Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny book
I really enjoy these types of books and am enjoying this one. Thank you a good read and not to heavy a read, nice and light hearted.
Published 6 months ago by S. JACKSON

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor Grammar, Formatting, and Plagiarism
This book is a reasonable attempt at what life must be like for a police officer, but large parts of the book have been plagiarised from the jokes that float round the internet disguised as "real life emails to police" and so on.
The grammar is poor, and has clearly not been proof read, and the formatting is rubbish - when viewed on black screen, the text remains...
Published 19 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny book, 5 Feb 2014
By 
S. JACKSON "Mutley" (The world!!) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Excuse Me Officer: The Funny Side of British Policing (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoy these types of books and am enjoying this one. Thank you a good read and not to heavy a read, nice and light hearted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor Grammar, Formatting, and Plagiarism, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Excuse Me Officer: The Funny Side of British Policing (Kindle Edition)
This book is a reasonable attempt at what life must be like for a police officer, but large parts of the book have been plagiarised from the jokes that float round the internet disguised as "real life emails to police" and so on.
The grammar is poor, and has clearly not been proof read, and the formatting is rubbish - when viewed on black screen, the text remains black. So much for keeping your night vision then... Jokes are repeated (upto 3 times in one case, and it was barely funny the first time) and the author seems to repeat himself a fair bit as well.
There are far better books out there, don't waste your money on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny and good., 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Excuse Me Officer: The Funny Side of British Policing (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed reading this book. it is very interesting reading what Police officers have to put up with and it is interesting the dumb things people call the police for
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars book about coppers, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Excuse Me Officer: The Funny Side of British Policing (Kindle Edition)
had me in stitches reminded me when \i was a copper about the things that happened for real then. nothing else to say
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Excuse Me Officer: The Funny Side of British Policing (Kindle Edition)
Really funny book. Hilarious insight into policing. I would recommend this book to anyone. I was literally laughing out loud
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Excuse Me Officer: The Funny Side of British Policing (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed reading this book,very interesting and humorous. These books give you a clear picture of what it's like in the police force. I can recommend it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A unique insight, 22 Jan 2013
This review is from: Excuse Me Officer: The Funny Side of British Policing (Kindle Edition)
A great easy story with all the humour but also serious warnings about working life on the job from day one of training to the present day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Humorous insight into our Police Force, 19 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Excuse Me Officer: The Funny Side of British Policing (Kindle Edition)
I very much enjoyed reading this book about the day to day activities of a police officer. And I can understand the feelings of this writer and every other officer with regard to the 20% cuts being made, the shortages of vehicles, staff, redundancies and the loss of so many experienced officers through ill health?

Worry not about the poor grammar, punctuation, bad spelling which abounds through the book, just read, enjoy and worry for our police officers and what the future lies ahead for them on the front line.

I will look forward to the next book, perhaps and maybe not written so much from writing as it comes to mind, but more of a book that has been better thought out and laid out. Andrew, just take your time and slow down. Oh! and as your still in the job, thank you and good wishes.

George and Mildred indeed!!! Really funny that was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Humorous and insightful, 20 April 2014
This review is from: Excuse Me Officer: The Funny Side of British Policing (Kindle Edition)
I actually read this before my husband and found it to be quite insightful and humorous at times. Overall very well put together and an interesting writing style. Makes for an easy and lighthearted read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This could be really good... but it isn't., 29 May 2014
By 
Mr. Dh Welch (Newark UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Excuse Me Officer: The Funny Side of British Policing (Kindle Edition)
I'm sorry to write a bad review: I really am. But this book is so horribly written I really can't give it anything other than one star. With a bit of editing it would probably be a good read - I don't know, as I gave up about 25% of the way in.
The author will be in the middle of a story about rape or domestic abuse or something and then there will be a pun. I don't know if it's an attempt to lighten the mood or whatever but it really jars. The puns can be pretty good ones but they are so out of place the destroy of whole effect. Together with the grammar - which is excusable to an extent, he admits in the forward that it's not his strong suit - it just made the whole thing painful for me to read and I really can't recommend it.
If the author reads this, like I say I'm sorry for the low score, but please get yourself an editor or at least a proof reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews