Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sounds great
Connected my maxell system with an optical lead work's well in conjunction with the tv speakers when setting the sound level put the tv on mute first sounds great on films and music channels awesome on my Xbox all in all a great improvement on my tv speakers well worth the money
Published 15 months ago by dippymick

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reliability is a major issue
This product met my requirements - weight and clarity - but after 24 hours it kept switching back to the TV speakers,and altering my settings. Switching HDMI and Optical cables made no difference,neither did following all the Troubleshooting suggestions in the manual. It is a measure of my liking for its sound and price that I've opted for a replacement rather than a...
Published 2 months ago by Choosy


‹ Previous | 15 6 710 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Soundbase review, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maxell MXSB 252 Digital SoundBase TV Speaker (Electronics)
A good improvement to the bass, but it would be better if the treble could be adjusted as well. easy to install.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maxell MXSB 252 Digital SoundBase TV Speaker (Electronics)
Purchased the 252 unit as the sound from my new LG TV was terrible. Connected the Maxell using the optical connection and was blown away by just how much better the sound became, Blu ray and DVD sound amazing and regular TV broadcasts benefit hugely, really beefs up the sound to mini-cinema like levels.

Negatives are minor, it could do with more sound effect presets, there are 2 for bass and one for surround (SRS), another level per pre-set would be nice. Also the unit is quite big with a sizeable footprint, so make sure it will fit on your chosen TV stand before purchase. Biggest gripe is the remote, does what it's supposed to but is tiny and easily goes missing (at present mine is lost and I am trying to get a replacement)

Proper Cinema buffs will probably require more but as a simple device to bolster the awful sound from stock TV speakers, it really is spot on and at the price is a steal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dubiuos at first, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maxell MXSB 252 Digital SoundBase TV Speaker (Electronics)
was fed up with tv volume when watching films on media player-searched for sound bars and loved the look of this one and the fact it had the sub woofer built in. took 5 minutes to set up and the sound quality for the room is excellent. only 1 minor complaint- the remote could be a bit more substantial other than that very happy with the unit would recommend it to anyone wanting a stylish effective soundbar
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Decent sound, 31 Mar 2014
By 
B. Day "Ben" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maxell MXSB 252 Digital SoundBase TV Speaker (Electronics)
Bought a cheap soundbar as my Samsung tv has shockingly bad sound.

Does the job for a cheap quick fix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable sound for the price, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maxell MXSB 252 Digital SoundBase TV Speaker (Electronics)
Works with 2013 model LG smart TV.
Just read other reviews if you need to know how to set it up for the LG.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Biuetooth would have made it 5, 6 Mar 2014
By 
Paul "NS1000" (Somewhere in England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maxell MXSB 252 Digital SoundBase TV Speaker (Electronics)
Never have I bought something where I was in two minds about returning it. The sound out-of-the-box was disappointing, no better than my TV sound, I thought I'm returning it. After some bass/treble tweaking via the TV, my TV has no optical out so using the headphone socket, the sound improved and now after a week the unit sounds good, not great.

The reason I've decided to keep it is because the inputs make it so versatile. No more plugging/unplugging HDMI cables, everything can be left alone.

So cons;
Sound ok I have heard better soundbars around this price, volume via HDMI a bit low, remote, although it's not that bad it does work ok, does tend to rattle if you use Bass Boost 2, indicators could be better on unit, no bluetooth

Pros;
Versatile, looks good although big, and after a while sound does break in.

If it had been on sound alone I would say look elsewhere but as an entertainment hub, I have tablet, media player and laptop plugged in, it's worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Value for money, 24 Feb 2014
This review is from: Maxell MXSB 252 Digital SoundBase TV Speaker (Electronics)
If you're seeking multiplex cinema sound, look elsewhere and spend more money, but, if you simply want a decent sound from your flat screen tv at a reasonable cost, then this is a good bet. Wanted a soundbar for our 22inch LG bedroom tv and opted for the Maxell MXSB 252, because it ticks a lot of boxes: it's a soundbase rather than soundbar, so the tv sits on it, looks neat and signals from the tv remote are not blocked; it's well thought of by Trusted Reviews and user reviews are also pretty positive (the negative ones, it seemed to me, were largely from people who expected far too much for the money.); it has HDMI, optical and RCA inputs, so all manner of audio sources can be connected; and it's under 90. Tried it first of all with our six year old Panasonic 32inch lounge telly, which we bought originally because it scored well on sound quality compared to its competitors. In addition this tv only has an analogue RCA audio output, so didn't expect any great improvement in sound quality. The difference in fact wasn't stunning, but was appreciable, certainly a clearer and richer sound. However, when I connected it to the LG via an optical cable (not provided, though an RCA one is) I realised how good the Maxell is. A thin, tinny noise was replaced by a rich, warm, true stereo sound with more than enough bass for us. (Both the SRS Sound and Bass Boost features add to the overall quality.) Setting up in both cases was simplicity itself, a single cable from tv to soundbar. If a set-top box, PVR or DVD recorder need to be added, it will be more complicated and the manual is pretty sketchy, though it does include a Soundbar Usage Flow Chart, which seems to cover all connection possibilities. I did contact Maxell via their website before purchase to check what cables were included and was pleasantly surprised to get a comprehensive reply within twelve hours. Any cons then? Yes, the remote is a small, tacky, fiddly thing, not designed to be used in poor light or by people lacking manual dexterity. Even with this, however, it gets easier with use. So, overall, don't expect surround-sound hi-fi, but you will get improved quality for a modest outlay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maxell MXSB 252 Digital SoundBase TV Speaker (Electronics)
This is an excellent product for it's price. It certainly improved the sound quality of our TV. My only criticism is that the controller is very small, has no distinguishing colours and we often have to put specs on to make sure we are pressing the right buttons! If anyone is aware that Maxell produce a clearer alternative controller - please let me know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Improved bass, 20 Feb 2014
By 
JWL (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maxell MXSB 252 Digital SoundBase TV Speaker (Electronics)
Unobtrusive. Fits comfortably under 39 inch LCD TV. Simple installation and set up with good selection of connections. Noticeably improves bass output of Samsung TV but otherwise TV audio output still not great. Remote can be set to control other equipment but unfortunately this function wasn't compatible with the Samsung TV. TV output switches to Sounnase on set-up. Having a separate remote for volume has proved useful as wife sometimes confused by all the buttons on the smart TV remote.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Much improved sound quality, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maxell MXSB 252 Digital SoundBase TV Speaker (Electronics)
I chose the Maxell more on size rather than price, features or output, as I didn't want one of those soundbars that is about a metre long, particularly as the TV is one that sits on a normal TV table. The Maxell fitted exactly on the table and is unobtrusive beneath the TV. I ordered a HDMI cable from Amazon at the same time and had the unit up and running in a few minutes. The sound quality is much improved over the tinny sounding speakers within the set and all programmes benefit, particularly with feature films or with music. Also sounds much better when playing my Pink Floyd or ZZ Top DVD's. Main drawbacks are the very small remote control - it is only a matter of time before it disappears down the side of the sofa, and the rather odd way in which the red light on the unit shows when it is turned off rather than on. Otherwise no complaints. Sound quality not as good as my old Technics hi-fi system, but for that amount of money who's complaining?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 710 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews