Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good space opera
I am very pleased to have found this series. Although Sci-fi arcs are often a rehash of cliches, this flavour is palatable.
If you are looking for a big read (Peter Hamilton big), then this is a good series.
It is good to have a lot to read, characters to follow and develop. This is pulp sci-fi that I want, and I have purchased the whole series.
The author...
Published 12 months ago by Aaron Richardson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Not the authors best, too convoluted
Published 6 months ago by Bruce L. Holmes


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good space opera, 11 April 2014
By 
Aaron Richardson (Moscow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Worse Enemy (The Empire's Corps Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I am very pleased to have found this series. Although Sci-fi arcs are often a rehash of cliches, this flavour is palatable.
If you are looking for a big read (Peter Hamilton big), then this is a good series.
It is good to have a lot to read, characters to follow and develop. This is pulp sci-fi that I want, and I have purchased the whole series.
The author does bang on about some cliches again and again, such as politicians know nothing and are corrupt while salt of the earth non-coms are the answer to the galaxies problems, Stockholm Syndrome ad-nauseum, Marines check and recheck their equipment, they train hard to make the mission easier, blah blah. We get it, it doesn't have to be repeated all the time.
My favourite Space Opera since the Gap Series, and is not fizzling out like the Harrington pulp machine.
Well done, write more, and take my money.
You have a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No Better Sequel, 26 Dec. 2014
By 
William J. Fox "KillerBill" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Worse Enemy (The Empire's Corps Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
The Marines are cut off from Earth with no hope of support, resupply or replacements. Avalon is next in line for conquest by the mysterious Admiral, an augmented man who is attempting to vanquish a group of star systems and form his own empire. There is nothing to prevent him and his murderous pirate crews from invading Avalon except for the Marines and a couple of old and underpowered space ships.

"No Worse Enemy" follows two main strands. Molly has been captured by the pirates and finds herself forced to become a sex slave and engineer on the Admiral's own ship. How will she even survive when most of the sex slaves end up cowed into submission or dead? the Sword. The Marines manage to find one of the Admiral's support bases but are even their abilities up to taking it intact?

This is an excellent and highly recommended sequel, very gritty, at times violent, and a real page-turner. "The Empire's Corps" seems to be developing into a compelling series and is essential reading if you are into military sf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Military Sci-Fi, 19 Feb. 2014
By 
M. G. Chisholm "chiefengineer3" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Worse Enemy (The Empire's Corps Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This is the second in the series of Empire's Corps and an improvement generally. The first one was good but perhaps a little bit black and white. This adds a bit of nuance that helps the overall story and makes it far more readable. It's still straight forward military action, but the characters have been better fleshed out and the backstory has more depth.

Essentially Avalon has now been abandoned by Earth to it's own devices. This has allowed a government to form and the fledgling amalgamation of worlds to create a commonwealth. Of course this also allows pirates to proliferate and various factions to start to maneuver for political and financial gain. In this story the marines are called upon to tackle the threat from a nascent pirate/military fleet which seems to be determined to create a new empire in a rather unpleasant way.

There's plenty of action, definitely adult themes with regard to the treatment of women by the bad guys and the start of a story that presumably will grow as the series progresses.

Nuttall has again demonstrated that he can write well and this is a decent taut and enjoyable book of this genre. Well recommended if you like this type of story.

One word of caution. There is sex involved albeit not graphically, however for young people this might be the kind of thing they read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good, 25 May 2013
This review is from: No Worse Enemy (The Empire's Corps Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
If you enjoyed the others in the series buy this.It is fiction but I can honestly believe this is where we could well end up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice sequel, 14 April 2013
By 
Mr. C. Reid - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Worse Enemy (The Empire's Corps Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
A good read, although perhaps not quite as good as the original. Very much in the same tone as the first and worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More fun, page turning space-opera, 27 Oct. 2014
By 
Simon Prior (Plainfield, IL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Worse Enemy (The Empire's Corps Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
More fun, page turning space-opera. Sly references to EE Doc Smith and Ripley (she of Aliens) make it a bit more fun. Sex, violence, destruction. The occasional goodie gets killed too just to make sure it's not all unsympathetic bad guys who get dead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MR R, 9 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Worse Enemy (The Empire's Corps Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
It was a good follow on book and the story carrys on nice after first book. I would recommend it to anyone who likes sci-fi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Food for thought., 21 Jan. 2015
By 
K. L. Schindler (Shropshire-England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Worse Enemy (The Empire's Corps Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Could not put it down.
Having been in the military I can connect with the dilemma of military law and civil and how it impacts on a serving member .
Definitely a fan of Cristophers work Will read more.
Please ,please read the AFTERWORD it is so true , vote with your feet as they say make them listen , your vote counts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A World in Chaos!, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Worse Enemy (The Empire's Corps Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
A good attempt to provide a sci-fi adventure embracing multi-faceted fall-out of political-economic disaster on an abandoned planetary system! Makes a great read as the story-line explores the inevitable moral and disciplinary degeneration of human beings faced with death or destruction! Looking forward to the sequel!!
Harast
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtful sci-fi ?, 4 April 2014
This review is from: No Worse Enemy (The Empire's Corps Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
A very enjoyable series of books that can be thought provoking or just enjoyed as a good read .l would highly recommend all the books so far .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

No Worse Enemy (The Empire's Corps Book 2)
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews