Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


103 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection but not complete
This is the most definitive box set of Marilyn Monroe's movies so far, all films are in alphabetical order, mixing her early, small roles with the starring roles she completed during her short career. There's no form to the set, except to collect as much of them together and market them in an eye catching box consisting of the following films:-

All About...
Published on 12 Nov 2008 by F. A. Penney

versus
13 of 47 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is NOT a complete collection
There are 17 dvd's in this collection box. The one that was on the top of my list was not included, so I am disappointed. These 17 are included:
All about Eve
As young as you feel
Bus Stop
Don't bother to knock
Gentlemen prefer blondes
How to marry a millionaire
Let's make it legal
Love est
The misfits
Monkey Business...
Published on 6 Mar 2012 by Heidi Forsberg


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

103 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection but not complete, 12 Nov 2008
By 
F. A. Penney "Fraser Penney" (Edinburgh, Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marilyn Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This is the most definitive box set of Marilyn Monroe's movies so far, all films are in alphabetical order, mixing her early, small roles with the starring roles she completed during her short career. There's no form to the set, except to collect as much of them together and market them in an eye catching box consisting of the following films:-

All About Eve
As Young As You Feel
BUS STOP
DON'T BOTHER TO KNOCK
GENTLEMEN PREFER BLONDES
HOW TO MARRY A MILLIONAIRE
Let's Make It Legal
LET'S MAKE LOVE
Love Nest
THE MISFITS
MONKEY BUSINESS
NIAGARA
RIVER OF NO RETURN
THE SEVEN YEAR ITCH
SOME LIKE IT HOT
THERE'S NO BUSINESS LIKE SHOW BUSINESS
We're Not Married

It's an impressive list but a disapointment not to find The Prince And The Showgirl among the titles or The Asphalt Jungle, as they are available separately and it would have made this set all the more 'Complete'. The DVDs that are here have the extra features that were previously available on disc, they all seem exactly the same as before.
You can't argue with the choice of films though, where else would you find classics like All About Eve, Some Like It Hot, The Misfits, The Seven Year Itch and Gentlemen Prefer Blondes? It's a real slice of Hollywood history.
Nice sturdy box decorated with classic images of Marilyn from the early 50s & this timely release would look good under any Christmas tree!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A perfect selection of films... almost perfectly packaged!, 24 May 2009
By 
D. Brown (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Marilyn Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I got this to have all my favourite Marilyn films collected together in a space-saving and attractive box.

The featured films are well chosen, and diverse enough to give a full taste of her career.

I believe Marilyn was at her best when using her remarkable screen presence and outstanding comedic flair, under the guiding hand of a talented director, and bouncing off a well-known cast to create movie magic, whilst dressed to perfection by designers such as Travilla and Orry Kelly. Which is why my personal favourites are Some Like It Hot, The Seven Year Itch and Gentlemen Prefer Blondes.

Every disc has a bonus feature or two. Trailers, restoration comparisons, lobby cards, newsreels. More than enough to please the casual fan.

Inside the box are three thick clamshell cases - each with a different picture of Marilyn on. So far, so good. They look nice, and mine appear to be fairly well put together. Now comes what is the first downside for me: Inside each of these cases are 5 or 6 discs with the same image as their respective clamshell case. So 6 discs have one picture, 6 have another picture, and 5 have the third picture. They look nice, and there's a consistency, but the image on the disc doesn't refer to the film itself. It's just a small detail, but I imagine that many people may find this irritating - I know I do!

There is a booklet inside, with details of the films (year, running time, etc). Again it looks nice. The only things that let it down compared to "The Diamond Collection" are the quality of paper used, and (again, just a small detail ) I would have liked to have seen some Chapter Listings included. I'd have liked a slightly larger box, containing a slimline plastic case for each film, with the same cover as the individual films (such as in The Alfred Hitchcock collection). This would have made them more resistant to wear and tear, and got all the information on! That's why I only give a four-stars for a five-star collection of films.

In all though, this is as comprehensive a collection as you could ask for, with films that can be watched again and again. If any of these titles aren't on your shelf already, I would definitely invest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!!!!!, 13 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marilyn Collection [DVD] (DVD)
After seeing how expensive this was in another large dvd company I resigned myself to the fact that I may have to purchase individual dvds of Marilyn Monroe before I could build my collection. Couldn't believe how cheap it was on here! Others had the issue with the dvds being in alphabetical order and not in the order of the years they were filmed well I fixed that myself and just put them in order in the boxes no problem! It would have been better if Prince and the Showgirl was one of the movies included but that was ok I purchased it for a cheap price on its own. Overall im very happy with it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 7 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marilyn Collection [DVD] (DVD)
As a big Marilyn fan it's great to have a collection of most of her films, certainly a lot of her big films. The box itself isn't too big and has 3 multiple-dvd cases inside the box and a leaflet with the film details. The DVDs are laid out alphabetically although I generally watch them chronologically. There are a few notable exceptions which is a shame but those that are here are captivating.

Many hours of lovely Marilyn movies presented well, for that 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 31 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Marilyn Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Tis collection has all the movies you can think of, and more. A must have if you love Marylin like me!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent box set, 7 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Marilyn Collection [DVD] (DVD)
An exceptional box set of Marilyn's films, some great films are included such as Gentlemen Prefer Blondes, Seven Year Itch, Niagra, Bus Stop, Misfits etc etc. All working in alphabetical order. The only thing I cannot understand with this set is why The Prince and The Showgirl is left out? There are plenty of Monroe bit-part films in this set and considering she is a lead in TPATS, and it's a pretty good picture, I presumed it surely would be included?! I have no rational explanation for that. Also Asphalt Jungle isn't there, I'll just have to get those 2 separately. All in all it's a lovely set, beautifully presented and hours of Marilyn fun! My favorite discovery so far has been Let's Make Love - Yves Montand is really a great comedian! Any Marilyn fan should get this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money!, 2 Dec 2011
By 
E. Hepburn (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marilyn Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Package arrived early, in pristine condition, with exactly what it says in the title.
Bought for my sister, a lover of old classics, and she's watched all of them multiple times.
Pleased with this collection as it contained some of her favourites from Miss Monroe - although one disk has her appearing as a minor role, and I mean she appears for only a few minutes on the entire film.
Recommend this to anyone with a soft spot for the amazing actress!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent collection for MM fans, 20 Aug 2011
By 
Matthieu Reynaert "Jango" (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Marilyn Collection [DVD] (DVD)
The box is beautiful and the film selection the best of any box I've seen that is not a complete collection. Image quality varies depending on the movies but altogether it's very decent. Contains classics as well as less know films worthy of a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marilyn Monroe collection, 24 Jan 2010
By 
J. Maxwell "jeanie" (Cheshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Marilyn Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This collection was an absolute bargain, containing many early films as well as the more famous. Watching the films you can see the progression of Marilyn as an actress. I love Marilyn Monroe and am fascinated by her life story. I feel that if you are a Marilyn fan then this will satiate your desire for her work. You may have to buy, I think, one extra film to complete the collection, but that in itself is no hardship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Collection, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Marilyn Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This collection is wonderful. Although it was missing the great Prince & The Showgirl (luckily I have it separately on DVD), it still had all the classics and is a wonderful addition to my film collection. The box is elegant and chic, and overall, definitely worth the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa71c7984)

This product

Marilyn Monroe: The Marilyn Collection - 17 Fabulous Films [DVD] [1950]
19.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews