Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Documentary: But it lacks 1 or 2 things.
This is a fantastic behind the scenes look at the meteoric rise of the spy film icon James Bond. A mix of archival footage and modern interviews filmed specifically for this film.
Its a fantastic, VERY balanced look at those men who created the longest running film franchise in cinematic history. No holes barred, each of the three men: Brocolli, Saltzman and Fleming,...
Published on 28 Jan. 2013 by Mr. James A. Stevens

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is it Everything or is it Nothing?
Everything or Nothing purports to be the ultimate inside story on the James Bond franchise but in reality there isn't much here that can't be gleamed off the various documentary's on the Bond DVD's. That's not to say EON is rubbish or anything, it's just nearly as revelatory as it could've been and also skimps over few things in it's lean 90 min run time, that could've...
Published on 1 Feb. 2013 by Mr. Russell C. Witheyman


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Documentary: But it lacks 1 or 2 things., 28 Jan. 2013
By 
Mr. James A. Stevens "Trigger" (Stockport, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everything or Nothing: The Untold Story of 007 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fantastic behind the scenes look at the meteoric rise of the spy film icon James Bond. A mix of archival footage and modern interviews filmed specifically for this film.
Its a fantastic, VERY balanced look at those men who created the longest running film franchise in cinematic history. No holes barred, each of the three men: Brocolli, Saltzman and Fleming, each come off with their pros and cons.
It covers the history, the culutral influences of the times and the influnece Bond had on the culture. Its a very broad brush, and some areas DO get glossed over a bit too quickly (music for instance, doesn't seem to be covered at all).
However, for a documentary of only 90 minutes, it does a VERY commendable job.
Some of the highlights for me, was George Lazenby's open heart account of his one film spell and what lead to his sudden departure, and on a more comedic note, Pierce Brosnan's recollection of some the more... ridiculous moments of his Bond's missions ("right Brosnan, today we're surfing a tidal wave").
It is very good as i say, there are a few areas it does fall noticeably short; Connery's absence is very notable, and had he consented to appear, this documentary would have been lifted for it's detail it would have allowed. As it stands, whilst his side is put forward, the story of his fall out, does seem oddly one sided. But, a small niggle in an otherwise brilliant behind the scenes look.
The real reason i struggled to give this the full 5 stars i would have liked was simply the lack of extras.
Even deleted scenes (perhaps of the musical history, or publicity campaigns and how they changed), scenes that probably rightly didn't work for the brief 90 minute running time, i feel should have been included.
However, as i say, if you're just after the film after being lucky enough to catch it's very short run in the cinema, or missed it and want this lovely overview of the 50 year Bond Legacy, DEFINITELY worth the nice price investment.
However, don't expect any extras (although the case and DVD menu are very lovely, i'd love to have the artwork on my wall!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is it Everything or is it Nothing?, 1 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everything or Nothing: The Untold Story of 007 [DVD] (DVD)
Everything or Nothing purports to be the ultimate inside story on the James Bond franchise but in reality there isn't much here that can't be gleamed off the various documentary's on the Bond DVD's. That's not to say EON is rubbish or anything, it's just nearly as revelatory as it could've been and also skimps over few things in it's lean 90 min run time, that could've been given more coverage if the runtime had been expanded to say 2hrs. Disappointingly there is no deleted interview footage as an extra feature which would've made this a more worthwhile purchase.

The only really interesting stuff, not previously discussed in other docs is Connery's gradual disintegrating relationship with producers Cubby Broccoli and Harry Saltzman. There's some interesting anecdotes from both sides, though Connery's participation is from older interviews sadly. Also Pierce Brosnan's disdain over being cut loose is kinda sterilised in his interview with only a brief mention and doesn't really discuss his anger which was widely reported at the time.

Everything or Nothing is essential for die hard Bond fans like myself but if you have all the DVD's then there isn't much here you won't already know. This really would've made a superb addition to the Bond blu ray set from last year as a nice extra but sadly they didn't include it.

Wait to the price comes down if you're only a casual fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything or Nothing?, 9 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everything or Nothing: The Untold Story of 007 [DVD] (DVD)
This is Everything a True OO7 fan should never be without!
A great look and tribute into the history behind the making and sustaining of all things Bond!!
A great appreciation of everything that went into making it all possible, from everyone who believed in what they were doing to making it all possible, without whom we would never have seen these wonderful action hero stories come to light.
Well done Everyone, your work is greatly appreciated!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST HAVE FOR ALL BOND FANS, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everything or Nothing: The Untold Story of 007 [DVD] (DVD)
A great documentary full of unknown details abour Ian Fleming's spy, as well as the movies and the actors. It's really a shame that this documentary has not been released in the United States, where James Bond films had been so popular since 1962 when DOCTOR NO mde its debut into the american theaters. This versión of EVERYTHING OR NOTHING it's only available in the PAL system, so if you don't have a multisystem DVD player, you won't be able to watch it, unless you send it some place to transfer it into the NTSC system. I own one of those DVD players and was able to enjoy this well done film. that it's truly a MUST HAVE FOR ALL BONDS FANS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic and well researched documentary a must for all Bond fans, 8 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everything or Nothing: The Untold Story of 007 [DVD] (DVD)
An interesting look at the progression of James Bond from book to screen, the development and lifespan of the official EON cannon and the constant legal challenges of the McClory "Thunderball controversy". Directed at a good tempo that builds the plot with tension worthy of Ian Fleming......with Kevin McClory cast as the Bondesque villain of the piece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A "must have" for fans and collectors, 14 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everything or Nothing: The Untold Story of 007 [DVD] (DVD)
I have seen the documentary a few times on Netflix, but I eventually had to get my hands on physical edition to put in my shelf.
The EON-documentary is really splendid. For a Bond-geek like me it was a real eye-opener on several aspects of Bond's history. I've learned a lot of new facts about Fleming, the actors, the producers and more by seeing this film. I especially love the fact that they have put elements from both "Never Say Never Again" and the official films in the documentary. I do miss a few things. Obviously the abscence of Sean Connery, since he didn't want to participate, but also a few comments about Casino Royale: why Broccoli and Saltzman didn't have the rights to produce it, how the 1967 parody fitted in to the Bond-picture etc.

The Dalton-part of the film is alos fabulous. He is talking so passionately about how he wanted to portray Bond - after all these years(!)

Although it's a shame that it is not availabel on Blu-ray, I highly recommend it for all fans and collectors!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The "Not So" Untold Story of 007, 23 April 2013
By 
Sean (Carlisle, Cumbria, Engand, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everything or Nothing: The Untold Story of 007 [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this DVD for my Dad's birthday (who is a big James Bond fan), but was fairly disappointed overall with the lack of "Untold" content or any other extras on the DVD.

Although the documentary itself is edited and constructed well, with new (and some interesting) interviews by the majority of the producers, cast and crew; the majority of the stories have already been told many times before from extras with the films on DVD / Blu-ray. Also, there are no new interviews with Sean Connery for this documentary, but old footage is used instead, in conjuntion with interviews from the rest of the cast and crew involved.

Considering the content of the DVD, I don't believe it is worth purchasing at the full price (if at all) and would only recommend to fans who don't already know the history / general back story to the franchise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, well produced, 16 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everything or Nothing: The Untold Story of 007 [DVD] (DVD)
Overall I enjoyed this documentary. There wasn't a great deal of information I hadn't already known, however it was good to hear it straight from the source, from the people involved. While I'd previously known that Pierce Brosnan missed out on the role in the 80s, I didn't realize just how close the timing was - literally having the rug pulled from under him at the last minute, before the press announcement was about to start. The absence of any interviews or involvement with some of the actors including Sean Connery is noticeable, which is a shame, as it does feel a bit incomplete as a result. It's not really something I'd watch more than once or twice - anyone interested in it can email me, as I'll probably sell it on eBay eventually!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 007 is still on the case, 30 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everything or Nothing: The Untold Story of 007 [DVD] (DVD)
If you think you know everything about Mr. Bond well you have a few surprises coming your way. Every Bond is accouted for and every adventure gets it due. An important and essential purchase for all Bond fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is everything!, 28 April 2013
By 
A. WILLIAMS (Wales, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Everything or Nothing: The Untold Story of 007 [DVD] (DVD)
I won this DVD in a competition off of @007 on Twitter. It's a brilliant documentary. A very balanced view on the Bond Franchise. Taught me a lot of things that I didn't know! Very good, 5 ★'s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Everything or Nothing: The Untold Story of 007 [DVD]
Used & New from: £19.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews