Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Last Wild, 16 April 2013
This review is from: The Last Wild (Hardcover)
100% enjoyable! I got the book on a Sunday evening and had finished it by 6:30pm on Tuesday (whilst going to school in between)
Equally fabulous for both girls and boys - I am definitely going to read it again and will be looking out for future books by this author.
I've given this book five stars because the story is so addictive and fascinating.
Millie 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Last Wild, 12 July 2013
By 
ladywebslinger (Brighton United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Last Wild (Hardcover)
Review from my 9 year old daughter:

The Last Wild is a complicated yet outstanding book about a boy who goes on an adventure to save the last of the animals. There are only about 50 animals left in the world as there is a terrible disease called the red eye. Kester (as that is the boy's name) meets a stag and together they try to find a cure for the red eye.

I recommend this book for people who enjoy adventures and animal tales. My age group suggestion would be 8 plus because it has some lengthy words and is a long chapter book. Overall it is a must-buy that I highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 31 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Last Wild (Hardcover)
A fantastic first novel . Something that preteens and adults will both enjoy. I for one can't wait for the sequel .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Wild (Hardcover)
This is a fantastic book. I couldn't put it down and the children absolutely loved it! Would recommend it with bells on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Wild (Kindle Edition)
Bought this for my 11 year old after teacher recomendation and she loved it. She didnt put it down until she had finished. She was in tears at the end though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastically imaginitive!, 28 April 2014
This review is from: The Last Wild (Paperback)
First of all, let’s talk about this cover, shall we? This cover is simply fantastic with such contrasting colours that it really grabs your attention. As I read through the book the animals on the cover (both front and back) made more sense along with the beautiful detail of Stag’s eye and the green watch on Kester’s wrist. In short, I love this cover!

This book is highly imaginative and the plot, although slightly complicated, is easy to follow, wonderfully written, and so easy to immerse yourself in. There is an element of dystopia in it too as the world has been plagued with a virus called “Red Eye” which has killed off all but a rare few animals (and the pests which are aptly named “varmints.”). The characters within this world, both animal and human, are fantastic and I found it really easy to grow attached to each of the “good” characters and even easier to dislike the “bad.” I won’t spoil anything for those of you wishing to read this but watch out for Captain Skuldiss! *boo hiss*

Even though this books is 326 pages long, it is by no means a long and drawn out read. The plot is split into six parts (each with it’s own mini-chapter-starter-illustration-thing) and each part has a lot going on to hold your interest. It is hard for me to think that this book would just be suited to younger readers as I, at 23 and 1/2, thoroughly enjoyed it and am looking forward to reading the sequel The Dark Wild. I honestly think that this book would be suited for anyone and everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Wild (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant story...good holiday read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A book children and adults can enjoy, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Wild (Paperback)
Great story, really enjoyed it, it's full of great characters and based around a really interesting central idea - can't wait to read Part 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars couldn't put it down!, 25 May 2014
By 
Mrs. H. Walsh "avid reader" (Kent UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Last Wild (Kindle Edition)
i bought this for my11yr old son as the blurb was interesting, Eoin Colfer recommended it and i liked the first few sentences.
I decided to read the first few pages but was completely hooked and read it all in a few days.
The characters are interesting and the story line is gripping. In all a great book for boys or girls aged 9yrs+. I'd highly recommend it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Adventure meets animal survival, 18 May 2014
This review is from: The Last Wild (Paperback)
As Eoin Colfer says in a quote on the front cover "A hugely inventive adventure". It's a mixture of all the good classic animal adventure stories such as "Watership Down", "Tarka the Otter", "Song of Pentecost" etc mixed together with sci fi elements such as "The Tripods" and the special human cities of glass, but with a new and clever slant and twist. Captain Skuldiss reminds me of a cross between the child catcher in Chitty, Chitty Bang Bang and Spiro from "My Family and other animals", whilst the "General" is like Captain Mainwaring from "Dad's Army". An interesting mix of animal characters who carry the story along as Kester struggles to save them from the red or berry eye which is afflicting all animalkind and the humans believe will kill them. He believes only his dad can save them, but can he?

There's no swearing or extreme violence, no angst ridden issues and modern day problems such as rape, bullying, war etc and yet it's a story of destruction, the potential end of the world as we know it and parallels many environmental issues we face today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Wild
The Last Wild by Piers Torday
£2.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews