Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series
Very enjoyable series - having read the first three books I had to read the next in the series. It is going to be a bit expensive though because now I want to find out what happens in the next book...and the next! An interesting set of characters all of whom grow and change with every book plus well plotted stories. I am going to have to pace myself!!
Published 10 months ago by Amazon Customer

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
This is the first in a series of historical romances. As such I found it weak in plot and altogether rather disappointing.
Published 16 months ago by Amazon Customer

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series, 12 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tears of Pearl: Lady Emily 4 (Lady Emily Mysteries) (Kindle Edition)
Very enjoyable series - having read the first three books I had to read the next in the series. It is going to be a bit expensive though because now I want to find out what happens in the next book...and the next! An interesting set of characters all of whom grow and change with every book plus well plotted stories. I am going to have to pace myself!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 18 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tears of Pearl: Lady Emily 4 (Lady Emily Mysteries) (Kindle Edition)
This is the first in a series of historical romances. As such I found it weak in plot and altogether rather disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lady emily 4, 7 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tears of Pearl: Lady Emily 4 (Lady Emily Mysteries) (Kindle Edition)
I would recommend this book to any one who likes historical novels. I loved it, it had twists and turns and a quite unexpected ending. Brilliant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fun read, 11 Oct. 2013
By 
D. A. Post (Schiedam, Zuid-Holland Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ok, this story is somewhat improbable in some places. Emily seems to drop in and out of the imperial harem like a grocery store. But nevertheless it's a fun read and the author clearly did her homework on Ottoman Turkey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tears of Pearl, 5 Mar. 2015
By 
E. A. Irwin (Dorset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am reading this book at the moment and am enjoying it, it is a bit worn but it has been a library book it bit more worn than other second hand books I have bought but it will do. I enjoy this series. Anne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bitterly Dissapointed, 22 Nov. 2011
By 
Mama-Ace (Bondi, Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
I really loved the first three 'Lady Emily' books in the series and was truly looking forward to this book. To my dissapointment, I thought it was awful.

Lady Emily is no longer charming, vivacious and willing to learn. She is bossy, self absorbed and selfish to the enth degree. I have no idea what Colin sees in her anymore. I found their relationship in this book tedious and dreary. She's actually becoming a bit painful, and I find that I don't really like her very much.

The mystery in this book was disjointed and silly and I think that Tasha Alexander really struggled to capture a sense of place in Istanbul. The hareem and the characters within were not real to me, and it lacked the realism and pace of her previous book 'A Fatal Waltz' set in Vienna. The culprit was blindingly obvious and the whole 'backstory' a little thin.

All in all, after this book I'm not too sure I will continue to pursue my relationship with Lady Emily, and that makes me a little sad as we started out with such promise!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed the insight into Turkish life. This is another highly entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... a very likeable character and the stories are a delight., 8 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lady Emily is a very likeable character and the stories are a delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Mar. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great story; as always very well told
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but...., 2 Mar. 2010
By 
Joyce Holmes "bookhound" (Lincoln.UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read the first two books in the Lady Emily series and quite enjoyed them, I did not however enjoy this one. The writing is competent but the characters seem to be somewhat less compelling. Did the members of the sultan's harem have the freedoms that appear in this book? I don't know enough to be sure, therefore I feel irritated. I have also lost interest in the further development of Emily, her marriage and her detective skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Star of the East: A Lady Emily Christmas Story (Lady Emily Mysteries Book 10)
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2)   
Buy new£1.49
Available for download now

The Lady Emily Omnibus (Books 1-4): And Only to Deceive, A Poisoned Season, A Fatal Waltz, Tears of Pearl
3.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3)   
Buy new£5.99
Available for download now

And Only to Deceive (Lady Emily Mysteries Book 1)
4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (20)   
Buy new£5.22
Available for download now