Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Make Mine Day
Pure nostalgia! I first saw this Disney masterpiece when it was launched, in 1946, peering through a tobacco-filled cinema, surrounded by an audience almost all in uniform. It thrilled me then and the years have not dimmed its delight, its fascination.
Bobby soxers jiving to the incomparable orchestra of Benny Goodman; the haunting voice of Dinah Shore interweaving...
Published on 25 Feb 2004 by lenfran

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Classic Disney animation from the 1940s
Both "Make Mine Music" (1946) and "Melody Time" (1948) are collections of short animations set to popular music of the time. They are a continuation of the Silly Symphonies of the 1930s, and like them gave the Disney animators a chance to try out new ideas and graphic styles. The most interesting section in this film is "All the Cats Join...
Published on 17 April 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Make Mine Day, 25 Feb 2004
Pure nostalgia! I first saw this Disney masterpiece when it was launched, in 1946, peering through a tobacco-filled cinema, surrounded by an audience almost all in uniform. It thrilled me then and the years have not dimmed its delight, its fascination.
Bobby soxers jiving to the incomparable orchestra of Benny Goodman; the haunting voice of Dinah Shore interweaving with the dancing silhouettes of Riabouchinska and Lichine; the wholly improbable story of two hats that fall in love, but made perfectly feasible by the effervescent Andrew Sisters; the best portrayal of the classic "Peter and the Wolf" story I've ever seen, narrated by the legendary Sterling Holloway (you may not recognise the name, but you'll know this famous Disney voice); and, of course, the great Nelson Eddy recounting the tragic story of Willy the Whale (I cried in 1946 and I wasn't far off it this time either).
I'm afraid those of you who didn't see it in its time won't see it the same way as we oldtimers do, but it's still worth seeing for its colour, its brightness, its superb animation, its flavour of a critical period in a recently bygone time, and for its historical significance marking the beginning of the post-war era of Disney full-length animation. As I said before: "Pure nostalgia!"
Unfortunately, it's only available in US format (Region 1:NTSC), but if, like me, you bought an Amazon DVD player, it's no problem! Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a complete and affordable version of this film!!!, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Make Mine Music [DVD] [1946] (DVD)
"Make Mine Music" is one of the black sheep within the Disney-"Classics"-series. In the United States they only sell an edited version of this film, because of the segment "The Martins and the Coys", which contains gunplay, considered not suitable for children. This is quite understandable, but for a Disney-Fan like me it's very disappointing.
However in the past years a Region 2 version was released... but only in the Netherlands, i think. This version was complete, but because it was the only complete version available worldwide, soon it was very expensive and hard to get.
But on July 15th 2013 everything changed!!! For the first time ever a UK version was released. But nowhere was written if it's the complete film or not. So I posted the matter on the discussion forum, and a nice person helped me and said that it's complete. I ordered it immediately, to see for myself, and it was true!!! All ten segments are there!(Despite the fact that in the description on the back they speak of only nine segments!).

The only funny thing is, that the trailers on this DVD are for DVDs released in 2006... I guess they just put the material from the Netherland version on this disc. But that's not that serious...

There are also 3 shorts on this DVD, two with Mickey Mouse and a "Silly Symphony", which are as pleasant to watch as the main film!

So I can recommend this DVD a 100% for every Disney-Fan!!!

I hope this review answers a lot of questions about this DVD and this particular release. If my review contradicts with other reviews, you should note that all reviews written before the 15th of July 2013 probably deal with the american release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great Disney DVD, 21 Jan 2006
By 
Amazon Customer (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Like reviewer “Lenfran” I saw this as a child when it was first released and agree with everything he says in “Make mine day” and will just add a few comments.
Apparently due to a misguided sense of political correctness or whatever the lively and tuneful “Martins and the Coys” (great fun about feuding hill billy families) has been omitted, why? I saw the unexpurgated version and suffered no ill effects whatsoever.
Some of the sequences are truly beautiful, “Blue Bayou” with its wonderful subtle palette of blue is the most sophisticated animation I think I have ever seen, with “Two Silhouettes” close behind, but this is not a true cartoon as the dancers are live (Riabouchinska and Lichine).
The DVD includes three bonus Silly Symphonies, Band Concert (1935), Farmyard Symphony (1938) and Music Land (1935). These are three superb cartoons, the standout is Farmyard Symphony which is an evocation of farm animals awakening and starting their day, the creativity is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The uncensored version - finally, 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Make Mine Music [DVD] [1946] (DVD)
I find it extremely unhelpful that Amazon chooses to include reviews from multiple editions of the same title.

This review is for the 2013 Region 2 UK DVD release and what collectors will want to know is, does this release contain the first musical section - "The Martins and The Coys" - that was entirely removed from the Region 1 USA Gold Collection DVD release?

The answer is, yes, it is definitely included, although the sleeve notes and chapter titles suggest that it is still missing!

This relatively obscure title is an official entry in Disney's canon of full-length animated features, and as such is an essential addition to any Disney collection.

It contains some wonderful gems including "Peter and the Wolf" and "The Whale Who Wanted to Sing at the Met."

Let's hope that Blu-ray releases of the post-war package features are planned for the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Classic Disney animation from the 1940s, 17 April 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Make Mine Music [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Both "Make Mine Music" (1946) and "Melody Time" (1948) are collections of short animations set to popular music of the time. They are a continuation of the Silly Symphonies of the 1930s, and like them gave the Disney animators a chance to try out new ideas and graphic styles. The most interesting section in this film is "All the Cats Join In", an animation by Fred Moore to swing music by the Benny Goodman orchestra. Probably the only section that will much appeal to kids is "Peter and the Wolf". The rest of the film is really for those of us who like animation, or 1940s music. The video is something of a cheat as one whole section is missing ("The Martins and the Coys"). This omission is neither mentioned nor explained on the cover. It cannot be due to film damage as the whole film was broadcast in the UK in 1999.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A cheated video, 13 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Make Mine Music [VHS] (VHS Tape)
A working man's version of Fantasia, this film is great entertainment. Beautiful animation, terrific music, it's just a shame the people putting the UK video together decided to cut in half the "Casey at the Bat" section and remove totally the "McCoys and the Martins" section. When I bought this video, no mention of these cuts were made evident. When I wrote to Disney in London, they replied that the cuts were made to make the film more "family friendly"! This film was released in 1946. Are Disney really saying the world is so much more innocent than when "Uncle Walt" deemed this film to be released in the first place? I haven't purchased the re-release of "Snow White" yet, but does the wicked witch still make an appearance, I wonder!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An underappreciated gem!, 23 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Make Mine Music [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This title from the Disney studios will be unfamilliar to many. This is entirley unjustified. It is made up of a number of short musical sketches, in the tradition of the better known Disney masterpieces Fantasia and Fantasia 2000. However it should not be regarded as an inferior work. The sketches are just as lovable and the music just as familiar, but it has the additional charm of being less well known. A wonderfull video for children, but parents will enjoy it just as much, if not more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything come to s/he who waits, 13 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Make Mine Music [DVD] [1946] (DVD)
The full version of this film with the deleted scenes reinstated. This is a real treasure from the Disney studios now to be seen as it should be. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a quaintly delightful look at the past, 15 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This Disney classic provides a quaintly delightful trip into the past...No computer generated stuff here but a fine example of the true art of the animator.The musical numbers are also a delight,particularly Dinah Shore's "Two Silhouettes" .
Well worth buying,possibly as a "companion" to Disney's
"Fantasia"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Make Mine Music [DVD] [1946] (DVD)
arrived on time perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Make Mine Music [DVD] [1946]
5.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews