Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really useful
I use this in class with secondary school pupils to give them some idea of life in the former GDR. Very useful for this purpose. Best watched in short bursts, rather than all the way through in one go.
Published 6 months ago by Mary Wood

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Had to return
I can't comment on the content of this dvd as I was unable to watch it. The one * reflects this. This dvd was not recognised by any of my dvd players.

The information on line at Amazon states: "Region: Region 2 (This DVD may not be viewable outside Europe". The one I was sent was not viewable inside Europe either (I am assuming that England is still in...
Published 2 months ago by Thalya


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really useful, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind The Wall [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I use this in class with secondary school pupils to give them some idea of life in the former GDR. Very useful for this purpose. Best watched in short bursts, rather than all the way through in one go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind The Wall [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Excellent. Bought it for use in school and it's very good. I think it's a great resource for the classroom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Extremely vivid and interesting account of what the Wall meant to different people, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind The Wall [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I am interested in how different people reacted to life behind the Wall and its eventual downfall. The interviewees on this DVD were extremely interesting to hear, as they represented a wide variety of backgrounds, political persuasions, and personalities, and they all had differing opinions and feelings about the reasons for the Wall, what they lost and what they gained from living under Communist rule, and how their expectations matched up to the reality when it finally came down and they were reunited with the West.
The news films and photos added a lot to this, and I was especially pleased to see a recording of the moment when the time of the lifting of travel restrictions was wrongly announced in November '89, leading to the immediate breaching of the border!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good historical review, 29 July 2013
By 
Dr. R. James "Headabove" (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind The Wall [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I enjoyed this film, which is a documentary on the events leading up to and the re-adjustment that was necessary after the fall of the Berlin wall. This event, which was inevitable given the events unfolding in the Soviet Union was sudden, and unexpected. It took everyone by surprise at the time. The disappointment with the actual history I feel is the fact that a disproportionate amount of the wall remnants are in the united states. Why is that? I will tell you - another example of the propoganda to do with the "failure" of communism. Let's make a big deal out of that. Meanwhile the ordinary citizen has to come to terms with a total change of outlook given the new situation - which is also dealt with to some extent by the film. I advise viewers to see this film before a trip to Berlin, and also recommend reading something about the denazification of Germany and the reasons for the allied carving up of the soverign country. The rest becomes a lesson in understanding how superpowers manipulate propaganda for their own self-serving purposes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind The Wall [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Behind The Wall [DVD] [2011], 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind The Wall [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
This film depicts an aspect of the tumbling of the Berlin wall with film not previously seen before in other such documentaries. Well worth a look!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Had to return, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind The Wall [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I can't comment on the content of this dvd as I was unable to watch it. The one * reflects this. This dvd was not recognised by any of my dvd players.

The information on line at Amazon states: "Region: Region 2 (This DVD may not be viewable outside Europe". The one I was sent was not viewable inside Europe either (I am assuming that England is still in Europe?!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Behind The Wall [DVD] [2011]
Behind The Wall [DVD] [2011] by Michael Patrick Kelly (DVD - 2013)
11.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews