Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Life in tudor England
Ridley's book is a highly readable account of aspects of Tudor England not particularly addressed in any of the standard biographies. If one feels a little squeamish reading the chapter detailing punishments for criminals, then there is plenty of other fascinating information on the road systems, dress, housing, seafaring and pastimes along with a look at Tudor London...
Published on 17 Dec. 2004 by Mrs. D. J. Smith

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Its not an unbiased history, and at times its simplicity is almost childlike. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone wanting to learn about the Tudor period as there are innaccuracies in it. My daughter is 11 and at times I think she could have written bits of this as the language used is so simplistic. Whilst it is titled a brief history and simplicity is therefore...
Published 9 months ago by Lisa Chester


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Life in tudor England, 17 Dec. 2004
By 
Mrs. D. J. Smith "eowyngreenleaf" (Luton, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Ridley's book is a highly readable account of aspects of Tudor England not particularly addressed in any of the standard biographies. If one feels a little squeamish reading the chapter detailing punishments for criminals, then there is plenty of other fascinating information on the road systems, dress, housing, seafaring and pastimes along with a look at Tudor London. A lot has changed in 500 years and this book is excellent for understanding the machinery of everyday life for everyone from King and Queen to peasant.
I do have one complaint about this book though. It seems that no Tudor historian can view the Wars of the Roses period without a severe pro-Lancastrian bias and by looking on Henry VII as some sort of saviour. Ridley makes several mentions of Elizabeth of York having been 'imprisoned' by Richard III at Sheriffhutton (that's Sheriff Hutton to the rest of us), which is nonsense, and does serve to undermine this otherwise well written and researched volume. At this point I was tempted to throw the book across the room in disgust. The opening chronology is useful for reference, but I would assume that anyone picking up this volume would have a basic knowledge of the major events over the Tudor period, so the overview in the first chapter is in my opinion unnecessary, overly basic and if I'm completely honest, just a little bit patronising. Take my advice and skip this bit and get stuck straight away into the interesting stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 9 Jun. 2011
By 
C. Nation "chrisnation" (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book in error. I actually wanted a detailed account of the doings of H.VIII to clear up some liberties taken with historical fact by the script writers of 'The Tudors'. This is not the right book for that.

I found myself in a detailed and comprehensive description of all things Tudor, from taxation to the laws proscribing who may wear what hat made of what material [and we think we live in a nanny state!]

For a broad sweep of life in Tudor times, from sex and marriage to economics and architecture, I found this book really interesting, written with a light touch perfectly suitable for non-academics like me.

Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Life in the Tudor age, 26 Oct. 2014
By 
Douglas Kemp (Northamptonshire) - See all my reviews
This is by no means a conventional political history of the Kings and Queens of the age and their advisors. Rather, the author selects various aspects of the times in a seemingly haphazard manner, including such topics as the state of the highways, costume and fashion and the prevalence of beggars, in a series of mini-essays. The political history of the age is given but a brief coverage, which is no bad thing given the availability of such books already. The chapters cover a wealth of fascinating detail about the Tudor period. These include widespread consumer protection measures that were in place and the detailed legislation that governed the colours and materials for clothing that men could legally wear according to their rank and status in life (women were largely exempt, an attitude which may be reflected in today’s convention of men wearing ties and collars for business and formal occasions, whereas women have much more latitude of expression). There were also very restrictive measures in place to ensure that all able-bodied, low-ranking men worked long hours for little pay. The big paradox, however, is that despite all this intrusive and highly detailed legislation, there was a wholly insufficient bureaucracy or police authority to ensure it was applied throughout the country. There is also a rather amusing tale about the proposed invasion of Scotland by English forces, the logistics of which centred on the availability of sufficient beer supplies for the invading army. This is a good book for anyone contemplating writing historical fiction in the Tudor age, as it gives a authentic and intimate feel of what life was like in those times, not just for the monarchy, but for all classes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Tudor Age., 8 Nov. 2011
I bought this book for my husband. He is a tour guide in a Tudor House, and says it is an excellent reference book for that period. He often dips into it for useful titbits to use when talking to the visitors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 3 Sept. 2010
By 
Patrick Woodley (Suffolk,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book contains lots of in depth information but not to the point of being boring, overall an excellent read and recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brief history of the tudor age, 14 May 2010
By 
M. Diffey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a perfect book to dip into or read in a more leisured way. The chapters are a good size and even for a beginner gives a good overview of Tudor life.
It has a good chronology with plenty of illustrations and I look forward to reading more by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good book, 6 Feb. 2012
By 
R. Dennett "R Dennett" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an important history book! Has lots of meaningful stuff about society and culture, rather than constitution and foreign policy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Brief History of the Tudor Age (Kindle Edition)
Its not an unbiased history, and at times its simplicity is almost childlike. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone wanting to learn about the Tudor period as there are innaccuracies in it. My daughter is 11 and at times I think she could have written bits of this as the language used is so simplistic. Whilst it is titled a brief history and simplicity is therefore required, this lacks clarity and is skewed by it bias so fails to be a history and becomes more a story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit dry but good as a background reference., 8 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Brief History of the Tudor Age (Kindle Edition)
This is a fascinating period in history and this book works well for background scene-setting and 'fleshing out' details to add depth to the reader's knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Book, 15 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Brief History of the Tudor Age (Kindle Edition)
These brief history books work very well for general information on a particular subject but for detailed research you would have to buy something more specialised. I bought because of my Battlefields Trust membership and an interest in the Wars of the Roses so it is more for background to the following Tudor era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Brief History of the Tudor Age
£6.17
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews