Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An author to watch
You'd be forgiven for being wary of independent fantasy. It is, after all, a genre that attracts a lot of first time writers. Inevitably that results in a lot of sub-Tolkienesque dross that you probably wouldn't want to waste your time with. So you could hardly be blamed for steering your way safely towards the Gemmells, the Donaldsons and the Feists of this world...
Published on 25 April 2013 by Laurence S

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Tolkien
I was disappointed by this book having been drawn to it by a plethora of 5 star reviews. As is becoming normal with Amazon the early reviews seem to be written by people with a vested interest in pushing the publication. The fantasy genre has it's giants like Tolkien by which standards other authors can be judged. Not everyone can have that level of genius but in order...
Published 10 months ago by Michael Liddell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An author to watch, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nameless Dwarf (The Complete Chronicles): Nameless Dwarf series books 1-5 (Kindle Edition)
You'd be forgiven for being wary of independent fantasy. It is, after all, a genre that attracts a lot of first time writers. Inevitably that results in a lot of sub-Tolkienesque dross that you probably wouldn't want to waste your time with. So you could hardly be blamed for steering your way safely towards the Gemmells, the Donaldsons and the Feists of this world.

That, however, would be a mistake, because hidden amongst the weeds are rare gems like Prior's Nameless Dwarf stories... And you certainly don't want to miss them. What does anybody want from first-class fantasy fiction? Strong characterisation? I like the fact that Nameless is a flawed hero and his companions are equally complex with well-developed back stories. I never felt that any of the characters were two-dimensional throwaway bit-parts - they all rang true. A fast-paced plot? The Nameless stories grabbed me from the first page and pulled me along relentlessly. You won't want to put this down once you start. Fully-realised worlds? I found Prior's world of Aethir to have been meticulously crafted - this is an author who has done his homework before developing his plot.

What really made even this jaded reader sit up and take note though is Prior's adept use of humour - not laying it on with a trowel or letting it get in the way of the story, but using it well to balance the darker moments and to control the pace. It's probably one of the hardest aspects to get right in fantasy, but these stories don't disappoint in that respect.

Complaints? Yes, but they are minor. Perhaps I was sent scurrying once too often for my dictionary, but it's really not a significant issue with the books.

You could read these tales individually, but my feeling is that they probably work best read as a longer single saga - as they are presented in this omnibus edition.

At the end of the day, I approached these volumes with an open mind, but I was at first pleasantly surprised and then both engrossed and entertained by this compelling tale of one dwarf's quest for redemption. I heartily recommend it to fans of the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A collection every fantasy fan should own, 7 Mar. 2013
By 
This review is from: The Nameless Dwarf (The Complete Chronicles): Nameless Dwarf series books 1-5 (Kindle Edition)
The Nameless Dwarf is the Omnibus collection of all five books in the series. I was lucky enough to get reviewer copies of all of them as they came out and was very excited to see that he decided to release a single volume collection with some epic cover art.

I would rate the collection a 4.5, but since there are no half stars it gets rounded up. The stories really get stronger as you progress through them making it so I have no problem with the 5 star ranking at all.

This is especially a great series to read if you are familiar with the Shader series by D.P. There are some shared characters and back story that really enriched the other books for me.

If you are a fan of action packed epic fantasy this is a great collection for you to pick up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Part of the Shader world..., 30 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nameless Dwarf (The Complete Chronicles): Nameless Dwarf series books 1-5 (Kindle Edition)
I bought this as a first toe-dip into D.P. Prior's work. Very glad I did too - although I would strongly recommend that you read the Shader (first trilogy) beforehand, as within the character chronology, the happenings in Shader occur before the Nameless Dwarf and give some context. Not essential, but I was glad I did and it made sense to me that way!

Nameless should very rapidly become a firm favourite in the pantheon of fantasy characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nameless Dwarf (The Complete Chronicles): Nameless Dwarf series books 1-5 (Kindle Edition)
Great fun read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely good fantasy book, 24 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nameless Dwarf (The Complete Chronicles): Nameless Dwarf series books 1-5 (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book. The characters are interesting, it is packed with action, the plot is always surprising and it is very well written. I am going to look for more books from the same author right away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different, 26 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nameless Dwarf (The Complete Chronicles): Nameless Dwarf series books 1-5 (Kindle Edition)
An interesting book that has a rather different approach to normal high fantasy. Enjoyed it more than expected would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable read, 18 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nameless Dwarf (The Complete Chronicles): Nameless Dwarf series books 1-5 (Kindle Edition)
Not read any of the previous books so wasn't sure if I'd get the plot, characters or even why this dwarf is called Nameless! Thankfully I shouldn't of worried, excellent read, character's are detailed and have a life of their own which supports the story line perfectly.

If I have one point to make, I'm glad I read the book on the kindle, there's a few old English words in here I've never heard of before, you can be checking what they mean quite often. Which if I'm honest I enjoyed too :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Joy To Read, 13 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nameless Dwarf (The Complete Chronicles): Nameless Dwarf series books 1-5 (Kindle Edition)
This is a book containing the whole series of 5 instalments. I jumped into this hoping for a great adventure, as by now you should know I relish in my reads, and I was confronted with such an adventure, I could hardly stop reading.

The Nameless Dwarf is about a Dwarf who has lost his name due to terrible deeds he has done in the past. Now out to try and save those who run from him, he finds the dwarf he truly is. It is the adventure that makes the dwarf, isn't it?

D.P Prior describes everything brilliantly in this story. With a cast joined through coincidence, the story unfolds well, each instalment ending and making you want more. The way the excitement, peril, and thrill, all continue to increase through the tale, as well as your understanding of the past, is great. It's a sure winner to draw you in.

I feel the author did a great job at making each character unique, and stand out on their own, such as Nameless being a brave fighter, tormented by past deeds, whilst his non too clever newly acquainted friend Nil, is more comedic to the group, as his way of talking is easily grasped through the language and form of sentence used, as well as just how he thinks. Each companion has their own strengths and weaknesses, their own parts to add to the adventure, and this is what makes the tale so enjoyable to read.

It isn't a group of likeminded travellers who set out together for the same goal, or a goal similar in design. It's a group of fully unique individuals who happen to stumble amongst one another as the journey progresses, each adding their own wants and needs, their own distinct personalities to the tale.

I really would recommend this book. It is worth buying it in this form instead of its individual instalment form as well, as no doubt, like me, you'll want to move straight on to the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Tolkien, 23 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nameless Dwarf (The Complete Chronicles): Nameless Dwarf series books 1-5 (Kindle Edition)
I was disappointed by this book having been drawn to it by a plethora of 5 star reviews. As is becoming normal with Amazon the early reviews seem to be written by people with a vested interest in pushing the publication. The fantasy genre has it's giants like Tolkien by which standards other authors can be judged. Not everyone can have that level of genius but in order to rate 5 stars the work must at least approach those standards. This offering does not even come close. The characters straight out of central casting with little or no original characterisation attempted. The story line is predictable and over the top but not in a good way. Although by definition fantasy fiction is set in a world apart from normal experience the author has to pull off the trick of making the base of the plot and the characters just a little believable and engaging. I don't think the author achieved this. All that said this is not an expensive item. By all means buy the download and judge for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 28 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nameless Dwarf (The Complete Chronicles): Nameless Dwarf series books 1-5 (Kindle Edition)
Spent a few sleepless nights reading this. Couldn't put it down. No spaces between the action for a natural break.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews