Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More than decent biography of a difficult man.
I remember Oliver Reed from the early Hammer Horror films, The Curse of the Werewolf, up until his final performance as Proximo in Gladiator. I always found him to have a dark, charismatic screen presence and he left no-one in doubt of that when he played Bill Sikes in the 1968 film musical Oliver. Proximo might have been the role to catapult him back into the world of...
Published 23 months ago by JK

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Epic Fail
I brought the book as I'm a fan of some of Oliver's films. I was very disappointed by the book, the anecdotes become familiar and over-used 'Olly got drunk, demands people join in, smashed the place up, Reg steps in to stop him getting a kicking, he pays for everything and says sorry, buys everyone loads of drinks and goes home'. Its pretty tragic because until I read the...
Published 10 months ago by Patrick Gorman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what fresh lunacy is this the Authorized Biography of oliver reed, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
THE BOOK IS VERY GOOD i could not put it down and i would recomend to friends and family in reading the book it proves what a good person oliver was not as a person that spent his time being drunk i have always liked oliver reed and i have read several books on him but this is the best i have read, also a good price from amazon for a hard back
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved Oliver Reed, 27 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Fresh Lunacy is This?: The Authorised Biography of Oliver Reed (Kindle Edition)
Great story, very moving, loved Oliver Reed. Please stop asking me for more words or I wont review any more purchases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 12 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Fresh Lunacy is This?: The Authorised Biography of Oliver Reed (Kindle Edition)
Gave a fresh insight in Reeds character. Quite a sad man in many ways. Enjoyed this book and it was worth reading. Would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A STILLNESS IN THE AIR, 24 Aug. 2013
By 
Richard Masloski (New Windsor, New York USA) - See all my reviews
Man's man, Woman's desire, Dog's best friend, Cinema's loss - all this and more, Ollie was an outrageous original, a daring darling, a hell raising wild thing rocker til the very end, crashing the roller-coaster ride of his life as it almost inevitably had to crash, 61 years after first appearing on Life's strange stage, braving and bracing for an overdue, much deserved cinematic comeback with his role in GLADIATOR, the first big film in some time, soon to finish his scenes and go home to the hopeful expectation of more roles in ever bigger ventures, on the day off drinking prodigiously in a Maltese pub, his much younger, devoted, loving wife right beside him as he arm-wrestled a slew of Royal Navy sailors (did he beat any of them, all of them, none?) and then dying but fighting for Life til the ultimate end, his fist banging against the table he was sitting on the floor beside, lifting it with each blow as his huge heart was finally coming to rest. Oliver Reed: actor, arm-wrestler, crazy man, man. He was also Jekyll and Hyde (or Heckyl and Hype) - and the best Werewolf, too - and he wed Heaven and Hell in the arc of his starry, sudsy days. He was mad, bad and dangerous to know (like that long-ago other bad-boy Brit) - and he was marvelous magic in the movies and in his legend - and in this book, alas, yes. Yes.

It is a big book, a good book, an informative book. Great title and great cover, too. Ideally it would have been twice as thick, even more meatier, a total monument. A better balance might have been made between the bawdy, besotted, rascally recountings of Ollie's misadventures as Mr Hyde. More of the gentle Dr Jekyll and his well-intentioned art - who else in all moviedom could have breathed such absolute life into Father Grandier? - for it is first and foremost because of the movies that we know of this man. More of his own autobiography, its genesis and reception and content, which is barely touched upon in this authorized biography. And Ollie loved Jack Palance who had a huge influence on his acting - and he came to do a film with him - yet not a whisper of what one whisperer thought of the other. Small things, big things, so many things unsaid, unwritten, lost. So many things more...more...more - because Ollie himself craved more, more, more of drink and women and celebrity and love and violence and fun and friends. More of Life, Life always, Life everlasting. He wanted it all, embraced the all and as it says on his gravestone in the small, quiet (at last quiet for a life that was anything but!), as it says in stone in that quaintish cemetery in County Cork, Ireland, words first said of Ollie by Orson Welles - "He made the air move."

And as you read this biography, you will yourself be...moved. Moved because near fifteen years after the curtain fell, there remains a certain...stillness in the air.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Fresh Lunacy is This?: The Authorised Biography of Oliver Reed (Kindle Edition)
What fresh lunacy indeed. Fabulous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The legend of Oliver lives on, 12 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book which tells the life story of Oliver Reed which is outrageous, amusing and at times sad.The official autobiography is supported by the late actors family so although very honest it celebrates his life. A great book which provides an honest and at times hilarious account of Ollies life. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for me., 25 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not great. Repeative...one punch up after another. Boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent biography, 20 Dec. 2013
By 
A. Peters (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Fresh Lunacy is This?: The Authorised Biography of Oliver Reed (Kindle Edition)
I had read Oliver Reed's autobiography a few years ago so wasn't sure about this new biography but it is excellent. It gives a fuller picture of the real Oliver Reed - warts and all! I actually feel a lot of sympathy for him now knowing more about his childhood and acting career.
There is more to Oliver Reed than alcohol!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Fresh Lunacy is This?: The Authorised Biography of Oliver Reed (Kindle Edition)
Great book, makes you smile so many times. Just as expected a great read.a great character, not many like him anymore
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best Oliver Reed biography yet., 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Fresh Lunacy is This?: The Authorised Biography of Oliver Reed (Kindle Edition)
Excellent biography which has been thoroughly researched. The reason I gave it only 4 stars was not only for the way this paperless Kindle book was overpriced - I thought the whole point was to make reading cheaper not as expensive as a hardback - but also there were no pictures whatsoever.

This is taking the piss which cheapens and spoils a very good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews