Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harbour Nocturne
Again this book follows on from the previous Hollywood series of books. But it could be read on its on right. If you are a fan of Flotsam and jetsam, Nate, etc then this book won't disappoint.
Published 18 months ago by Mr D

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No ot up to his usual standard
I didn't enjoy this book at all and certainly not up to his usual standard which is surprising. It;s put me off buying his books
Published 11 months ago by christine lockyer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harbour Nocturne, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harbour Nocturne (Kindle Edition)
Again this book follows on from the previous Hollywood series of books. But it could be read on its on right. If you are a fan of Flotsam and jetsam, Nate, etc then this book won't disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read every time, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harbour Nocturne (Kindle Edition)
Looking forward to the next one, great read every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Darkly comic thriller, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harbour Nocturne (Kindle Edition)
Beautifully drawn characters inhabit a tawdry corner of a skewed American dream. The plot is snappy and holds the readers attention throughout. Violence, pathos, tragedy and comedy all rub along comfortably together in a superbly judged novel. Couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Engaging, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harbour Nocturne (Kindle Edition)
not the heights of the Choirboys or The New Centurians but well worth reading, always thought that Flotsom and Jetsam deserved more attention
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just amazing, 28 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harbour Nocturne (Kindle Edition)
If you are new to Joseph Wambaugh then beware. You'll become addicted to his characters and stories from Hollywood police. Wambaugh's books are genuinely unputdownable so prepare for some late night reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, as always, 21 Feb 2013
By 
J. L. Duhig - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harbour Nocturne (Kindle Edition)
Have read practically every Wambaugh novel he's written and this one is every bit as good as the others. Great characterisation with a slowly unwinding plot. Wambaugh doesn't do "crash bang" style writing, the stories unfold gradually but are always wrapped brilliantly around the central characters, with a wonderful evocation of police life in Hollywood. Loved it, can't wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How did I miss out on Wambaugh?, 20 Feb 2013
By 
TL (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harbour Nocturne (Kindle Edition)
The dear old Kindle daily deal recently offered me Joseph Wambaugh's Harbour Nocturne. Now I had heard of Wambaugh's New Centurions but hadn't read anything by him. And having read this I realise I was definitely missing out. The market for police procedurals set in Los Angeles is a pretty crowded one and Wambaugh has some wonderful competitors. How to place Harbour Nocturne? Not as dark as Michael Connolly with his Harry Bosch series; altogether more accessible than those few very dense James Ellroy fictionalisations; perhaps not as champagne-light as the sparkly Elmore Leonard. Wambaugh gets in a great sense of place, with the drama shifting between the Port of Los Angeles ("San Peedro")and Hollywood Division. It is also very funny. Wambaugh's cast of characters was new to me and I think better handled here than in the earlier Wambaugh I am reading now, which comes across rather as a series anecdotes jotted down in a cop's diner. I liked it a lot and will read more by him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars read this, 4 Feb 2013
By 
P. R. Uings (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harbour Nocturne (Kindle Edition)
I have been enjoying these books for many years, I was thinking they are getting lighter but they still have punch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wambaugh's Hollywood genius strikes again!, 9 Jan 2013
By 
Edward D. Creighton "Ed Creighton" (Shanghai, China) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harbour Nocturne (Kindle Edition)
Love the Hollywood series. This is a cracking read, Wambaugh loves cops but isn't overly sentimental. All of the 5 books are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great blend of humour and story, 9 Jan 2013
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Harbour Nocturne (Hardcover)
If you're a fan of Crime Fiction and want something that feels like its larger than life then you really have to try Joseph Wambaugh's new book Harbour Nocturne that brings back characters from his Hollywood Division. It's quirky, blending crime with humour and for a reader looking for something a little different really makes it something not only unique but a title that's a lot of fun to spend time reading.

Add to this a wonderful sense of storytelling mixed in with real life experience (his own and other cops from the real LA Division) and all round this book is a real hit for relatively new publisher Head of Zeus as they continue to forge their own way in a weird and wacky world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Harbour Nocturne
Harbour Nocturne by Joseph Wambaugh
3.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews