Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love every recording., 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonesome Dreams (Audio CD)
My son gave me a present of this CD for Xmas and I have not stopped playing it since in my car.
Never heard of them before Xmas. I have told all my friends about this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the year?, 18 Oct 2012
This review is from: Lonesome Dreams (Audio CD)
This is a brilliant album and deserves to be a huge hit. It is one of those rare albums with no dud songs or filler. The harmonies are amazing , and blend perfectly with some great guitar playing. My favourite tracks were ghosts on the shore and lullaby. Buy this album and bore your friends by keep talking about it! He also has two great ep's out too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lord Huron - Dreams and schemes, 6 Jan 2013
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lonesome Dreams (Audio CD)
Were you to put the name "Lord Huron" into a musical thesaurus then the name of the the Fleet Foxes would undoubtedly appear. Certainly there is no denying that if Robin Pecknold took this band to court for the opening track "Ends of the Earth" the judge would undoubtedly throw the book at the former and award damages to the Fleet Foxes songwriter. But once you get into the meat of the album the comparison is rather perplexing since any influence-sleuth who gives the excellent "Lonesome Dreams" a spin could argue that this is no Seattle influenced one trick pony and that Ben Schneider the resident clever bod behind it has assembled an album full of soaring harmonies, nice pastoral narratives and a ear for a very fine tune. He supported in this task by a fine cast of supporting muso's including Mark Barry (percussion and vocals), Miguel Briseno (bass and percussion), Brett Farkas (guitar and vocals) and Tom Renaud (guitar and vocals). Those looking for wider references will find them throughout "Lonesome Dreams" thus on some songs you get a snatch of My Morning Jacket ("She lit a fire" which is a real standout), on others a frisson of Animal Collective ("Time to Run") and finally that sort of percussive driven rock that Yeasayer have only mastered in parts ("Brother"). The latter track is an mightily infectious and rumbustious mix of African sounding rhythms and drums plus a strong if rather nasally vocal from Ben Schneider. But it is the glorious last track on this album "In the wind" which impresses most. It starts with a humming electronica and soft vocal backdrop and then pounds into a huge anthem with a melody so strong it could lift weights and is genuinely lovely.

Check out in addition the excellent "The Man who lives forever" where Paul Simon's "Gracelands" influence again lurks deeply within the densely layered percussive backdrop which is powered forward by a lovelorn lyric of youthful wonder. The heavy reverb of the sumptuous "Lullaby" recalls Jim James circa "It Still Moves" but there is enough distinct character about it to make it stand out from the crowd. Equally "Time to run" is a essentially a joyous pop song which shifts along at pace and will defy you to keep your body still. In this song may also lie the source of Lord Huron's musical distinctiveness not least their enthusiasm for tapping into the rhythms of world music and aligning them to the sort of indie folk which has dominated the airwaves in recent years. Ultimately you sense that if this band can build on the foundations of songs as strong as "The ghost on the shore" then this band will have a huge future. There is much within this album that is to be commended and the balance sheet is firmly in surplus. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gently mind-expanding, 16 April 2013
By 
Rob Phippen (Romsey, Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonesome Dreams (MP3 Download)
I like this album primarily for the wonderful sense of space it manages to convey. Although I think I have to classify this as 'Americana', it's really good stuff. The term 'soundscape' is pretty appropriate. Excellent decompression music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The real thing?, 18 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. Nigel Harvey (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonesome Dreams (Audio CD)
I gave this album 5 stars because I was so impressed by it's maturity and breadth of vision as a first album from Lord Huron. The music is familiar yet somehow new, the lyrics deal with big issues and personal reflections, and to my ear there's not a bad track on the album. There are clearly echoes and comparisons to be made - think Fleet Foxes, Low Anthem, Arcade Fire, and you're somewhere in the right place. But there's also echoes of Everley Brothers-style country rock, and a respect for a musical ethic that may be considered by some as 'old-fashioned' but which roots this set in a popular musical tradition that goes back 50 years or so. Perhaps this comes out as memorable tunes - each song has a hook line, they are easy to sing along to after a couple of listens and get stuck in your head. This band also clearly have a sense of place - the lyrics constantly refer to lakesides and wide open spaces. There's space in the music too, and all the songs have something open about them, a celebration. I've already recommended this album to friends who share a love and knowledge of modern music. This album doesn't break any boundaries or set music off in any new direction. Mainstream it may be, but it makes a solid contribution to a genre and style of music which is already popular, and Lord Huron can quickly claim a place alongside established performers such as Fleet Foxes. Looking forward to seeing them live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Group., 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonesome Dreams (Audio CD)
Amazing CD and Lord Huron really ought to do a tour to the UK. Brilliant music, can't stop listening to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonesome Dreams (Audio CD)
Wonderful melodies. Great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rhythmically franetic, 8 April 2014
This review is from: Lonesome Dreams (Audio CD)
Lonesome Dreams
Lord Huron is the moniker for Michegan based Folk/Rock singer/songwriter Ben Schneider.
In his debut album, "Lonesome Dreams" He brings the listener a treat of great sweeping cinematic soundscape. Lyrically, Painting simple pictures of love lost and found.
Musically so rhythmically franetic, I defy you to keep still while listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite album of 2013 by a Country Mile, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonesome Dreams (Audio CD)
I bought this album in January last year and have barely listened to anything else since. I also saw them live on their UK tour and the set was as good as anything I've seen in the last decade.

I'm not sure I fully agree with the Fleet Foxes comparisons although I do understand why - my feeling is that Lord Huron are fairly unique delivering what I would describe as 'Feel Good Americana'. It's an uplifting set of tunes for sure and I would recommend delving back into their catalogue to pick up the track 'Stranger' if you find yourself enjoying this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonesome Dreams (Audio CD)
This is probably my favourite album of this year, absolutely brilliant music for listening to anywhere. I've had the album a while, and only really started actually listening to the lyrics recently, and they're brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonesome Dreams
Lonesome Dreams by Lord Huron
Buy MP3 Album£7.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews