Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Pie Book
I have read this book from cover to cover. I have enjoyed cooking from it. It is a book you could easily put on weight with!
Published 20 months ago by Mrs.C.L.Corbitt

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not overly impressed!
I got the Kindle version and it's not great. but for 99p what can I expect. I am a former employee of DK and they do beautiful books but the Kindle version is poor.
Published 17 months ago by Lynne Woodcock


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Pie Book, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pie Book (Hardcover)
I have read this book from cover to cover. I have enjoyed cooking from it. It is a book you could easily put on weight with!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not overly impressed!, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pie Book (Kindle Edition)
I got the Kindle version and it's not great. but for 99p what can I expect. I am a former employee of DK and they do beautiful books but the Kindle version is poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC., 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pie Book (Kindle Edition)
pies pies nothing more to say.If you can't find your pie here then try another planet.this is one of the better books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High Pie, 14 July 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Cambridge, GLOUCESTERSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pie Book (Kindle Edition)
An excellent book for baking pies for the beginner would definitely recommend it. Ideal in kindle from as you can prop your tablet out of the way with recipe visible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect pies, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pie Book (Hardcover)
This book has everything anyone needs to make perfect pies. Every pie recipe any one is are likely to need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious pies, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pie Book (Hardcover)
Saw it in the library and tried it out, so good just had to have a copy of my own. The instructions are clear and the food it good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Avoid the Kindle version if you are hoping to increase the font size!, 11 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pie Book (Kindle Edition)
I expected better from a DK publication. The recipes are probably very good, but the Kindle version is constructed from pages in picture form so the text cannot be enlarged, one of the main reasons for purchasing for Kindle. Each page has been scanned as a graphic! Arghh.

I hope there will be a revision of this book, with mobi format that would be easier to read. Coloured backgrounds to the graphics add to the frustration and render the book difficult to decipher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disapointing, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pie Book (Kindle Edition)
the size of the book is fixed. cannot zoom in or rotate.

as it is fixed as picture with wide margins you can not read the recipes using galaxy note 3.. and it is only slightly better on ipad mini

none of the normal kindle features work on this book.. can tot change font, background etc.. but most importantly. you cant read it.. but it does look pretty
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't work on main Kindle, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pie Book (Kindle Edition)
Only after I purchased this did I realise it doesn't work on my Kindle Paperwhite, but only on apps. Have on my phone, but screen size makes it difficult to read - especially because there is extremely small text. Might be better on a larger compatible tablet. Having said thta, appears to be a very nice book, with a lot of good recipes. Perhaps the print copy of this would have been better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I like all the Pies, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pie Book (Kindle Edition)
This quality book makes you want to make and 'eat all the pies'.

Great recipes well written simple instructions for pies, pasties and tarts.

Gives praise to all pastry types with recipes for Puff, Shortcrust, Suet, Hot Water, Strudel, Wheat Free, Biscuit, Crumble
and even your Cobbler.

More of the lovely pictures of pies would have been nice,
but there still enough to sharpen the appetite.

There's a pie for everyone in this book whether savoury, spicy or sweet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Pie Book
The Pie Book by Caroline Bretherton
£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews