Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The boogeyman, a closed down insane asylum and some horrible murders.
Balzano and Byrne return to pick up on a cold case where most of the evidence went missing. Inexplicably it's linked to a new homicide where a man is found in the middle of a park with a railroad spike pounding through the back of his head. Luther is responsible for this and many other murders and the book takes us to his previous home of buildings and catacombs in a...
Published 18 months ago by BookBunny

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst book yet
What happened? The Bryne and Balzano cases have been gripping since the first book, now this?
None of the usual flare or undertones in this book. I stuck with it in the hope that it would go somewhere, anywhere, but it brought me back to the start with a bump.
Published 17 months ago by Phil


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The boogeyman, a closed down insane asylum and some horrible murders., 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stolen Ones (Byrne & Balzano Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
Balzano and Byrne return to pick up on a cold case where most of the evidence went missing. Inexplicably it's linked to a new homicide where a man is found in the middle of a park with a railroad spike pounding through the back of his head. Luther is responsible for this and many other murders and the book takes us to his previous home of buildings and catacombs in a mental asylum that closed down five years ago. We get to read about the Dream Merchants and dream therapy that ultimately spawned a horrific killer.
This is a very well written psychological thriller and there are many subplots to try and keep track of besides Luther and our favourite police officers. As always, the bad guy is a total surprise and I found myself wizzing through the last 20 % of the book.
This is a very satisfying read, with well developed and believable characters and there are many gory parts for those that are that way inclined. The book also features that age old childhood fear of the boogeyman in the closet, both figuratively and in real life in the form of a scarecrow man with a big hat. So be prepared to keep an eye on your closet doors and hope you get a good night's rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, 6 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stolen Ones (Byrne & Balzano Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
I read a lot of books and over time I forget I ever read them, bot every once and while I read a classic which I'll NEVER forget.
This is a book I'll never forget, so go ahead and enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Complicated, 12 Feb. 2014
By 
Elaine Tomasso (Troon. Uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stolen Ones (Byrne & Balzano Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
This is a difficult book to read for about the first 65% as it is told in small, seemingly unrelated snippets. It can be quite frustrating as you think you've got to grips with it and something else crops up but it certainly keeps your attention. To me it is a book you need to read in one or two sittings as it would be easy to lose track if you are dipping in and out. The last 35% is more straightforward with most events explained and an amazing twist. It's well worth a read and it will hold your attention as you try to keep all the disparate elements together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Stolen Ones (Byrne & Balzano), 22 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stolen Ones (Byrne & Balzano Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
Richard Montanari is one of my favourite authors and I enjoy the Byrne & Balzano series. However, I found this book a little confusing and hard to follow in places and the story didn't have me on the edge of my seat .... (although it was still worth reading). Let's hope the next book returns to Montanari at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst book yet, 2 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stolen Ones (Byrne & Balzano Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
What happened? The Bryne and Balzano cases have been gripping since the first book, now this?
None of the usual flare or undertones in this book. I stuck with it in the hope that it would go somewhere, anywhere, but it brought me back to the start with a bump.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another terrific instalment for this series..., 22 Oct. 2013
By 
Liz Wilkins "Lizzy11268" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Thank you to the author, publisher and netgalley for the review copy.

Destroyed by fire years ago, the infamous Philadelphia State Hospital was a warehouse for the criminally insane.
But one man never left.
A bizarre killer is at work in darkest Philadelphia and Detectives Kevin Byrne and Jessica Balzano must stop him. But first they must find him ....

Now I have been in from the start of the Balzano and Byrne stories so I was looking forward to this one and was very excited to get a copy. As usual I was in no way disappointed. Richard Montanari has a very distinct voice in the writing world and has become over the years a master of the craft - this particular instalment has become one of my favourites (my absolute still being "The Skin Gods" - Book 2 of the series) due to the complex and very intense storyline.

Jessica is investigating a cold case which very quickly becomes a hot potato - with Kevin on board they find themselves chasing a very dangerous man...and will have to unravel a mystery with its roots in the past.

I loved the flow of this one - snapshots of age old events give clues to what is happening in the present and the plot twists and turns in typical Montanari style until you are not sure if you are coming or going...and the ultimate resolution was one of the best so far.

Ok, I can see why some readers who are also mental health professionals have been a bit down on this one - some of the visuals if you like on asylums and what goes on in them (at least in this fictional world) are often disturbing. However the key word here is "fictional". This is a story, dramatic license is allowed and indeed required to make a compelling tale - it is in no way implied that any of this is fact.

It is disconcerting and frightening crime fiction. If you want rainbows and kittens this is not the book for you, however if you love crime fiction with bite and have not yet delved into this world then I would recommend them - The Rosary Girls would be where to start.

Happy Reading Folks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Avid reader, 15 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love reading these books, they have u hooked right from the start. If you like reading these your should also try Chris Carter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very complicated - but good read, 30 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stolen Ones (Byrne & Balzano Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
This really is a holiday read - you need to become engrossed (which is easy) then read the book in a short time as the plot is complicated and in more ways than usual this is a hard book to put down. Recommendable, you do need to concentrate thou.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed, 21 Feb. 2014
By 
Christine Crossman "Chris" (Hagley, Worcs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stolen Ones (Byrne & Balzano Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
I have read previous books by this author and thoroughly enjoyed them.

This book however is proving to be such a chore. Disjointed and confusing. I am persevering and almost at the end but can't say it has been a pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read. not great, but, ok, 23 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stolen Ones (Byrne & Balzano Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
I found this hard going in places and difficult to follow all of the characters and storyline. I have a love hate relationship with Richard Montanari. I've loved many of his books, but, some are just plain hard work. Not a favourite, just OK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Stolen Ones (Byrne & Balzano Book 7)
£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews