Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
72
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 February 2015
Worth it for the pizza section alone, their other recipes are good too.
Polenta sucks though - no idea why they like it so much.
They have a restaurant in London where you can try their pizza's (~£8) I was surprised to find that I made mine similar to their's (normally recipes from chefs turn out very differently).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
Bought as a christmas present and it seems to have been well received. Love the idea of the book and there are some great recipes, not just pizza recipes but some great desserts and the lovely limoncello too - yum. Having tried real italian pizza's in Naples this book brings a little taste of Napoli to your own kitchen and is well worth buying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I was really looking forwards to receiving this book as I do like making my own pizza bases and cooking from scratch, what I found to be a little lacking was ideas of pizzas - the ones included seem to be the standard ones in Italy that the chaps discovered on their travels (less than 20). Showing a little ingenuity and creating some of their own ideas would be great.

What I did find really good was how to get the stone baked crispy base with cooked toppings in minutes using a frying pan then hot grill. The information on stretching the pizza dough instead of rolling was really cool, however this should really have been displayed with far more pictures as reading it leaves some imagination to those that have never practiced this method.

The rest of the book features some great italian recipes but overall I wanted more in the way of pizza's that the book looked to cover.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
After having paid a visit to the chaps earlier this year on a whistle stop tour of London I was waiting for them to produce a cook book not knowing if they were going to or not.

As a proud Neapolitan, Pizza IS life™ to us so to find a good eatery is hard enough. Home made pizza can be a hassle, especially getting the form right, as well as good cooking instructions. The book is simple, beautifully illustrated and gives you great ideas as well as a brilliant written guide to how to shape and cook the pizza.

If you love Pizza and want to make your own, you can't go wrong with this book, great to have on the book shelf and brilliant for pizza party ideas. I really wish these guys all the success when they open their store! Bravi!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I have reviewed many cookbooks for the Amazon Vine programme. Some have been very good, others reasonable and most have been unusable and dire. This book falls into the very good category, its full of beautiful photos with many wonderful and tasty dishes. This is a great book for those wanting to cook rustic, original Italian food.

The book represents the journey of two English friends collating recipes from a trip around Italy for use in their London eatery. What they bring to this book are great, sometimes unusual recipes for so many different Italian dishes. The book even looks at preparing chillies and home-made Limoncello. The authors also look at how to create wonderful Pizza's but it so much more than a pizza recipe book.

Having lived for extended periods of time in Foggia, Puglia, Southern Italy and have experienced many different home made and restaurant bought dishes, which are not found outside of the Puglia area of Italy, I found this book refreshing and enlightening. Travelling around the country, you soon realise that the Italian food we eat in the UK is a far cry from that found on the streets of Italy. This book tries to bring those types of dishes to a wider audience. I adore Italian food and I adore this quirky well written cookbook.

Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2013
Bought this after having been a long-time visitor to their van on Berwick Street at lunchtimes. Pleased to see a variety of Italian recipes, not just involving pizza and great pictures from their trip around Italy. Well put together and well written - would recommend.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2016
The book is part receipe, but in part, a Brand biography,
I loved reading this book, the first time was just for the history of the brand,
Good recipes, some of the dough takes time! Get some good 00 flour and you'll be fine!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 17 December 2014
You wouldn't think there was much new to be said about pizza, but these two lads have produced an excellent and innovative book, and I can't wait to visit their restaurant.

One of the astonishing things about Italy is how culture varies from town to town and even from street to street. And that applies to food, too. Travelling the minor restaurants and trattorias, Thom and James Elliot have picked up a lot of interesting new angles, not only on pizza, but on backstreet food in general.

Well worth buying, even if you consider yourself a pizza expert!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2013
Worth buying just to be able to understand the basics of authentic pizza and simple Italian food. There's nothing complicated here but the hardest part is finding real ingredients. If you can and you're dedicated to creating simple but fabulous Italian street food then this book will show you how, and at the same time tell you a lovely story about two very likeable and 'driven' lads who had the courage to follow their dream. Absolutely captivating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2013
It's just another Italian Cookbook and not a very good one at that - and don't let the cutesy marketing slogan of '...from the Backstreets of Italy' lure you in either. It has some interesting 'recipes' in it and some quirky, behind-the-scenes insights into their 'pilgrimage' but overall there is very little originality to the recipes and noting you haven't seen before unless you are a completely new to Italian food. If you are after an Italian Cookbook then there are far better and more comprehensive books out there for similar a price. If you are after a pizza cookbook - don't bother. In fact, really, really don't bother. If you just like books, then go for it - like I did. It's worth a browse through and it's not a BAD book, when all is said and done and it's good to support people who are trying something to break out of the rat-race.

Good luck to the boys - I follow them on Facebook and I watched what I could of their TV show. I will definitely be visiting their van next time I'm in London as for me, it's all about the pizza.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)