Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to form and a fantastic album
Back to form and a fantastic album. 7 Sinners was okay, but did not really sound like Helloween to me. This is Helloween back on their best form and an album that you will just want to play and play again.

A bit difficult to describe, but somewhere between the pop/metal of Master Of The Rings and the first two Keepers albums. Nice music that even non-metal...
Published 18 months ago by ColinD

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I like Helloween but this is a very disappointing offering
I like Helloween but this is a very disappointing offering. There are some decent tracks and good moments but there is little really new or of great interest and the sound quality seems rather poor. Take the worst tracks off the last few albums and a few of the ok songs and you get this one. As for track 10 - Helloween are not angry immature teens anymore (if they ever...
Published 1 month ago by D. J. Favager


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to form and a fantastic album, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Straight Out Of Hell (Audio CD)
Back to form and a fantastic album. 7 Sinners was okay, but did not really sound like Helloween to me. This is Helloween back on their best form and an album that you will just want to play and play again.

A bit difficult to describe, but somewhere between the pop/metal of Master Of The Rings and the first two Keepers albums. Nice music that even non-metal fans may like, but still interesting with variety.

Here is a tip though a couple of the intros are a bit disappointing, but just give them 30 seconds until the songs kick in.

If you like Helloween, Gamma Ray or similar I suspect that you will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Champion album!, 19 Feb 2013
By 
Yep! They've done it again with their class. However, I'll try to not compare it to their previous material.

To my ears, this album is a perfect example of utilizing every instrument without sounding tiresome, complacent, or self-indulgent. Just exactly perfect.

Those riffs and powerful rhythms.....The drums - man, Dani Loeble is one hell of a machine! Andi Deris has the right combination of power, menace, and emotion that makes each track all the more convincing. The genius of Michael Weikath's song-structuring skills is outstanding. Sascha Gertsner & Marcus Grosskopf round out what is an awesome band.

Whoever was in charge of selecting the track order has got it right with the flow of the album. Starting the album with Nabataea is a stroke of genius as it contains Deris at his best delivering a very memorable chorus to set off an album you could say is a `chorus-fest' which never gets boring. I too have also taken advantage of downloading the Japanese-only bonus track `No Eternity' - a worthy addition that should have been on the album anyway.

I find it too hard to pick highlights from a consistently strong collection. It's one of those special albums that are excellent to sing along with whilst driving. My car audio system is going to take a pounding in the years to come.

I luv it! Give it an open-minded go and make up your own mind.

Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helloween - Straight Out Of Hell, 17 Jun 2014
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Straight Out of Hell (Audio CD)
Helloween’s fourteenth full-length studio album, Straight Out Of Hell, is a damn strong release that sees the legendary German Power Metal band at the top of their game, doing what they do best and doing it well. For me, this would definitely rate as being in the top half of their discography and something that all but the most casual Helloween fans should definitely pick up and give some serious attention to.

Maybe it was the line-up stability (fourth album in a row with the same line-up!), maybe it was the fact that the band were nearing their thirtieth anniversary or maybe it was simply serendipity, but this album really nails what this band are all about and what they should be doing at this stage in time. The 2013 album does a remarkable job of balancing “dishing out more of the core Helloween sound,” with playing in different moods and mixing things up just a little. You can hear brief touches of the sounds from every Helloween album since Deris joined the band. The fast, the slow, the conservative, the experimental, the happy, the serious, the heavy, the mellow… its all in here; in a tasteful and well-balanced, cohesive whole.

‘Straight Out Of Hell,’ ‘Far From The Stars,’ ‘Burning Sun,’ ‘Years,’ and ‘Make Fire Catch The Fly’ are all exactly what you would want or expect from Helloween. That sort of happy sounding, melodic Power Metal with catchy sing-along choruses, thundering double kicks, lots of gorgeous dual-guitar harmonies and virtuosic lead guitar playing. (‘World At War,’ is that sort of style as well, only with extra heavy verses reminiscent of Helloween’s earlier The Dark Ride album added in there too for good measure). So if you want traditional Helloween, you’ve got it, in spades.

There’s also a fair amount of variety on offer here too. Opener ‘Nabatea’ – a history lesson about an ancient race of people called the Nabateans; is a brilliant, energetic, slightly progressive tune that goes through a lot of different moods and flavours. It might take a few active-listens to get the full effect, but there are some seriously excellent parts on this track. The bit behind the lyric ‘though they had no slaves, believe it or not!’ is absolutely joyous. I remember hearing the chorus to this around the time of the record’s release and not liking it, and so delaying purchasing this album by a few months – big mistake! This is a very good song indeed and really impresses upon closer inspection.

Closer ‘Church Breaks Down’ is also a multi-faceted, semi-progressive number, which feels like it would fit well on their classic Time Of The Oath album. There are hints of piano, and slower parts layered in amongst the happy-sounding speed metal influenced sections.

Then bringing the speed down further, there’s the track ‘Live Now!’ which is very much the traditional Helloween single, (like previous singles ‘Mr. Torture,’ ‘Mrs. God,’ or ‘Perfect Gentleman’). You know the kind… It’s not very representative of the album’s direction overall, as it’s the only song that sounds this way.

‘Waiting For The Thunder’ is another mid-tempo, keyboard-tinged melodic number that initially seems like its going to be a soppy ballad, but is actually a pretty driving track once it gets going. Then of course comes the actual ballad ‘Hold Me In Your Arms;’ there’s always at least one per album, and here its quite a tasteful one – if you liked ‘If I Could Fly’ then you’ll probably get along with this just fine. Finally in the variety stakes, there’s the brief experimental track ‘Wanna Be God,’ which is a rhythmic, tribal call to arms that sounds like the score from the scene in a movie where the barbarian army are flexing and showing off before the actual fight.

The large mix of styles found on the record is offset well by the continuous reintroduction of up-tempo, gloriously happy sounding speed metal sections. This cements a feeling of consistency. When combined with the quality of the musicianship and the well-structured songs it all really adds up to something even better than the sum of its parts.

On top of that, the whole record is just an absolute guitarist’s dream. The leads and solos are absolutely wonderful; at times fun, at times impressive, at times evocative and interesting. Backed up by up by Löble’s weighty drumming and a clear production job, these songs really “pop.” There’ll always be that extra something in there that will allow a song to stand out, but everything will always feel like it belongs.

All in all, this is an excellent release. Lapsed fans should consider picking up a copy to see what the band are up to nowadays, casual fans should consider picking up a copy to find out why they should become more than casual fans, and active fans simply should not be without this strong and succinct distillation of everything that’s great about modern Helloween.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Straight Out Of Nowhere...!, 21 Mar 2013
By 
Allan Y. Carey (Sunny Saltcoats, Ayrshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Straight Out Of Hell (Audio CD)
I don't know where to begin, this is the Helloween album we have all been waiting for!!! Each track has it's own individual sound but makes up one great album. My highlights are Straight Out Of Hell itself is just excellent, fast, noisy and power metal through and through. Burning Sun is another great track and as we have heard it way back in 2012 it fits in this album brilliantly. Wanna Be God is just heavy percussion with some guitars near the end and wow what a track it makes. Waiting for the Thunder is in a similar vein as it is noisy and full of attitude. Then comes A**hole which was written by Gerstner and all I can say is someone made him very angry and I'm happy it wasn't me if this track is anything to go by. Another favourite of mine is Church Breaks Down, the vocals on this are amazing (just listen to the lines "Oh lord is there anyone who knows the truth" and you will see what I mean). Then comes the ballad Hold Me In Your Arms which is just heart-wrench-ing-ly great and gives me goose-bumps every listen! So don't take my word for it, go buy one of the best if not thee best metal release of the year!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I like Helloween but this is a very disappointing offering, 17 July 2014
By 
D. J. Favager (Wirral) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like Helloween but this is a very disappointing offering. There are some decent tracks and good moments but there is little really new or of great interest and the sound quality seems rather poor. Take the worst tracks off the last few albums and a few of the ok songs and you get this one. As for track 10 - Helloween are not angry immature teens anymore (if they ever were) and we can do without this sort of puerile nonsense. Looking back to the quality of song writing and guitar solos on earlier albums there is meagre fare on this and the anthemic catchiness is in short measure too. If you are new to Helloween don't start here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cd, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Straight Out Of Hell (Audio CD)
great cd and typical hellowen cd great riffs and fast powerful music from this great band on time and packed well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars To hell and back, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Straight Out Of Hell (Audio CD)
An album cover depicting a war-torn battlefield. Pumpkin soldiers engulfed in flames and surrounded by flying bullets. With song titles like "World Of War", there seems to be a strong conflict-influenced theme involved here, something that these Germans aren't exactly famous for. But worry not, Helloween haven't gone all political: the hilarious gas-masked pumpkin in the band logo is evidence in itself that despite the odd statement here and there, the power metal veterans' tongue is still very much in cheek.

While Helloween are known for having had rather great difficulties in maintaining the same line-up for very long, "Straight Out Of Hell" is no less than their fourth studio release with the same personnel. Interestingly, a large portion of the songs on the album have been penned by bassist Markus Grosskopf and "new" guy Sascha Gerstner, breaking the pattern of latter-day Helloween albums having usually been mostly written by vocalist Andi Deris.

While these ears didn't exactly regard the band's previous offering, 2010's dark and heavily down-tuned "7 Sinners" as a bona fide classic, "Straight Out Of Hell" sees the band once again harking back to more melodic ground. Album opener, the 7-minute "Nabataea" kicks things off promisingly with its flying melodies and up-tempo feel. "World Of War" and "Far From The Stars" are rather standard power metal, while the mid-tempo "Waiting For The Thunder" is surprisingly catchy, not unlike "A Handful Of Pain" from "Better Than Raw". "Hold Me In Your Arms" could best be described as a power ballad, although less sappy than, say, "Forever And One (Neverland)". The title track ranks amongst the finest numbers on this platter, along with "Nabataea".

Of course, a Helloween album wouldn't be complete without an awkward moment or two: the down-tuned "A**hole" is rather puzzling with its swearword-littered lyrics, as is the 2-minute interlude number "Wanna Be God". Still, the majority of the material on offer wouldn't have sounded out of place on "The Time Of The Oath" (1996).

Unsurprisingly, the glory days of "Walls Of Jericho" and the first two "Keeper Of The Seven Keys" albums, or even the highlights of the band's 1990's output are once again left unmatched. However, with a surprising six new songs in their live set (as witnessed on a recent gig), Helloween seem to show a rather unexpected confidence in their new material, more so than they have in ages. If you prefer "Rabbit Don't Come Easy" to "The Dark Ride" or "7 Sinners", then this one is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!!, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Straight Out Of Hell (Audio CD)
This album is wonderfully complete; it covers so many different aspects of musical emotions and colours and I strongly recommend it.
I have followed Helloween since the first Keeper album in 1987. At that time, Helloween made some really strong albums, including Keeper II. Where Helloween in the years after Hansen's departure in 1989 spent some years finding a new platform with some experimental - and in my view not so successful - albums, like Pink Bubbles go Ape and Chameleon, Helloween eventually found a solid musical basis. I have in particular enjoyed the newer albums Keeper III, Gambling with the Devil, and 7 Sinners, but with Straight out of Hell Helloween reaches new heights!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Helloween 2013, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Straight Out Of Hell (Audio CD)
I have listened this band since their first album...this brand new one simply continues the previous great album 7 Sinners. Hard, melodic, fantastic Andi Derris... Great songs - mainly Nabatea and nice ballad is Hold me in your arms...but you've got listen yourself :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They're back, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Straight Out Of Hell (Audio CD)
If you are a fan, have been a fan or not a fan you cannot fail to be impressed with this outing. Helloween have produced an awesome album here. Leave it on the shelf if you dare, its their best for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Straight Out Of Hell
Straight Out Of Hell by Helloween (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews