Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real Music As It Should Be!!!
On the back on his previous collection (and not unlike the Radio 1 Live Lounge series) Dermot O'Leary has got together a collection of great songs by a diverse range of artists. The beauty of these compilations is that you get to hear songs you know by unknown artists, or some big names singing tracks that you may have never heard. Either way, if you are like me, you...
Published on 26 Feb. 2013 by GingerBoy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I thought it would be...
Its ok but not as good as I had expected...heard a few 'adverts' for it on Radio 2 and decided to purchase it. Was cheaper on Amazon than anywhere else...I've listened to it a few time and it is ok. Nice to have something else to listen to and there are a couple of tracks that are great and the rest are ok.
Published 21 months ago by helsbells


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real Music As It Should Be!!!, 26 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Dermot O'leary Presents The Saturday Sessions 2013 (Audio CD)
On the back on his previous collection (and not unlike the Radio 1 Live Lounge series) Dermot O'Leary has got together a collection of great songs by a diverse range of artists. The beauty of these compilations is that you get to hear songs you know by unknown artists, or some big names singing tracks that you may have never heard. Either way, if you are like me, you then go hunting out more artists or tracks and your collection grows even more!!! There are always a few fillers at first sight, but rather than flicking through your media device of choice, why not do what we used to do back in the day and play the album through in it's entirety. That way you get songs that grow on you or you find the hidden gems.

The highlights for me (after only a couple of listenings) are the established artists Emeli Sande (Eleanor Rigby), Ed Sheeran (Who you are)and Maverick Sabre (Empire State of Mind). Also, great tracks by lesser known artists Maximo Park (Heaven), Dry The River (Homeward Bound), The Do (Sex On Fire) and The Slow Show (Born to Run). Added to this the simply beautiful Angels by The XX, Ben Howard and Paloma Faith and you have 2 1/2 hours of music that might be from Saturday Sessions but fit perfectly into a Sunday morning relaxing with a coffee and the papers!!

Already looking forward to the next batch of songs from Dermot and the gang!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazzzzinggg Derrrrr!, 1 Jan. 2014
By 
R. Williamson "r3w" (Newcastle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dermot O'leary Presents The Saturday Sessions 2013 (Audio CD)
Ahh I love Dermot. Such a good album. Everyone in the house loves it, we can all have a good singalong and no one is unhappy if we play it in the car when out for a drive. Fabulous mix of singers and songs. I knew it would be brilliant because the radio two show is so good and this cd certainly does it justice. Will definitely be buying some more of these cds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I thought it would be..., 28 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dermot O'leary Presents The Saturday Sessions 2013 (Audio CD)
Its ok but not as good as I had expected...heard a few 'adverts' for it on Radio 2 and decided to purchase it. Was cheaper on Amazon than anywhere else...I've listened to it a few time and it is ok. Nice to have something else to listen to and there are a couple of tracks that are great and the rest are ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 15 May 2013
By 
Mrs. T. Bates "Theresa B" (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dermot O'leary Presents The Saturday Sessions 2013 (Audio CD)
I really like the previous Saturday Sessions CD, this is not as good as the previous CDs but has a good mix of artists and some unexpected song choices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Abit depressing, 26 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dermot O'leary Presents The Saturday Sessions 2013 (Audio CD)
Some of the tracks are brilliant and i like the concept of artist singing others tunes but a good half of the songs are really mornful.Quite depressing infact.Have to turn it off!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars So slow it hurts, 18 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dermot O'leary Presents The Saturday Sessions 2013 (Audio CD)
Dermot O'Leary.... who would think the presenter of the most manufactured music programme on TV would present a radio show of real music? His Saturday afternoon show is always a highlight of the radio week for me, and I love hearing the way in which artists cover songs, either old or new. I have also discovered new music from the show (such as the wonderful The War Room)

I believe this is the fourth (?) collection of the sessions from said show. Previous collections have been fantastic, with an eclectic mix of music, both in terms of the covers and the style. This one is different. It seems all of the songs included are slow.. oh so very slow, and with so many on each disc this gets boring after a while. I know the idea of the show is to session songs acoustically, but this collection all seems to be of the same ilk.

Disappointing and not a true reflection of a wonderful show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic varied album, 24 May 2014
By 
Hil-ster (Wales United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dermot O'leary Presents The Saturday Sessions 2013 (Audio CD)
Only bought this for the Paloma Faith song, as I sat and listened to it one Saturday afternoon and thought it was great!...but have to say some great music on the album, so pleased I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring!, 26 Feb. 2013
By 
M. Reynolds (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I`ve bought the previous two collections, but I have to say that this one, with a few notable exceptions, bored me to tears. Soooo slow and some of the versions of the songs were dull, dull, dull. Definitely an album for those with trouble sleeping!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dermot oleary presents the Saturday sessions 2013, 21 April 2013
This review is from: Dermot O'leary Presents The Saturday Sessions 2013 (Audio CD)
Was not as good as publicity for it lead me to believe. Not sure how often I will be listening to it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre at best, 28 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dermot O'leary Presents The Saturday Sessions 2013 (Audio CD)
I am really quite disappointed with this collection of songs from the Saturday Sessions. The whole double CD package is, in a word, mediocre. There is no one stand out track, the Emeli Sande cover of Eleanor Rigby is good but it is not a masterpiece.

May be it is the fault of the artists that come on Dermot's show and they are not being adventurous enough, or may be it is the fault if the person who chose the 'best of' but, as mentioned in pother reviews, this CD collection is at best a good background muzak item.

Which is a shame.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews