Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album
I bought this album because of Alison Moyet's participation, but all the songs and performances are great. It's nice to hear Eddi Reader's voice again. The last time I heard it was in the early 90's.

The title of the cd is in a way misleading: yes, the songs were recorded at the concert for Kirsty MacColl, but it's not like you're listening to a real concert...
Published 20 months ago by M. Bijlsma

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed bag
It's great if you loved Kirsty's songs , but some of the singers are a bit off-key. Overall it's OK
Published 17 months ago by Neil M. Hartwell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 27 Feb 2013
By 
M. Bijlsma "Marc" (Hilversum, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Concert For Kirsty MacColl (Audio CD)
I bought this album because of Alison Moyet's participation, but all the songs and performances are great. It's nice to hear Eddi Reader's voice again. The last time I heard it was in the early 90's.

The title of the cd is in a way misleading: yes, the songs were recorded at the concert for Kirsty MacColl, but it's not like you're listening to a real concert. Each song begins and ends with a fade, instead of them al being edited together to one piece, with applause etc. in between them, to give you the feeling you are listening to the actual complete concert. I must say I prefer the way it has been done here, also because each song is by a different artist, but I can image people who like to get the feel of a concert will be less happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed bag, 14 May 2013
By 
Neil M. Hartwell (Cornwall ,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Concert For Kirsty MacColl (Audio CD)
It's great if you loved Kirsty's songs , but some of the singers are a bit off-key. Overall it's OK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A concert for Kirsty BUT without Kirsty., 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Concert For Kirsty MacColl (Audio CD)
Well I have given this 4 stars for what it represents. If Kirsty was still alive and she was singing without her reputed stage fright this would be a 5 star review. A great way to remember a great late talent. I love "Soho Square" by Kirsty. Strange to hear Ellie Goulding who worbles a bit like Feargal Sharkey singing it. Oh by the way God Bless Billy Bragg. Let's not forget Kirsty MacColl and her wonderful legacy.
Richard Coleman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars oncert for Kirsty, 24 Mar 2013
By 
C. Harrison (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Concert For Kirsty MacColl (Audio CD)
This is quite a good album, its certainly brave for the artists inviolved to undertake & try to put their own stamps on some of kirstys best loved sings. Some work, others you just wish the artists inviolved had stayd at home!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fitting Tribute, 18 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Concert For Kirsty MacColl (Audio CD)
A fine tribute to a wonderful artist with excellent renditionings of her songs. A very small price to pay for a totally enjoyable album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Concert For Kirsty MacColl (Audio CD)
One of pop music's hidden gems, this is a fantastic collection of artists who all had a reason to say thank you to Kirsty during her lifetime.....I wish I had been to the actual concert because from the strength of this recording it was amazing...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great concert great CD, 9 May 2013
This review is from: A Concert For Kirsty MacColl (Audio CD)
Lucky enough to be at the show, this CD of some of the key performances is really well recorded. Great to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Tribute to the Late Great Kirsty Maccoll, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Concert For Kirsty MacColl (Audio CD)
Very good CD. Sounds suffers a little at times being a recording of a live event but some outstanding performances (particularly enjoyed contributions from Catherine Tate and Amy McDonald).

As a massive Kirsty fan, I was worried that I might not enjoy it but all the artists contributing performed with great enthusiasm and made this a fitting Tribute to a talent sadly missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow what a show, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Concert For Kirsty MacColl (Audio CD)
Wow what a show, really dissapointed could'nt make concert, was thrilled to find cd available. Great range of artists, Amy Mc fantastic and as usual Alison Moyet superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fitting tribute, 20 Mar 2013
By 
traveller (stirling, scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Concert For Kirsty MacColl (Audio CD)
This is a fitting tribute to a great singer/songwriter with all the classics covered by a range of artistes who, although they bring their own interpretation to the song, still capture the craft of the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Concert For Kirsty MacColl
A Concert For Kirsty MacColl by Kirsty MacColl (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews