Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Careful which one you order
There are currently 2 different editions of the Elements of Style commonly available on Amazon. One is a poorly formatted copy of the Public Domain version of the work, attributed only to William Strunk jr. The other is the revised edition of the work edited and expanded by E.B. White.

Be careful which version you buy.

I made the mistake of picking...
Published on 21 May 2009 by Clever Spud

versus
36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Classic advice, poorly typeset. Buy a print copy instead.
This was my first purchase via Kindle and could well be my last. An appealing price compared to a paper copy attracted me to this version, but frequent typesetting problems and other display errors make it poor value.

A suitable example from chapter II section 16 as it appears on Kindle (before wrapping to the width of the window):

"... The subject...
Published on 2 May 2011 by qubiq


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Dated and prescriptive., 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elements of Style (Kindle Edition)
If you want a set of set of rules to help you write as if you are living in the 1920s, this is the book for you. There is some standard practical advice on brevity and precision in writing, which is good as far as it goes, but a lot of the suggested phraseology is very dated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book is not to be described., 25 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elements of Style (Paperback)
One should just read it and keep it by one for regular reference. Perhaps the bible on good writing. It is brief, succinct and a very good little book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Archaic, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elements of Style (Kindle Edition)
Yet good value. You'll know which rules to use and which no longer apply. Buy it immediately; read it repeatedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely useful!, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elements of Style (Kindle Edition)
I regularly consult this book - it is very clear and well explained. It really highlights the key issues for improvement and opens your eyes regarding how to structure your writing. A great guide to good writing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Writer's Jewel, 24 Feb 2014
By 
Sheila M. Belshaw "Sheila Mary Belshaw" (UK, Menorca & Cape Town) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elements of Style (Kindle Edition)
This book is a must for every writer, young, old, published or unpublished. In a few succinct words you will learn the secrets of grammar and syntax in a way that you have never heard before. It is a book I dip into frequently and am always thrilled to find that each time I read it my writing gains something new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elements of Style, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elements of Style (Kindle Edition)
Its a wonderful, easy to understand guide book for any writer. It is recommended by Stephen King and I found it just as enjoyable as he said it would be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Gem, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elements of Style (Kindle Edition)
I came across this american book totally by chance when someone mentioned it on a web forum I contribute too.

Don't be put off by its age or the fact that it is American. It is as good a book on getting English correct as you will find. Enjoyable, readable and a mine of information for those who want to get it right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A little gem, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elements of Style (Kindle Edition)
i was handed a copy of this book when I joined a major accountancy firm 35 years ago. We had to produce written reports that looked professional and this book addresses a lot of issues about written style and grammar. In truth, it references a way of writing that may today be seen as archaic and in the age of SMS and Twitter maybe the whole thing is irrelevant, but if like me, you care about how you write, this will be a useful tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful guide, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elements of Style (Kindle Edition)
Found this book was clear and a necessary length. Great tips on grammar, punctuation and style. Great book for writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Interesting Read, 6 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elements of Style (Kindle Edition)
This is quite a short book but it gives lots of tips/ideas on how to structure your writing to make it easier to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elements of Style
Elements of Style by William Strunk Jr.
0.36
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews