Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Things get personal at Pearson & Hardman!
I didn't think it was possible, but Suits Season 2 is even better than Season 1. Whilst Season 1 focused a lot on the cases and the law suits, Season 2 gets personal. David Hardman (Yeah, Hardman as in 'Pearson & Hardman') is back and he means business. Hardman left the firm years ago after he was caught embezzling company money, something Jessica (Pearson) kept quiet as...
Published 12 months ago by Laura Hartley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as great as season one
It's good, but I didn't love it, like I did season one, still I'll watch season three when it is released.
Published 10 months ago by crystal gaye philip


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Things get personal at Pearson & Hardman!, 21 Sep 2013
By 
Laura Hartley (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Suits - Season 2 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I didn't think it was possible, but Suits Season 2 is even better than Season 1. Whilst Season 1 focused a lot on the cases and the law suits, Season 2 gets personal. David Hardman (Yeah, Hardman as in 'Pearson & Hardman') is back and he means business. Hardman left the firm years ago after he was caught embezzling company money, something Jessica (Pearson) kept quiet as long as he left the firm, but after the death of his wife, he's back, claiming that he's a new person. Whilst Harvey and Jessica remain skeptical of this 'new' Daniel, the rest of the company seems to have been won over by him and rumours of takeovers start to arise.

All the main characters have got issues going on both at work and in their personal lives so there's so much more drama in season two. Harvey, Mike, Jessica, Rachel, Donna and Louis all face hardships and there's a lot of tension between characters as people start choosing sides between Jessica and Daniel. I felt that the plot was much, much better in season 2 because the added element of each character's personal lives made the show even more interesting to watch and made sure that season 2 stepped it up a notch from season 1. That said, the majority of the action still takes place in their working environment and the plot has been cleverly crafted so that both the personal and the professional are seamlessly interlinked so there's not risk of this descending into a soap opera type drama.

Despite the fact that things get a lot more serious in this season, this show is still really funny. There is a brilliant fusion of humour and drama here so you find yourself either gripping the edge of your seat or chortling to yourself. The fact that there is an element of humour to this show is definitely one of the reasons that it's so successful as it lightens the serious tone ever so slightly. I don't know how the scriptwriter has done it but the tone of the entire show is kept perfectly balanced so that it doesn't become too melodramatic or too comic.

The cases in each episode are all really fascinating so if you're someone that's interested in law this show has a sort of extra learning element to it too. Prior to watching Suits I had absolutely no interest in the law or becoming a lawyer but now I am. You find that you learn a shockingly large amount about the law and how court cases work by watching this show as it doesn't shy away from using professional and technical language. That said, this doesn't alienate those that don't understand these terms as each scenario is set up in such a way that it's obvious what's going on.

Fans of Mike and Rachel will go gaga this season as their romance heats up. Mike and Rachel's relationship goes up and down like a yo-yo which although slightly irritating, keeps fans on their toes. The sexual tension between the pair is undeniable and everyone knows that they're going to get together at some point, but the question of when and how is something elusive. This season is definitely sexier than the first with lots of different character finding themselves in romantic situations. The romance has by no means become a major theme of this series or anything, but it is a steady plot strand that runs throughout.

Harvey is just as sexy as he's always been, flirting with anyone that's caught his eye, but you see a completely different side to Harvey as we learn about his personal life. There is definitely another dimension to Harvey and he proves that is not always work, work, work, but don't worry, hard-as-nails Harvey who doesn't take cr*p from anybody is still there.

The acting is still phenomenal and thoroughly realistic. With emotions running high in this series, each and every actor demonstrates his/her broad range of talents in a variety of different situations. Each character feels so real, and I could totally imagine all of them existing in real life. Harvey, played by Gabriel Macht, is most definitely the star of this show with his cool exterior and suave suits. He is the reason why most people start watching the show and continue to watch it after that.

If you're a fan of good drama and good acting, then this is the series for you. If you loved season 1, then season 2 is a must-watch as things get personal and there are even better cases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whens season 3, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Suits - Season 2 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
What can i say, glued start to finish, how long do i have to wait for S3 to come out?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars so much better than the mutilated versions broadcast by "Dave"!, 18 May 2013
By 
Chris Hopton (Ipswich, Suffolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Suits - Season 2 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
If you've had an opportunity to watch Suits Series 2 only on "Dave" I'd strongly recommend that you buy the DVD set. I have been shocked to discover how mutilated each episode has been which appears on Dave. Given the importance of word-play and verbal repartee to Suits, watching the episodes on DVD has been a revelation: the episodes make better sense, are more coherent, and are much more intelligible. I think it's a shame that there has been such heavy and clumsy redaction by Dave, just to create space for their banal advertising.

Compared with Series 1, the tone in Series 2 has been more serious and the relationship between Jessica and Harvey, to my mind, unpleasantly fractious at times. I preferred the lighter, more frivolous tone of the first series. Having said that, unlike some other reviewers, I liked the adversarial combats between them and Daniel Hardman (played with such evident relish by David Costabile!). I look forward to Series 3 but will skip the Dave broadcasts and inevitable mangling, and wait for the Series to be released on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Series 1 was better, 15 July 2014
By 
I appear to be the odd one out in this review as I don't think series 2 is anywhere near as good as series 1. When I watch a series about a legal firm I expect at least some law to come into it somewhere. This series seems to be all about in house fighting and very little about actual cases.
Having said all this I still enjoyed the characters and Harvey and Mike bounce off each other brilliantly. I am patiently waiting for Season 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'd give it 10..., 7 Mar 2013
By 
This review is from: Suits - Season 2 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Simply brilliant. Following on from Season 1, where the characters were introduced to the viewers, Season 2 has enabled the development of individuals and relationships. Like season 1 it remains slick and cool, leaving you gripped and grinning from the very first minute... always leaving me feeling... I should have become a lawyer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mixed impressions, 15 July 2014
By 
This review is from: Suits - Season 2 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Again, as with series 1, I was overcome by the sheer style of "Suits" in plot, script, acting, tempo and appearance.

At its best it is tremendous. I think that it is certainly at its best in series 2 up to the half-way mark, maybe slightly beyond (say about episode 10), but from then on it seems increasingly short-breathed with too many over-intense mini-climaxes.

Also, the formula is becoming a bit more obvious, in the way in which Mike's brilliance in the context of the law is counterbalanced by his regular and repeated poor choices in other areas of his life. I found I was just waiting for the next screw-up of his life outside the office, and sure enough it came. Even the most unimpeachable and perceptive characters are seen to be capable of a poor judgment-call, on occasion, though, which is refreshingly true-to-life, and the development of a character like Rachel, who grows in depth and stature, is an amusing contrast to those like Mike and Louis who seem (outside the field of law) to be very slow learners!

There is so much that is excellent, that, even with definite reservations about the second half of the series, I can still give it 4 stars. First class entertainment, even if (see above) there is some lack of substance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved the second season! Don't miss this!, 9 July 2014
By 
Once I watched Season 1, all within about a week, I couldn't wait to get started on Season 2. I can't believe I didn't discover this before. What a great show! Season 2 gives us more details on the characters themselves, along with lots more court cases and wheelings and dealings. The writers did such a great job with these characters and their unique personalities. I immediately went and watched the third season after this, thanks to Amazon Prime. I hope the show goes on for many more seasons, since I've become a great fan. Two thumbs up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely get this, you cannot go wrong., 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There's nothing that anyone can criticise about Suits. It's MadMen for the contemporary age and not a nostalgic look at the 60s. Nice as MM is it's good to see it brought up to date. Sharp suits, well written, excellently acted, and emotionally charged.

Watch out for Donna, she can read your mind before you've even thought it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I think it's brilliant and deserves to be up there with all the ..., 6 July 2014
By 
P. S. Fletcher (manchester uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think it's brilliant and deserves to be up there with all the top series like 24 , it's so different to the rest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Suits - Season 2 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Great show!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Suits - Season 2 [DVD] [2012]
Suits - Season 2 [DVD] [2012] by Patrick J Adams (DVD - 2013)
£10.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews