Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeping up with the Williams', 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Highway (Audio CD)
A Country Album that goes back to storytelling songs. This is the first time I have come across this lady and I have been treated to one of the best hours of music I have heard in a good while. I immediately bought her other two albums and would recommend these are added to your collections as well. I hope she doesn't leave her next offering as long as she has this one. Diolch yn Fawr Holly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Highway (MP3 Download)
Only heard of Holly a week ago but played no other album since. A wonderfully constructed album providing beautiful and melodic songs. Each song tells a story and the lady sings with a lot of feeling in her voice. She has a very good voice and uses tone, pitch and timing with great skill. You can imagine her crying tears whilst singing 'Gone away from me' and I defy anyone listening to that song not to reflect on mortality and the relationship with their own parents. Having taken us on an emotional journey Holly follows up with the more upbeat 'Railroads' and your feet just start tapping to to the beat. The songs are varied . Some great lyrics. 'Why are you shouting as if I don't have ears' on 'Drinking' speaks volumes. Not sure what genre it comes under as there are folk, country and rock influences. Not sure who to compare her with but some of the guitar riffs remind me of the Eagles of the 70s or John Prine. In essence, an acoustically driven album by a singer song writer with a very good voice. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant album., 2 Jun 2013
By 
J. Almeida (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Highway (MP3 Download)
As a lover of country music, I was really interested to hear this album from the Hank Williams clan (she is the daughter and granddaughter). This is a mature album full of interesting songs with some excellent lyrics probably reflecting that Holly has had a fair bit to contend with in her life. It has become a real favourite for me standing up to repeat listening and grows on you like any good album does. A must have album if you like female country artists who sing from the heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Voice, 25 April 2013
By 
Mr. B. R. Good (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Highway (Audio CD)
I love Holly Williams voice and wish I had discovered her sooner. She could teach Taylor Swift a thing or two about real singing.
This is just a collection of really great, mostly stripped down country songs by the granddaughter of Hank SR.

The last song is really emotional and powerful so don't listen if you cry easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Highway (Audio CD)
Superb CD with excellent songs and great vocal performances throughout, definitely one of the best CDs from 2013.
Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotional, 25 Jun 2014
By 
This review is from: The Highway (Audio CD)
A friend gave me a free ticket to see Holly and she was fantastic bought this album straight after it is a very emotional record beautifully sung and played, I've just ordered the other two. Go see her live
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Highway [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Love this album. It has been on my turntable several times already. Just keep putting stuff like this out, and on vinyl, and I'll keep buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Highway (Audio CD)
Beautiful songs sung with emotion and feeling and you can hear the influence from her grandfather in her delivery of each song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Highway, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Highway (Audio CD)
Holly Williams is a newcomer to me and I liked the tracks of Highway very much. Different and I didn't know the connection with her famous father.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, moving stuff, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Highway (MP3 Download)
It's so rare these days to find an album where more songs stay with you than not, but The Highway manages to have something about practically each track that stands out. Whether it's a melody that lodges in your head,(Happy, Without You, A Good Man), a confessional (The Highway, Giving Up) or an affecting 'in character' story song (Railroads, Waiting on June), it's hard not to be impressed by everything on here.

There are a some gorgeous touches of Country Soul a la Shelby Lynne, and if you liked Kacey Musgroves' Same Trailer Different Park, it's a fairly safe bet you'd enjoy a lot of The Highway too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Highway
The Highway by Holly Williams (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews