Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classics, for a reason
What a wonderful distilling of Rachel's best and most Irish food into one book. I love Rachel, but too often, of late, she pushes the boat out too far for me. But not with this one, which is exactly what I'm looking for for me and my family. Probably not the prettiest book in the picture sense, but such is Irish coooking. My gosh, it dose taste fantastic, though.
Published 21 months ago by Scottish Footie

versus
26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 30 new recipes - but 120 recipes in the book!!
On the positive side, lovely quality book with some nice glossy pictures and easy to follow text. However, the vast majority of the recipes are taken verbatim from her other books. Even the pictures are identical! Had I known this, I'd have waited for this to come out in paperback or got it from the library. Worth getting if you haven't got many of her other books since...
Published 21 months ago by Housewife, 39


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 30 new recipes - but 120 recipes in the book!!, 6 Mar 2013
On the positive side, lovely quality book with some nice glossy pictures and easy to follow text. However, the vast majority of the recipes are taken verbatim from her other books. Even the pictures are identical! Had I known this, I'd have waited for this to come out in paperback or got it from the library. Worth getting if you haven't got many of her other books since her recipes are always reliable and straightforward. I've got all her other books since I'm a fan of her writing and her recipes, I'm just disappointed to find I've got 90 of the 120 recipes in this book already!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classics, for a reason, 28 Feb 2013
By 
Scottish Footie - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
What a wonderful distilling of Rachel's best and most Irish food into one book. I love Rachel, but too often, of late, she pushes the boat out too far for me. But not with this one, which is exactly what I'm looking for for me and my family. Probably not the prettiest book in the picture sense, but such is Irish coooking. My gosh, it dose taste fantastic, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best book ever, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
love this book.great food idea`s,and it`s irish.
every cook should get this book,have made many of the dishes,and love every one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars in love!, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book as my family has irish heritage and I wanted to learn some traditional dishes. I haven't got any of her other books but on the front it does say 30 new recipes, so maybe some of them are in her other books. Which the other reviews state, but for me they are all great recipes. It has some basic dishes such as creamy mash and fruit crumble. However it also has some more complicated dishes but they are all hearty and full of flavour! If you love home cooking this book is for you. There are so many recipes and variations on classics I am now looking to get another Allen book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 28 July 2013
If you don't have another of Rachel's books buy this other wise no use.i gave it 5 stars because the recepies are great even if they are repeated .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a rip off, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some of the recipes were duplicated from her previous cookbook. Not sure why they do it but needless to say it is a total disappointment. Majority of the recipes are also overly simple. Nothing interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rachel Allens new book, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i love it as its full of homely food and also food for entertaining,some recipes ive done before,but there are 30 new ones im going to try.Another hit for Rachel!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book by Rachel Allen, 7 April 2013
By 
C. L. Huxter "oraBrush" (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I chose this book because of its simplicity, it gives every day food, with ingredients that are easy to obtain and has great pictures to show what the recipe should look like. I can thoroughly recommend it if you want a no fuss recipe book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Usual Rachel comfort food, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've got several Rachel books so some of the recipes in here are copies from other books but I knew that would be the case when I bought it and there are still plenty of new recipes in here to keep me going. I've only cooked one thing out of here but as usual with Rachel recipe it always turns out really great, tasty comfort food if a little on the unhealthy side. Looking forward to cooking more of the new recipes in time (and after I've been to the gym!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recipies, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was bought by me for a present for my dad to give my mum he was pleased with the speedy service and the good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews