Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric & Arty Vampire Flick
This artful vampire movie is a rarety that deserves to be more widely seen, wherein Klaus Kinski takes another bite at the role he established in Herzog's "Nosferatu The Vampyre". Nobody else has anything like the presence of Mr K in a part like this.

The production values are on a par with Argento, Bava et al and the story (restless vampire seeks...
Published 21 months ago by Film Zombie

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but flawed "sequel". ------contains mild spoilers.
I cannot give this film more than 3 stars for a number of reasons. Although I want to as I find the film compelling with its misty scenes of Venice by night, and just that fact that Kinksi returns as "Nosferatu", not Dracula as he was in Herzogs remake of the classic (although his version is equally impressive). Apparently Kinski refused to wear the make up that...
Published 23 months ago by C. W. Howarth


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric & Arty Vampire Flick, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vampire in Venice (uncut) (DVD)
This artful vampire movie is a rarety that deserves to be more widely seen, wherein Klaus Kinski takes another bite at the role he established in Herzog's "Nosferatu The Vampyre". Nobody else has anything like the presence of Mr K in a part like this.

The production values are on a par with Argento, Bava et al and the story (restless vampire seeks eternal peace in the arms of his true love) hangs together well enough. In fact, if you're used to European horror of the '70s & '80s, you'll find it a model of logic & coherence.

The supporting cast (Christopher Plummer, Donald Pleasance among them) are suitably awestruck and terrified by Nosferatu's sudden return to undeadness. But Venice is just as much a star of the film as any of the actors and has been lovingly shot to rapturous effect in several dreamlike scenes. The score provides a suitable sonic backdrop to the action, atmospheric but without any Hollywood cliches.

The DVD menus are in German but it's easy enough to navigate through them to an English language version of the film, mercifully free of unwanted subtitles. The only drawback is the transfer. The picture isn't as bright and contrasted as it should be and is somewhat grainy. The transfer is probably from video since the opening and closing titles slow down and speed up to unfortunate if hilarious effect. This is a pity because a Spanish transfer (Clasicos de Terror) has better picture quality and no problems with sound. Unfortunately, that version has no English language option. Wouldn't it be great if someone like Shameless could Frankenstein the two versions together?

Despite the technical limitations of this release, it remains the only option if you don't speak Spanish or Italian... and if you like classic horror this really is too good a film to miss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but flawed "sequel". ------contains mild spoilers., 20 Jan 2013
By 
C. W. Howarth "Lalala" (manchester Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vampire in Venice (uncut) (DVD)
I cannot give this film more than 3 stars for a number of reasons. Although I want to as I find the film compelling with its misty scenes of Venice by night, and just that fact that Kinksi returns as "Nosferatu", not Dracula as he was in Herzogs remake of the classic (although his version is equally impressive). Apparently Kinski refused to wear the make up that made him so grotesque in Nosferatu, but I cant help feeling how much more affective he would have been in this if he had. Even though Kinski plays the role well , he seems much more human in this, and has long hair too. I think they missed an opportunity here. Secondly the script is a bit weird especially towards the end. Another trivia fact apprently Kinski directed some of this himself after 2 other directors abandoned the project midway (I could be wrong on this). But this could go some way into explaining its slightly incoherrant plotline and lacklustre finale. Finally, I know this was made in the 80s but maybe this is just me but that electronic Vangellis music sounds of its time and although is fine in other films of the period in places detracts from the mood of the film. If you remember Herzogs Nosferatu, the music there was doom laded, but beautiful and was so effective especially in the travels to the castle and the ship arriving in the canals. This films suffers in comparison to that film. However, taken on its own merits its worth having and kind of is a sequel, although seems to forget that Nosferatu was in Transylvania in the 1800s, and apparently seems to have been "exhisting" in what looks like an island in Spain for the last 200 years. It may sound all negative, but its not. i did enjoy the film and it is haunting in places and beautifully shot. It is enjoyable to watch especially if you like Kinsky as your vampire, and is a good companion piece to Nosferatu. The picture quality on this release is good (much better than I anticipated) and there is option to watch in its original English language. This is a german (midnight movies) release. Overall flawed in many ways but atmospheric and enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars waited 20 years., 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vampire in Venice (uncut) (DVD)
i saw this film on sky movies 20 years ago when they were still a fledgling channel and showed lots of rare,unseen, independant and b-movies,..those were the days.
when i finally found out a few days ago,after continually checking amazon to see if it's available,that it is,i'd ordered it faster than a gareth bale free kick goal.
yes it is still the brilliant film i remember it to be.
i know all about the production problems,about 3 dierctors,2 being fired and 1quitting,then Klaus Kinski himself who helped out on his own scenes and script,but it is not as incoherent as some reviews report it to be if you lend yourself to this beautifully photographed,scenic and atmospheric little masterpiece.
my personal opinion is that it is not a sequel to Herzog's Nosferatu "Phantom der Nacht",But a stand alone vampire movie with the nosferatu in this film a weary,ancient vampire that still will not be beaten by mortal man but has the means of his demise at his own hands if he can have the love of a consenting virgin, this being the setting for the film's set piece finale,
at this point i won't reveal any spoilers as the ending has a surprise for you.
let me summarise by saying that if you watch it either as a horror movie fan or a fan of obscure/off beat films then this will not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars atmospheric italian vampire hokum, 24 Mar 2003
By 
This review is from: Vampire in Venice [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Quite a beuatifully filmed atmospheric little gem this. Set in the enchanting city of Venice this movie follows the fortunes of the various characters involved with shadowy vampires. This picture has also got a great score and I would recommend it to any self respecting horror film fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Horror, 4 Jun 2013
By 
Peter T. Dalziel (SCOTLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vampire in Venice (uncut) (DVD)
A little seen gem of a vampire flick.
Set in and around Venice it tells the story of a secret battle against a vampire who has returned from the dead to claim his bride.
Christopher Plummer plays the Van Helsing style character and the ever creepy Klaus Kinski does a great job as the blood sucker.
Every scene of this movie is picturesque with the streets, buildings and waterways of the city used to very artistic effect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vampire in Venice (uncut)
Vampire in Venice (uncut) by Maurizio Lucidi (DVD)
£14.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews