Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars17
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£7.19+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This 75 track (3 discs - Cd 1. 61.36mins, Cd2. 57.23mins and Cd3. 61.57mins) anthology charts Phil Spectors' early productions and song writing across various great artists from 1959 to 1962. These are the formative years, only the tracks from 1962 start to have the trade mark wall of sound. The usual classics are present including the vastly superior version of Vikki Carr's original `He's a rebel' by The Crystals written by Gene Pitney. There are great tracks by Ben E. King, Gene Pitney, Connie Francis, The Paris Sisters, Ray Peterson and Curtis Lee. There are lesser known acts but by no means less great - such as Troy Shondell, Billy Storm and Jean Du Shon. There are tracks by Phil himself in the form of The Teddy Bear's (7 tracks - some sound twee and haven't dated well) and other guises as well (including 1 or 2 very good instrumentals).

All these tracks are now in the public domain in this country, but unlike a very recently released compilation of Spector productions of 48 tracks at the end of 2012 - the sound quality is better - it's loud, proud and clean for the most part, well done `Not Now Music'. However, I have done a listening comparison and the 2010 'Ace' records 28 track compilation 'Phil Spector - the early productions' has superior, fantastic sound quality overall.

As far as I can see there are a couple of Paris Sister tracks missing from this compilation 'Be my boy' and 'I'll be crying tomorrow' as is `Be my girl' by Ray Peterson and a Sammy Turner track (why?) - there's room on the discs. Sadly as usual there is no booklet only a one sided intro. A couple more niggles - I wish the compilers had put the tracks in chronological order and the artist names were legible on the back cover. With these small things aside, overall, this compilation has lots of tracks that are new to my collection making it a must buy. 8.5/10 - 4.5 stars. Great stuff.
22 comments17 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2015
An interesting 3 CD set, 75 tracks of early Spector productions from the years before the "Wall of Sound" classics. A few showing their age either in content or recording quality but the vast majority very listenable & at around £1.50 per disc (plus P& P) a bargain! Many of the tracks were new to me or only dimly remembered, don't expect "Wall of Sound" grandeur but there are hints of things in come !! Finally a word or two of praise for the Amazon Marketplace supplier "Bobs DVDs" - very rapid fulfillment of my order the CDs arrived less than 24 hours after the order was placed - BRILLIANT SERVICE !!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2013
Great cd just a shame that you can't read the title list. Why do graphic designers have to make the writing so small against a complicated background?
Anyway the music is 5 stars.
0Comment8 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2013
Obviously when you have not heard all the material, at times there is bound to be a little disappointment, but as I tend to enjoy a broad spectrum of music , I would say its not too bad, worth a listen,will possibly grow to enjoy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2015
Good but not as spectacular as I thought - not knowing which tracks were on it , I bought it blind so to speak.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2014
not quite what I was looking for,but that is probably my fault.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
Film directors have always been lionised by their industry, and fans have made household names out of the likes of Alfred Hitchcock, Francis Ford Coppola, and Quentin Tarantino. On the other hand, record producers have tended to operate in near anonymity outside the music business. Phil Spector is a dishonourable - some have said tragic - exception to that rule.

There have been many attempts to anthologize his booming pop productions from the late 1950s and early 1960s. First impressions of this 3CD digipak - that exploits the end of 50 year copyright protection on these recordings - aren't that good: its cover art bears an uncanny similarity to Abkco's highly regarded career overview 1991 - Back To Mono 1958 - 1969; whilst the font size of its minimal sleeve-note is very small. However, it does feature the large majority of the big hits that enjoyed in that brief era, including: Ben E. King's 'Spanish Harlem'; The Teddy Bears' 'To Know Him Is To Love Him'; The Crystals' 'He's A Rebel', and The Paris Sisters' 'I Love How You Love Me'. It is also sprinkled with some entertaining oddities, like Jean Du Shon's jiving 'Tired of Trying' - which is big on the Northern Soul circuit - and The Crystals' politically incorrect ballad 'He Hit Me (And It Felt Like A Kiss)', which was withdrawn by Spector for fear ace song-writing team Goffin-and-King's lyrics would prove to be too controversial for pop-radio.

But there isn't enough quality here to justify 75 tracks, and much of the rest of The Anthology '59-`62 - particularly on Discs 2 and 3 - is surprisingly mediocre, and often quite derivative of other trends of that era, whether they be R&B, soul, or doo-wop. For instance, only the most rabid, and tone-deaf, fan would defend The Castle Kings patronising novelty 'Loch Lomond', and rarities from the likes of The Ducanes and Spector's Three, would be dispensable were it not for their historical significance. The restricted time frame of this compilation doesn't help much either, as it means there's no space for later career highs, such as The Righteous Brothers 'Unchained Melody' and Ike & Tina Turner's 'River Deep Mountain High'. Sound quality on some of these 50 year recordings deteriorates badly in places as well. Kell Osbourne's 'The Bells Of St Marys' sounds like a Mothers Of Invention parody, The Teddy Bears' 'Don't You Worry My Little Pet' a C90 audio cassette being mangled in a car stereo.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2015
Fatally flawed genius.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2013
there is lot of tracks on this that you have probably got, but does it really matter , nice to have few of the teddy bears ,from their album which i do not have myself a good buy at a very good price.
0Comment2 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2015
mostly older songs
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.