers ways to get much better at persuasion.

If you liked Drive or A Whole New Mind you will enjoy this audiobook too. It's better as an audiobook because it's read by Daniel Pink himself, an engaging an entertaining speaker, and you get all the added emphasis and meaning he intended. The Fuller Brush mans interaction with Beth is an amusing interlude really brought to life in the audiobook. Daniel Pink puts forward the new ABC of selling everything from product to ideas to motivation. The ideas of Attunement, Buoyancy and Clarity are then explained with a sound evidence base and links to the latest research for each. The research is brought to life with practical examples in the real world away from the lab.

For me the most useful part of this book is the 'Sample Case' or activities given to practice and increase effectiveness in each of the 3 key behaviours. Which is where I will end my review because I'm off to sharpen my improvisation skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Read, 3 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Sell is Human: The Surprising Truth About Persuading, Convincing, and Influencing Others (Kindle Edition)
This is an excellent book. It is written clearly and simply with none of the "mumbo jumbo" that you sometimes get with this type of book. If, like me, you aren't comfortable with the traditional concept of sales this book is reassuring as its message is that there is a different more subtle way. It is fascinating. I definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Daniel Pink rules, 6 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having written other work from author and speaker Daniel Pink I stay surprised by his view on things.
This book give you an insight in the new behavior and thinking of sales.
A must read for everyone that has anything to do with sales. According to Daniel Pink himself that means EVERYONE ! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Buy it right now!, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Sell is Human: The Surprising Truth About Persuading, Convincing, and Influencing Others (Kindle Edition)
Interesting study in how and why to sell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting read, 27 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Sell is Human: The Surprising Truth About Persuading, Convincing, and Influencing Others (Kindle Edition)
I listened to this a few times in my car and found that it was very informative, well researched, written and with lots of suggested other reading material and websites recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and Informative, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Sell is Human: The Surprising Truth About Persuading, Convincing, and Influencing Others (Kindle Edition)
Daniel does a great job of positioning the whole sales motion in a positive, exciting and at times amusing way. It makes for a fun read that can easily be translated into useful activity at the front line of the sales effort. I thoroughly recommend it to all sales people - and according to Daniel, that's all of us!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars nothing new, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Sell is Human: The Surprising Truth About Persuading, Convincing, and Influencing Others (Kindle Edition)
A short and slightly over hyped book which offers nothing new if you have been in sales a while or of your have any interest in behavioural economics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews