Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lady Sings The Blues?
I love the Blues in all it's forms, I also love Billie Holiday, but she probably wasn't really what you would call a blues singer! A great initiative Jazz singer yes, one of the best female Jazz singers certainly, some people might even say (me included) the very best. It's hard to compare her with Ella Fitzgerald, or Sarah Vaughan say, so it has to got to come down to...
Published 21 months ago by Mr. G. Fleming

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'Sanitised' Billie
A great selection of American classics sung as only Billie could. Track 2 on Disc 2 'Love for Sale' is perhaps the most evocative of her trademark Blues style. Overall, a good album but maybe not for true Lady afficionados.
Published 23 months ago by Mrs. Linda V. Fogler


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lady Sings The Blues?, 31 May 2013
By 
Mr. G. Fleming (Doncaster) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love the Blues in all it's forms, I also love Billie Holiday, but she probably wasn't really what you would call a blues singer! A great initiative Jazz singer yes, one of the best female Jazz singers certainly, some people might even say (me included) the very best. It's hard to compare her with Ella Fitzgerald, or Sarah Vaughan say, so it has to got to come down to personal opinion, taste and preference. Certainly it is not the strongest voice with the greatest range, just something very unique and special. She used her voice like an instrument, to bend and shape notes, and has influenced so many people ever since, and will continue to do so for a very long time, maybe even indefinitely, with the help of people like Beth Hart, my favorite modern day blues/rock/Jazz singer. Billie Holiday once sang a song called "I have a right to sing the blues" and of course "The Lady Sings The Blues", she also had an album of the same name, someone then wrote a biography, full of inaccuracies, which she probably never read. The same title was used in a very flawed, (but still quite entertaining) film. This label has been attached to her ever since. At the end of the day it doesn't really matter what you call it, it's the voice and the music that count. About the music, buy this Double CD along with the ultimate triple CD collection and you will have a fairly complete overview of her latter work, with lots of fantastic, high quality, timeless, classic music at a great bargain price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Billie sings the blues, 4 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent compilation, great quality, the tracks have been remastered so you loose some of the "authenticity", but if any thing this makes the tracks easier to listen to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good compilation, 17 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are many compilations of Billie holiday's work, many of these tracks appear on other albums and so enthusiasts to look carefully at the track listings. With this proviso recommended from Billie holiday enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'Sanitised' Billie, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great selection of American classics sung as only Billie could. Track 2 on Disc 2 'Love for Sale' is perhaps the most evocative of her trademark Blues style. Overall, a good album but maybe not for true Lady afficionados.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great American Songbook, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great recordings and a superb addition to my collection of GAS tracks and artists. A good selection of songs and well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TESTAMENTS OF JOY AND PAIN ., 12 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No words can really express the greatness of these recordings - they are 'timeless'
they are testaments of joy and pain - they are expressions of a truly great artist who has
somehow come through and now tells us her story - do we have the ears or the imagination
to 'hear' her song ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic sounds, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I came to Billie Holiday after seeing a film starring Diana Ross playing her. Billie has a voice that is all I can say highly reccomended all the songs grab you and caress you what feeling she shares very emotive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How times have changed, 12 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this to fill a genre gap in my music collection. As I'm sure most will be aware Billie Holiday has an amazing and emotional voice but and to me a big but the technology available at the time of these recordings was a quantum leap away from the present day and I haven't gone deaf yet and really like clarity. I know people say 'it's atmospheric' and how it should sound but I disagree. In my opinion the way a good female vocalist should sound is like she's in the room and I strongly suspect if this was possible the atmospheric imperfections would not be present. This being said I'm still pleased with this purchase as the ladies talent is still obvious however it will probably only be played when I'm on my own and possibly in the car when the reproduction is less crucial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The great American Songbook by Billie Holiday, 27 Dec. 2012
By 
Ms. Sheila Appleton (Cheshire England U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have this cd in triplicate and consider it to be one of the finest recording sessions ever by any vocalist, I have nothing to add to this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Come back Billie, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A voice that defines what song interpretation is all about
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great American Songbook
The Great American Songbook by Billie Holiday
Buy MP3 Album£13.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews