Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What the world is waiting for...
Those of you who are criticising this as a "cash-in" are missing the point. The tracks on this CD have all been remastered from the original master tapes and as such are sonically far superior to the other Roses CDs, particularly the debut album and the earlier 'Complete Stone Roses' compilation. Both of these CDs sound flat and lifeless by comparison despite the...
Published on 15 July 2007 by P. Philips

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
great memories of manchester
Published 1 day ago by Gary Derbyshire


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What the world is waiting for..., 15 July 2007
By 
P. Philips (Sutton Coldfield UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Those of you who are criticising this as a "cash-in" are missing the point. The tracks on this CD have all been remastered from the original master tapes and as such are sonically far superior to the other Roses CDs, particularly the debut album and the earlier 'Complete Stone Roses' compilation. Both of these CDs sound flat and lifeless by comparison despite the wonderful music. As well as including most of the best tracks on the 1st.album, there's a number of non-album tracks like 'One Love','What the world is waiting for','Sally Cinnamon',etc.
'Elephant Stone' and 'I am the resurrection' are both the full-length versions too. Obviously a compilation like this isn't going to please everyone, but this really is wonderful timeless music.
All we need now are proper remasters of the debut, Second Coming, and also the Complete Stone Roses compilation.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exactly what it says on the label, 18 Aug. 2005
If you're wondering which album to buy then dont falter in buying this one because this album satisfies from start to finish. This album has the full version of I Wanna Be Adored- one of their best tunes. There are few albums which dont disappoint at some point and this album stands out in the minority. If you're looking to complete your collection then this is a must buy or if you've never heard the Stone Roses before then this is all you'll ever need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One for all, 16 Sept. 2004
By 
P. Hawkes "philip" (Durham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Beautifully packaged and remastered version of the Stone Roses' best album tracks and their singles. Informative and attractive booklet with discography included.
Nothing new in terms of musical content but the ideal one-buy Stone Roses CD for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remastering is outstanding!, 7 May 2014
You don't have to be a stereophile to notice - it's a glaring difference. Listening to She Bangs The Drums off their self-titled debut CD versus the same song on The Very Best Of is night and day. Pretty much everything sounds better on The Very Best Of when compared with the debut album (or collections of singles/b-sides). However, the songs included from the Second Coming were already near-perfect recordings on the original CD so there are no noticeable differences in terms of improvements due to remastering, etc. Song selection was as good as can be expected given they wanted to keep it down to 80 minutes. Even cutting out the extremely long intro to Breaking Into Heaven is forgivable for this reason. Flaws: While I certainly find Sally Cinammon (from The Compete Stone Roses) to be a below average song of inferior recording quality, they worked such wonders on it here that I can somewhat enjoy it on this CD. However, I would still jettison this song in favor of Shoot You Down. It is the only song that really needs to be on this CD that is absent. There are also better songs they excluded from the Second Coming in favor of Begging You, but that is opinion whereas Sally Cinammon is a horrible pick in the opinion bordering fact catagory for a Very Best Of.

Overall feeling about this CD: I previously owned all their offerings and did not get a "deal" price-wise, but still thought I made a great purchase. This is the best sound quality and representation mainly of their 2 "real" albums The Stone Roses & The Second Coming with a few other tunes (singles/b-sides) thrown in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best bands, ever!, 23 Nov. 2002
This album is a must own for anyone who does not have either of the bands previous albums.
As mentioned in another review, several classic songs are omitted, primarily from the Second Coming album which is anything but "inferior".
The shortening of some of the songs is a shame in most cases, in the case of Breaking Into Heaven, however, it is probably for the best!?
If you have got the cash, I would recommend buying the original albums rather than this one. If, however, you don't want to shell out too much cash then this 'best of' would be well worth buying.
Be warned, though! You will probably end up buying the original albums aswell, just to see what you are missing out on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars late to party, 31 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not being a listener to the radio , or a watcher of tv musical programmes , I don't get to hear much new music , just the odd snatch here and there , which is what happened with the Stone Roses , liked what I heard , found this album at a bargain price on Amazon , so took a chance and bought it , wow what a treat it is , I had heard of this group but never heard them , if you understand what I mean , I am a 50 's Rock ' n ' Roll person basically , although I have a large eclectic collection , ranging from Bruce Springsteen ( the best ) , through Classical , Blues , Jazz , Pop etc , I consider myself fortunate to have , at long last , come to the Stone Roses , because they are very , very talented musically , with some great songs that meld several musical strands into a very melodic and exciting blend , they have gone straight into my personal favourites , if you have not heard them , give them a listen , they get better with every play !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What The World's Been Waiting For, 5 Nov. 2002
At long last we finally have a "Best of" compilation from the greatest band of all time. Unlike "The Complete Stone Roses" this compilation includes tracks from The Stone Roses' triumphant yet somewhat underrated album "Second Coming".
The album opens in true Stone Roses style. The fantastic introduction to "I Wanna Be Adored" brings the same excited anticipation as sitting on an airport runway, waiting to begin what promises to be an experience of a lifetime. Indeed, this is what you get.
Fans of the Stone Roses will be pleased to see the best tracks from their "pop-rock" era (She Bangs the Drums, Waterfall, Sally Cinnamon) as well as their more mature, more classic rock tunes (Love Spreads, Breaking into Heaven). Of course the album had to include perhaps the best known and most undeniable nomination for a classic by the band, "Fools Gold".
The biggest disappointment about the album is that it can't last forever and therefore some magnificent tracks like Sugar Spun Sister, Tightrope and Mersey Paradise had to be omitted. The time constriction has also taken its toll on the Stone Roses' love for incredibly long tunes which had to be abbreviated, unfortunately.
The Stone Roses are no longer together so there is of course, no new material on this album. In the eternal quest by fans of the Stone Roses to own every recording by the band there will be a core of die-hard fans who will by this album for the sake of it. Having only recorded two albums (excluding Turns to Stone and the Garage Flower), anyone already owning Stone Roses material might be better off giving this one a miss if they want more Stone Roses for their money.
However, the Very Best of The Stone Roses is ideal for anyone who, for whatever reason, does not yet own anything by the band. This album would make a terrific addition to any CD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fully Re-Mastered Genius!, 12 Jun. 2012
By 
I originally got this album in 2002 but my copy was scratched from various moves, so with the boys back together again this has come at a perfect time. This version comes fully remastered by John Leckie in 2012 (original album tracks remastered for the albums 20th anniversary, and additional track done this year)and the sound quality is incredible...you can hear the individual genius of each of the band members so clearly.

For a band with only 2 albums (so far!) it is pretty incredible that there would be even more tracks that should be on this, but for a 1CD Best Of, this is spot on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buzzin!, 29 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Can't believe some people have actually given this 1-star. Yes it is probably a cash-in, but as cash-in's go it's a pretty good one. Fully remastered tracks, none album tracks, extended versions of some songs. Comes in a very attractive fold out album including some great artwork. If this is ripping me off, then rip me off all you want.
Just wish there was a longer version of - I wanna be adored - 4.51 is no where near long enough.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Indie Band of the highest quality I will always ..., 10 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Stone Roses (MP3 Download)
An Indie Band of the highest quality I will always be listening to. I saw these guys in concert last year and they were tremendous. I would imagine that a lot of new bands today would be influenced by the Roses expertise in how they perform. However it is about time we had some new music from this band. Rock on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best Of The Stone Roses
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews