Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a Year!, 4 Mar 2013
By 
Graham A. Williams (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The London American Story [1962] (Audio CD)
I remember 1962 so well and this CD makes those memories come alive. So many of these tracks are outstanding but the track which really stands out is "Green Onions" by Booker T & the M.G.'s. Compared with most records of the day, the sound is so different with Steve Cropper's guitar work so ahead of it's time.

Compilations of this kind serve many purposes, one being proof as to why artistes of the calibre of Del Shannon, Roy Orbison and Ricky Nelson were consistently in the charts.

I've awarded four stars rather than five for two reasons: one being a lack of an informative booklet (see such releases on ACE) and the other is a personal choice; I could have done without "Speedy Gonzales" thanks very much!

A definite purchase for anyone with memories and a love of good music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars london american greats, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The London American Story [1962] (Audio CD)
another great one day collection Here are the tracks
CD1 1Dream Baby Roy Orbison 2 Im Blue The Ikettes 3 He's Old Enough To Know Better 4 Cry To Me Solomon Burke 5 Hey Little Girl Del Shannon 6 Jambalaya Fats Domino 7 When My Little Girl Is Smiling Drifters 8 You Better Move On Arthur Alexander 9 Young World Rick Nelson 10 Whats Your Name Don And Juan 11Shout Shout Ernie Maresca 12 Love Letters Ketty Lester 13 A Night At Daddy Gees 14 Salvation Johnny And hurricanes 15 Lover Please dennis Turner 16 Experiment In Terror The Champs17Checkered Continental PantdTad And Small fry 18 Little Bitty Felling Frank Starr 19 Cry Baby Eddie Reeves 20Keeps Right On A Hurting Johnny Tillotson 21Some Other Guy Ritchie Barret 22 Drummin Up A Storm Sandy Nelson 23 The Crowd Roy Orbison 24 Lucy Lee lloyd George 25 The Wrong Girl The Showmen
CD2 1Speedy Gonzalez Pat Boone 2Things Bobby Darrin 3Locomotion Little Eva 4Teenage Idol Rick Nelson 5 Sweet Little 16 Jerry Lee Lewis 6 Cry Myself To Sleep Del Shannon 7 Might As Well Rain Untill September 8 Green Onions Booker t 9 Lets Dance chris Montez 10Monster Mash Bobby Pickett 11 Bobbys Girl Marcie Blaine 12 A Wonderfull Dream The Majors 13 Pretty Baby Charlie Gracie 14 Your Nose Is Gonna Grow Johnny Ceawford 15 He's A Rebel Crystals 16 And Then There Were Drums Sandy nelson 17 I'll Bring It On Home To You Carla Thomas 18 Pop Pop Pie The Sherrys 19 Up On The Roof The Drifters 20 Keep Your Hands Off My Baby Little Eva 21Chains The Cookies 22 Echo The Emotions 23 Anna Arthur Alexander 24 Comin Home Baby Mel Torme 25 Zip A Dee Doo Dah Bob Soxx And Blue Jeans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars just not top notch (but close), 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The London American Story [1962] (Audio CD)
just missed the 5*rating by the inclusion of the obvious turkeys i wish the compilers realised that people like me and others who buy these cd,s would prefer the more obscure sides from the london back catologue, and there must be dozens copyright permiting, you could choose from. i have bought each release of the london cd,s and maybe your holding back some tracks with a view to volumes2 (i hope) of these cd,s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Clear Listing?-C'mon Everybody Shake Baby Shake!, 22 May 2013
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The London American Story [1962] (Audio CD)
THE LONDON AMERICAN STORY 1959 has 50 ORIGINAL RECORDINGS which have been

DIGITALLY REMASTERED ON 2 CDS.

Generally the remastering can improve the sound but I really would encourage you to read other reviews to confirm and get a broader picture.

This is by no means a review but I find that when all the artistes and tracks are scrunched up rather than in a list, I find it hard to read and work out which tracks are on.
SO I've relisted them
Ignore track 26 on CD two if cutting and pasting.

Disc 1

1. High School Confidential - Jerry Lee Lewis
2. Problems - The Everly Brothers
3. Shake Baby Shake - Jesse Lee Turner
4. C'mon Everybody - Eddie Cochran
5. 16 Candles - The Crests
6. The All American Boy - Bill Parsons
7. The Bluebird, The Buzzard And The Oriole - Bobby Day
8. Donna - Ritchie Valens
9. Goodbye Baby - Jack Scott
10. Beatnik - The Champs
11. It's Late - Ricky Nelson
12. Charlie Brown - The Coasters
13. Since I Don't Have You - The Skyliners
14. Cruising - Jimmie & The Night Hoppers
15. Pink Shoe Laces - Dodie Stevens
16. Lovin' Up A Storm - Jerry Lee Lewis
17. Come Softly To Me - The Fleetwoods
18. Sea Cruise - Frankie Ford
19. The Happy Organ - Dave 'Baby' Cortez
20. Little Queenie - Chuck Berry
21. I Wanna Be Loved By You - Marilyn Monroe
22. Poor Jenny - The Everly Brothers
23. Margie - Fats Domino
24. Dream Lover - Bobby Darin
25. A Teenager In Love - Dion & The Belmonts

Disc 2

1. Peter Gunn - Duane Eddy
2. That's My Little Suzie - Ritchie Valens
3. Here Comes Summer - Jerry Keller
4. There Goes My Baby - The Drifters
5. Still In Love With You - The Tu-Tones
6. Just Keep It Up - Dee Clark
7. Lavender Blue - Sammy Turner
8. Memphis Tennessee - Chuck Berry
9. Just A Little Too Much - Ricky Nelson
10. Forty Miles Of Bad Road - Duane Eddy
11. Linda Lu - Ray Sharpe
12. ('Til) I Kissed You - The Everly Brothers
13. Baby Talk - Jan & Dean
14. Poison Ivy - The Coasters
15. Mack The Knife - Bobby Darin
16. I Want To Walk You Home - Fats Domino
17. Somethin' Else - Eddie Cochran
18. Red River Rock - Johnny & The Hurricanes
19. Ring A Rockin' - Neil Sedaka
20. Deck Of Cards - Wink Martindale
21. Seven Little Girls Sitting On The Back Seat - Paul Evans & The Curls
22. Dance With Me - The Drifters
23. Be My Guest - Fats Domino
24. You Got What It Takes - Marv Johnson
25. Drum Party - Sandy Nelson
26. Hullabaloo - Glen and the Ringtones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE LAST CHAPTER, 19 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The London American Story [1962] (Audio CD)
I had The London American box set (1956~1960) plus 1961 so decided to complete the set with the '62 complilation. Just Iike the others in this series it is packed with a good selection of original recordings of both chart hits and lesser know tracks (no remakes found here). if you are a fan of pre-Beatles American pop then this is a must have album. Regrettably due to actions by Mr. Webb and his mates this will be the last volume available as the public domain rules have now been extended so we will have to wait until around 2035 for the 1963 edition!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD VALUE, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The London American Story [1962] (Audio CD)
i would have given it 5 stars, but the mix is a bit patchy, when you consider the choice they had. more volumes to come ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT, 27 Feb 2014
By 
sweetthing - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The London American Story [1962] (Audio CD)
Love this, I have got all the set so far but now want the London american story 1963 so where is it please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The London American Story [1962] (Audio CD)
Hearing this brought back a lot of memories. It is a good compilation and I am very happy that I bought it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great music, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The London American Story [1962] (Audio CD)
Love this CD it takes me right back to my youth. The music is fantastic and there are well known tracks by other singers that may not have had the hits but are the originals
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars value, 21 Sep 2013
By 
Mr R P Coulson (WALLASEY, MERSEYSIDE, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The London American Story [1962] (Audio CD)
this is a great way to catch up and update collections of golden oldies and throw away old scratched 45's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9295354)

This product

The London American Story [1962]
The London American Story [1962] by Compilation (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews