Customer Reviews


240 Reviews
5 star:
 (185)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
This is an excellent series of stories of the bible easy to understand,very easy to follow lovely tearful ending and I recommend this to anyone interested in understanding about the bible this is directed by the same guy who was in Jesus of Nazareth which is also such a DVD
Published 15 months ago by Justine

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Bible - TV Miniseries
To my disappointment there is al lot of sadistic violence in it and quite a few scriptural insurances.THIS DOES Not to take away of the beautiful message of the life of Jesus Christ portrayed and of the many scriptures quoted in the movie. The "special section" of the behind the scene of the making of the movie was very interesting and beautiful to watch...
Published 15 months ago by M Ravagnan


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 12 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent series of stories of the bible easy to understand,very easy to follow lovely tearful ending and I recommend this to anyone interested in understanding about the bible this is directed by the same guy who was in Jesus of Nazareth which is also such a DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic series, 15 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I saw this series advertised on channel 5 but missed the first one.
Then i taped the second and found my self behind with it all. so i bought
this item. and i have loved it; even if you are a Christian watching this
don't get hung up on a few; different mistakes if you like; if you are not
a Christian but like Biblical films you will love this. The point is that the message
of Jesus Christ is out there; so that's great stuff. Fantastic series and now that
i own them on disc i can watch them again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holy Bible goes Gladiator!, 4 Dec. 2014
By 
LORD BEAU (London, England.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How do you go about turning the Bible into an `epic miniseries'? How do you translate the greatest story ever told onto the small screen?

The producers must have known what a mammoth task they were undertaking. The result is a cross between a children's illustrated bible and Gladiator. We are reminded that the Bible is not pretty. Blood and butchery combine awkwardly with beautifully-filmed lush backdrops, and for good measure, there's a wooden script and some camp overacting. Nevertheless, one can but marvel at the achievement of the film-makers and the unending power of the original texts.

When selecting which parts of the Bible to use in 12 one-hour-long films, something had to give. Notable by their absence: the writing on the wall from the Old Testament, and from the life of Jesus: the presentation in the temple as a child and Jesus getting lost in the temple. The death of John the Baptist is mentioned though the circumstances behind it are somewhat glossed over.

Despite the stirring music and rolling landscapes, this is not a watered-down nor bedtime-reading version. Sacrifice, war, and man's inhumanity to man are common themes. Nevertheless, many questions are thrown up: was Jesus destined to die? Was it as the result of Judas' betrayal or John the Baptist's publicity that things ended the way they did?

Notable by their gigantic on-screen presence: Samson, in a particularly memorable performance, and Jesus himself: brown and Middle Eastern as a toddler, fair-skinned and somewhat clichéd as Christ himself, complete with an air of mystery, a foreign accent, and a mystical take on all things.

The stories included from the Old Testament include the majority of what Abraham and Moses did for the Jews, and a powerful re-enactment of the sacrifice of Isaac, the destruction of Sodom, and the parting of the Red Sea, all skilfully handled. Also on the disc are stories from the time of Joshua, Samuel, Jeremiah, Saul, King David, Samson and Delilah, Nebuchadnezzar, Daniel and the lions. The New Testament presents a particularly repulsive Herod ordering the slaughter of the innocents, and Pontius Pilate is shown in a fairly bad light, as a ruthless thug with little sympathy shown in his character, and every inch the pantomime villain.

Some of the in-your-face- violence means you need to be selective in which bits you show younger children though I doubt that many will feel that `The Bible' is too adult in its take on the world's most famous book (or collection of books). It is a colossal achievement, despite its unavoidable shortcomings, and a worthy five-star recipient. The Blu-Ray discs are rich in detail and colour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the bible series, 31 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found it absolutely great! the special effects are really what I've always longed for in making the bible & it's characters come alive. I bought it for a family member as a new year's gift after she saw the television series & was so impressed by it. I watched the dvd's myself first before I gave it to her to make sure it was the right ones as seen on television & I couldn't stop watching until I've seen it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a message - delivered to a screen near you?, 29 Jan. 2014
By 
P. scarbro (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This retelling is superbly portrayed and accurately tells parts of the best-selling book of all time... The Bible. Buy it, enjoy it, learn from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Bible brought to life, 15 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent piece of work, bringing the Bible to life for the average viewer, whether or not they are believing Christians. It seems to be authentic in costume, setting and the lifestyle of the times. I didn't particularly enjoy some of the violence and gruesome details but I prefer that to the sanatised versions we often see. I did not think the portrayal of Jesus conveyed His strength of character.It reminded me of the images in a Victorian illustrated Bible.
The film gives an outline of the Bible covering all the main events, but inevitably having to make slight changes to some stories in order to compress them to a suitable length. It certainly drove me to the Bible to read again and check the accuracy of some parts I thought I knew but didn't. I hope it will encourage other people to do the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 27 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent film that covers most of the story of bible. If you didn't read this holy book you should at least wach this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 29 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Movie is great!if someone is thinking about buying this dvd I can highlight recommend!Also Great service!I can recommend!no problem!quick and reliable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Miniseries!, 4 May 2013
By 
J. Bonner - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This miniseries of The Bible is a must have. It covers everything from Abraham to Joshua to Samson right through an incredible depiction of Jesus' life and beyond. Made by husband/wife team Roma Downey (Touched by an Angel)and Mark Burnett (Survivor), they have clearly spared no expense in bringing the Bible to life. And with Roma Downey playing Mary too!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Bible - TV Miniseries, 21 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To my disappointment there is al lot of sadistic violence in it and quite a few scriptural insurances.THIS DOES Not to take away of the beautiful message of the life of Jesus Christ portrayed and of the many scriptures quoted in the movie. The "special section" of the behind the scene of the making of the movie was very interesting and beautiful to watch especially the part on how they search and found the right actor to play the part of Jesus and the beautiful relationship between him and the producers, which gives them credit for doing such production which will be a source of encouragement to many, especially of the new generation. Another thing that I like is that in this Bible mini series collection there are several Biblical topics covered that are not, to my knowledge, covered in other Biblical movies.
And finally I was very impressed and touched by the Moroccan appearances/actors which are obviously captivated by the movies and even visibly personally touched. (In fact many bible movies have been filmed in Ouarzazate, Morocco, in the past several years, like this one has.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews