Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars32
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
24
4 star
8
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 March 2002
Technically some kind of supergroup, Captain Beyond were born out of the ashes of IRON BUTTERFLY, featuring their ex-guitarist Larry "RHINO" Reinhardt (and named after him too), & DEEP PURPLE mark 1 via ROD EVANS, the ex-vocalist. Endorsed and pushed by the great Duane Allman to CAPRICORN RECORDS, this band deserve wider acclaim for this their debut album from 1972. It's got it all; musical chops, progressive, outstanding hard Rock, shifting time signatures
no real "space" between songs, recurring themes & reprises.
Standout tracks (all of em)
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 August 2011
They had a weird name that's for sure but, then, it was an era for weird names (or maybe the era never went away--after all the 80's had bands with names like Echo and The Bunnymen another favorite band of mine)so don't judge the album by the band's name.

I had seen the cover years ago (and recently, too)and thought--looks like silly pirate music. Nope. I couldn't be more wrong.

Captain Beyond was an unusual supergroup made up of members from Rod Evans (Deep Purple), "Rhino", Lee Dorman (Iron Butterfly)and Bobby Caldwell (Johnny Winter Group)who, somehow, slipped through the cracks of time. It's unjust. These guys made a TERRIFIC noise creating riff driven rockers.

I had hoped that there were some outtakes that still existed from these sessions. At 35 minutes bonus tracks would have fit nicely on this album but even without bonus tracks, this album IS essential--it's a blast from the past from a band that has been unjustly forgotten by a lot of folks.

Take a listen to the samples and go on a journey with Captain Beyond.

Highly recommended.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2011
I saw captian beyond at the Bickershaw festival in 1972 they were for me the best band there.I went out and bought this album and i've been playing it ever since. The other two albums the band bruoht out did'nt come close to the first one but not many albums come anywhere near.Like other reviewers i don't understand why this band never went right to the top.Buy this album today and do yourself a favour.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2008
I have to agree with the other previous reviews. This album is a great example of early 70s rock. It has some good riffs and excellent musicianship. The production is also very good and sympathetic - this has helped it to weather the intervening years surprisingly well compared to some of its contemporaries. It manages to come across as a band who were working in the same direction and is not pompous or overblown. I have not heard their other albums so cannot comment if they are as good but this one is definitely worth checking out
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2014
It's 1972, I was browsing through the racks of vinyl ( no CD's back then kids) I already had most of the albums by well known artist's back then but was always looking for something new. There was an album playing that I had never heard, as I listened to it I was trying to work out who it was as it sounded pretty good. By the third track I new I was going to buy it regardless of who it was. It was Captain Beyond, and is probably my most played album over the 42 years that I have owned it, so to get it again on CD was very welcome. It is one of those albums that doesn't need to be expanded or any of that nonsense, to alter it in anyway would spoil it. If you were around in the late 60's early 70's and you have never heard this, it is going to be the best album you have never heard. You could put it proudly next to Electric Ladyland, Zeppelin IV and Dark Side of the Moon, and it wouldn't be out of place.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2008
dear o dear how the hell did this band not break through to bigger things? this has got to be one of the most assured debut albums ever. real premiership class. its got it all really, heavy riffs, time changes, acoustic moments, excellent musicianship, fine vocals and original sounding, top notch songs that stick in your head after one listen. there was obviously some behind the scenes drama with captain beyond cos they didnt remain very stable in their line up, and maybe their management let them down? who knows? its too late to worry about now i guess, but man, what a shame.

if youre into intelligent, powerful heavy rock you simply must buy this record. it is without doubt one of the very best of its genre. the two follow ups were patchy and the conflict in the band shows itself. here, however, theyre firing on all cylinders. simply breathtaking
11 comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2014
The price / fulfilment ratio of this 'unknown classic' album (so unknown it's almost like some Masonic secret) is the musical equivalent of paying bus fare and getting a trip to the moon. The other reviewers are not just preening their feathers.

Raunchy, intelligent, and clinical are words that spring to mind when commenting on the musicianship involved here.

I feel that in not owning this for the last twenty years I have been deprived of a more pleasurable existence.....I could go on, but will spare you the unnecessary guff involved when writing such reviews.

5 stars MEANS 5 stars....(I do not use the word awesome unless describing something like the Grand Canyon.)
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2014
This album really has it all and these guys should have been as well known as Deep Purple, Sabbath and Zeppelin; from the perfect artwork (this is easily one of the most striking albums covers I have ever seen and one of my all time favourites) to the awesome progressive hard rock contained within, these guys were Rush before Rush existed.

Larry Reinhardt's riffs are superb, Bobby Caldwell's highly technical drumming is a major highlight of the album to which Lee Dorman locks in to with perfection and lastly Rod Evans' singing proving that he could sing heavier material after Deep Purple kicked him out for that very reason. Everything just clicked perfectly on this album.

This is honestly one of my most beloved albums and I personally hold it in as high regard as albums such as Black Sabbath's Paranoid, Led Zeppelin IV, Deep Purple' In Rock and Rush's Moving Pictures. Buy it now!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
Beyond greatness if you like classic rock then this has to be in your collection this album is timeless doesn't sound out of place just like deep purple come taste the band album a truly masterpiece
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
Take Rod Evans of Deep Purple mk1, add rtwo members of Iron Butterfly and Johnny Winters drummer and what comes out at the end can't be bad. Good Album.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)