Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars160
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 November 2014
Sissy Spacek plays Carrie White, a 17 year old girl, a loner, who is picked on and bullied, by other girls in her class. Her home life is no better, having a bible bashing mother to contend with, played by Piper Laurie, who won't let her do what she wants or see anyone else. But Carrie has hidden powers of Telekinesis, that nobody else realizes she has. When she gets 'invited' to the prom, by Tommy Ross played by William Katt, (who has been asked by his girlfriend to invite her as a favour) her mother refuses to allow her to go, Carrie is adamant that she will go. Soon she is inflicting her powers on everybody who has been nasty to her.

If anybody who saw this in a darkened cinema for the first time, when first released, who can forget the end scene, and jumping out of their seat. This is a good horror from the 70's with a lot of young actors who would make it big in the not too distant future. The print used for this transfer suffers from minor scratches. Fortunately, they do not detract from the enjoyment of the film. I suspect that when this film was made, there were filters used, as the focus appears soft and misty in some shots, but, because this was intentional, there is no problem.

This dvd transfer is in the original aspect ratio of 1.85:1 colours are normal, and the image is good. According to the box, the soundtrack has been transferred in 5.1 as opposed to it's original mono.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
After all these years this film is still more than worth watching. I do have a bit of a gripe about this DVD though, and that is that I found I did have to turn up the volume quite a bit, as it was too quiet. Based on the Stephen King novel of the same name the story does work better in a visual format such as film than it does in its original book form, this is because of the way the book was written and set out.

I will admit that I do always laugh at the opening scenes of this as the camera pans in a girl's changing room. With all those nubile nude and semi-nude bodies it feels more like the opening to some Seventies porn movie. Although falling into the horror genre this film does actually offer more than that. Apart from the chilling finale, although we can see that Carrie has telekinetic powers this is more centred on a lonely girl who is bullied, not just because she is shy, but also due to the way she acts, due to the upbringing by her mother, who is a Fundamentalist and sees evil everywhere.

Perhaps for younger generations this may be a bit lame as the thing these days seems to be loads of blood and gore from start to finish, with no proper strong story. Carrie is still a great little chiller and Sissy Spacek in the title role really makes it her own and brings the character to life in a thoughtful way.

This disc also includes subtitles, and some featurettes, which may make your overall enjoyment of this a little bit more interesting and entertaining.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2007
This movie has always stayed with me. Yes it's rather dated, and the effects compared to today's are lame, but still it conveys a certain level of genuine creepiness that, well, current horrors rarely deliver. I suppose this comes from the music, Brian de Palma's direction, and the focus on Carrie's relationship with her Christian fundamentalist mother, played wonderfully by Piper Laurie. Ultimately the tension and abuse Carrie has had to endure both at school from bullies, and at home at the hands of her crazed mother, culminate in perhaps one of the most famous scenes in movie history. Its build-up is just as amazing, as it ratchets up the tension immensely to the final "bloody" act.

So, put away your brash, overboard modern day Hollywood horrors ladened with gore and nothing else. If you want a real horror movie that stays with you, that affects you in ways you might not understand, get this movie.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2012
Carrie stands centre stage drenched in pigs blood. Her head lowers and lifts slowly. The screen splits. An ominous hum echoes through the soundtrack as the stage curtains burst into flames behind her. Even writing about this scene gives me me goose bumps. Not because it's scary or because it's a classic horror. It's just so staggeringly beautiful. A total cinematic rejection of realism.

The story of Carrie may belong to Stephen King, but the film belongs to DePalma. This movie is the perfect example of why cinema is more than scripts and performances. DePalma was never just a Hitchcock copyist. His own style is instantly recognizable, an amalgam of many different influences infused with his own instincts. The influence of Hitchcock is there, but is no more evident than the Antononioni of Zabriskie Point or the colour coordination of Bergman's Cries and Whispers. The influence of Carrie was itself felt throughout horror well into the 1980s. This was in lots of ways the last American cinematic art-form to remain committed to set pieces and important scenes rather than mundane realism. Scary is an overrated concept in horror. Nothing is scary after a while, but style and mood transcend the limits and become something else.
88 comments|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
the 70's gave us many controversial and disturbing movies, the censors had
become more leniant allowing stronger material, this movie surely among the
best of that era.
'carrie white' is a naive teen with little understanding of the ways of the
world, at home she is dominated by her restrictive and overbearing mother, and
is frequently the object of verbal abuse by her fellow pupils.
the ring leader has hatched up an elaborate plan to further humiliate 'carrie'
at the school prom setting with her glamorous boyfriend
when the plan is executed in front of the whole school year and teachers, 'carrie'
is mocked by all in attendance, however the sick-joke is about to be reversed.
'carrie' turns her wrath on those who mock her using her powers with deadly effect,
well worth a spin, especially so if you've not seen it before.
The upgrade to the Blu-Ray format has given the picture quality a step-up.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2014
BRIAN DE PALMA'S CARRIE is still a classic thriller/Horror these days, better than the remake
based on Stephen kings novel CARRIE
Brilliant acting from Amy irving, Nancy allen, PJ soles, Sissy spacek and Piper Laurie as the religious Nutcase
brilliant writing and of course brilliant Directing
this U.K. blu-ray release is ALL REGIONS blu-ray it says ABC on back cover
so it has the exact same HD picture quality and same 5.1 Master audio quality as the U.S. blu-ray version
the only big Difference is the U.S. version has no extras at all carried over from the dvd release from years ago
where is this U.K. blu-ray release has all the featurettes from the DVD release

so Definitely buy the U.K. blu-ray of CARRIE if you love this film
I gave it 5 stars for sure, Definitley worth the cash
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2016
The DVD arrived a day earlier than expected. I would recommend buying the "Special Edition" version if you can because the cover image is better than the new one that is on the October 2013 DVD re-issue. The "Special Edition" also has several very good extras, including a "making of" feature that has interviews with nearly all of the main characters. The film is excellent as well with terrific performances from the cast, particularly Sissy Spacek. Well worth the money.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2014
We all know the movie...it's great... already have the dvd so was expecting a litle more on the bluray, it's a bit grainy, seems they didn't restore a lot.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2004
I was looking through my TV guide for something to watch and this film automatically stood out to me. When i told my mum I was going to watch it she recommended it to me, which really surprised me because my mum is not usually a horror movie fan. I am so glad that I did notice this film because it is one of the best films ive seen recently, which considering the films i have watched recently, (One Flew Over The Cuckoo's Nest, LA Confidential, The Shining and other reknown films) is a really amazing feat. Well it may not be as good as One Flew Over The Cuckoo's Nest, but what is? I dont think that it is fair to compare carrie to anything outside of the horror genre so I will say it is up there in the top three horror films I have seen. To sum up that paragraph , VERY VERY VERY GOOD!!!
With regards to the film itself, I was unsure how to feel towards the main character, but ultimately I felt a great deal of sympathy for her. Sissy Spacek's portrayl of the naive and bullied Carrie is truely amazing, and considering she got an oscar nomination for it it proves how remarkable it was, as horror films tend not to be acknowledge by the Academy. This film left me with a great deal to think about and left me feeling tremendously sorry for Carrie and her eventual victims.
The final scenes in this film however are what set it apart from other films. Usually horror films tend to have violence for the majority of the way through, but in this film the beginning is very quiet in terms of violence/horror and until the last 20 or so minuites could be from a film in the drama genre. The contrast is stark and disturbing. The effects are remarkable and considering the age of the film are still very powerful images. The film is worth buying for the ending alone, it is that damned good.
To sum up this entire blabbering on by me, if you like horror films are psycological films, like me, BY THIS FILM NOW.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2015
For a film that is 39 years old still in my book down as one of the best horror films ever made and still shocks me like it was the first time i had ever seen it, Carrie played by the very talented Sissy Spacek and Carrie's mother played by a very talented Piper Laurie, what makes this so great is it isnt very high on blood and gore its more of a disturbing and shocking film and leaves you feeling all sorts of feelings when the film ends, from the bullying to the prom to Carrie's mother who is one of the most disturbing characters i have ever seen on film there is so much in this film that just ticks all the right boxes for a decent horror, this is also my favourite Stephen King film 10/10.

Picture 4.5 out of 5

Sound 4.5 out of 5
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)