Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars KLAUS COMES OUT OF THE SHADOWS......ARE YOU HANK MARVIN?
I have been an admirer of Schulze for decades,he encapsulates the spirit of electronic music,his epic compositions encapsulate true exploration of the genre like no other musician does.

CD ONE.....75.23
1.....Shadowlands......41.18.....A slow start in similarity to tracks on Schulzes previous studio recording"Farscape" full of beautifull melodies,there...
Published 15 months ago by Finbar the looney

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars more the same!
is more the same.
KS compose and play for years the same ideas
but, remains a genius.
should return to the X time....
Published 16 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars more the same!, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadowlands (Audio CD)
is more the same.
KS compose and play for years the same ideas
but, remains a genius.
should return to the X time....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but nothing special, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadowlands (Audio CD)
This release is very much in the same vein as Klaus' recent releases but lacks something. The sequences aren't as attractive as the ones on Big in Japan and the drums are also more understated. This combined with the epic length of some of the tracks with very little happening to hold the listeners interest makes it a disappointment for me. Not his worst release by any means but neither is it a classic. I do sometimes think he could produce a couple of cd's like this every day if he wanted to - get up, go into studio, moody quiet start, fade up tinkly sequence, add drums, twiddle away over the top of this backdrop for 20 or 30 minutes then fade the drums out, then the sequencers and finish off with a few moody majestic sweeps. Have lunch and then do it again, this time with a different tinkly sequence. I do keep buying them though cos there's only one KC!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars KLAUS COMES OUT OF THE SHADOWS......ARE YOU HANK MARVIN?, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadowlands (Audio CD)
I have been an admirer of Schulze for decades,he encapsulates the spirit of electronic music,his epic compositions encapsulate true exploration of the genre like no other musician does.

CD ONE.....75.23
1.....Shadowlands......41.18.....A slow start in similarity to tracks on Schulzes previous studio recording"Farscape" full of beautifull melodies,there is also the muted sound of a flute,or is it Lisa Gerrard,who knows,one thing we do know though,this is a great start to the enigma of Schulzes music and creativity.
2.......In between......17.10......More avant garde then what has gone before,more gloomy,and lo and beyond tin drums! again a majestic performance,which segues into the sounscape that is;
3.....Licht und schatten......17.26......a continuation of the mellow ambience(though not ambient) mood expressed in the previous track,the slower section of the soundscae sounds like "Blue jay way"by the Beatles"in tembre and mood.

CD TWO.....73.19
1.....The Rhodes violin.......55.22....yes your eyes do not decieve you 55minutes long,these reminds me a little of the Portico quuartet,at first,but then the Doors "Riders on the storm"pastiche arrives and permiates a different aura,the mood changes about half way through,and takes us back into more familiar territory,there is some lovely violin playing on this track.
2......Tibetan loops.......17.34.....Starts with some fine radio/white noise effects,and develops herein to again a more abstract soundscape,the mood is solemn and mournful on this Eastern sounding piece,which sounds like something that Chris Karrer would release.

KLAUSE SCHULZE......ELECTRONICS
LISA GERRARD......VOCALS
CHRYSTA BELL......VOCAL
JULIA MESSENGER......VOCALS
THOMAS KAGERMANN.......VIOLIN,FLUTE.

SPV RECORDS
TOTAL PLAYING TIME .....2.28.42

RECORDED......2012
RELEASED.......2013

VALUE FOR MONEY***
PRODUCTION*****
BEST TRACK(S).....Shadowlands,The Rhodes violin,
PACKAGING ......Triple fold,with two plastic trays,

PRODUCED BY KLAUS SCHULZE

This is an album to be listened to carefully,as stated in my review of the new LLoyd Cole/ Hans Joachim Roedelious album,go in with an open mind.
This i fear will not get any new listeners,but will keep his legions of fans happy.
The only complaint i have,and i realised this is not the fault of Mr Schulze,is why are his albums so expensive,and when is the much talked about 50 CD set going to be issued?

The liner notes are in German ,with no traslation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 25 Feb 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Birmingham, West Mids United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this on its release date as I was hoping it was going to be something special, unfortunatly I've heard it all before only this time its been dragged out to tracks 40 or 50 minutes long.
I enjoy much of Klaus Schultze's work but this is just filler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Klaus Schulze "Shadowlands", 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadowlands (Audio CD)
What a disappointment. Is this what we've been waiting almost a year for? I've only given this 3 stars on the basis that the second disc outshines the first which just plods along and gets nowhere. The sooner KS and Lisa Gerrard go their separate ways the better. This is a real low point in Klaus's career.
The second disc has just two tracks, the first 'The Rhodes Violin' is reminiscent of the four part 'Ballett' series which were excellent. The second track 'Tibetan Loops' is interesting and holds the attention. Unfortunately, I think that this second disc is a limited edition which means that only the inferior disc will remain available.
Another downside of this album is that the inner sleeve notes by Christopher von Deylen [?] are in German only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Piece of art..., 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadowlands (Audio CD)
No comments required for Klaus Schulze...genious!...all his works are excellent...Shadowlands has one plus as we have Lisa Gerrard on vocals...a Masterpiece!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing special, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadowlands (Audio CD)
After 'Big in Japan' I was really hoping the music of Klaus Schulze was heading back to the style of the 70's like Mirage, 'X' etc but I was wrong!
Instead we have another avaerage CD with more vocals from Lisa Gerrard and co.
To me disc 1 gets 2 stars and disc 2 gets 3.5.
Disc one starts with a 41 minute track, 'Shadowlights' and is just another Lisa Gerrard track and never really gets going. Tracks 2 & 3 do nothing for me.
With disc 2 you get a 71 minute track 'The Rhodes violin' which starts off really slow and starts to become more interesting at 20 minutes in with sequencers starting at about 27 minutes into the track and is the best track of the album. You just need a lot of time to listen to it! the final track 'Tibetan Loops' does nothing for me either.
I really can't understand how these wailing voices fit it in with electronic music. They would seem more at home in a documentary TV program about the Blue Mosque in Istanbul or similar.
In the analogue days he would use a use choir organ to much greater effect. In those days it was quite haunting and just perfect in those early master pieces he created.
I live in hope that he can do it again one day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is the 'Rhodes Violin' better than the 'Rhodes Elegy'?, 3 Mar 2013
By 
M. Richards - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadowlands (Audio CD)
All Schulze fans have known about this album for a long time.As the release date was approaching, i couldn't find any official reviews anywhere on-line.When i received it[01/03/13] there were two reviews on Amazon giving it the thumbs-down.However,the reviews on Amazon.de were saying quite the opposite-there's favouritism for you!!
Klaus is joined once again by Thomas Kagermann and Julia Messenger,so apart from guitar,the team are in ln place that brought us the brilliant 'Ballet' series and my own personal favourite-'Contemporary Works Vol 2'.Lisa Gerrard is also listed,along with a technical assistant i thought had retired from the electronic scene-Georg Stettner.He worked with Klaus initially on 'Mediterannian Pads' and released two albums in the 90's which were produced by Klaus.He was also a one time member of Software who recorded an album i play regularly to this day:'Fragrance'.
So, what is my opinion of 'Shadowlands'? It's okay,but i think the problem lies with the opening track.At 41 mins it's far,far too long.The track just plods along with no direction,stopping every 10 mins or so with some wailing Lisa Gerrard vocals and starts up again.I've played the album about 5 times before giving my own opinion,and i think that at about the 24min mark the track reaches a climax of sort,Kagermann comes in on vocals and the track could fade out just right.On a more positive note,i've also burned a separate version with track order 2-3-1 which i think plays much better.In direct contrast,the 'Rhodes Violin' at 55 mins plays just right.Also,i think this particular track could have come off the 'Contemporary Works' sessions which is my own personal favourite.
A new Schulze album is obviously a major event in the Electronic world.Without going into an in-depth review of every track, i would sum up by stating that overall i am slightly disappointed .Again,this is my own opinion,i don't like his work with Lisa Gerrard.I much prefer the structured vocal work done with Julia Messenger.I prefer this more organic style-electronics;flute;violin;treated vocals etc rather than over-the-top Mini Moog solos, but overall the album comes witha 'die hard fans only' recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not exciting but quite beautiful, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadowlands (Audio CD)
This review refers to the double album.
My first reaction to Shadowlands was disappointment. The only part I liked on first hearing was 'The Rhodes Violin'. However on 2nd listening, this time through headphones, I realised that actually all the music is really quite beautiful - very relaxing, dreamy and complex.
On the first CD there are no exciting build-ups or climaxes; the music ambles along ebbing, flowing and swirling and the 2nd movement is positively meandering but it does have depth and beauty if listened to with full concentration.
On the 2nd CD 'the Rhodes violin' is quite a treat and has more of a beat and pulse to it especially after the 20 minute mark. The input from Thomas Kagermann is very enriching in both CDs.
With 'Tibetan Loop', Klaus is a bit more playful with some fun sound effects at the beginning and near the end of the movement but they are short-lived and I would describe what is in between as unusual and quite fascinating but not riveting.
So, to sum up, not exhilarating like 'Moonlake' or 'Kontinuum', hence 4 stars not 5, but if you like Klaus's more gentle music it's a must-have.
NB It is well worth the extra money to have the double album as 'The Rhodes Violin' is 55 minutes of real pleasure.
Thank you, KS, this is fast becoming a favourite album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new one from KS, 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadowlands (Audio CD)
Been a KS fan since the start so I am somewhat biased.A really chilled out blissful soundscape.If you liked Big in Japan etc you will groove on this.Mine was preordered & arrived quickly once released.Get it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shadowlands
Shadowlands by Klaus Schulze (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews