Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars26
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 January 2015
The Most incredible account of an unimaginable trek and ultimately escape from the Japanese Army and certain death. the harrowing account of the suffering and amazing pain and anguish slogging through dense leech infested jungle, up unimaginable mountainous hills and valleys; not to mention the endless rivers, only surrmountable by the indefatigable elephants and their brave mahouts.,leaves one with mounting awe and admiration. A MUST READ.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
Phew! I am an avid reader of the Forgotten Army and this is another powerful read from that period. Thank goodness for the British Tea Planter, and the truly wonderful locals, from Karen, to Karchen, to name but two. But especially to the magnificent Elephant who so steadfastly and honourably helped his Mayhout help mankind, and without any understanding of Japan, or The British Empire, or why he and she was doing what they were doing. Delightfully non-military!
M. J. Gloyens
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2014
Exciting and terrifying. What an amazing story of heroism and self sacrifice. Told so well that I could visualise the area described. I couldn't put the book down.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2016
I bought this just after I had read Elephant Moon by John Sweeney which is a fictionalised account of the extraordinary trek made by refugees across Burma into India in WW2. Together with Elephant Bill by J H Williams, these 3 books tell an enthralling story. The elephants come through as complex characters and the people who cared for them showed a dedication second to none. All these books are worth a read whether you just love elephants or are a history buff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2015
Well written story of a forgotten chapter in the Second World War, the tale of deprivation and hardship trying to escape the Japanese as they invaded Burma. But also the tale of one man's determination ( Gyles Mackrell) along with his elephants to overcome not only the jungle and swollen rivers in the Monsoon season to rescue the refugees, but also a lack of understanding by the authorities.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2014
Bought as a gift but know the story so I am confident the gift will be accepted and enjoyed thankyou
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2015
This is truly an amazing book and would recommend to as many people as possible. The book ranges from an historical look at our British footnote in Asia. The characters could have been straight out of a novel and yet are kept very real. There are funny scenarios that are only amusing to the read but must have been downright appalling to the individuals involved.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2013
I was aware of the history and the author Andrew Martin got it about right--the work of Gyles Mackrell did involve a lot of different organisations who had their own ideas of what should be done and how, but his special; knowledge of elephants was the keyAlso a great tribute top the Mahouts
David
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
This book could have done with a few diagrams and maps to give some indication of area covered and direction of travel. I got lost as they did in the jungle. It did not hold my attention and I did not finish it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2015
Excellent book showing considerable research made by the author. It shows some history about tea planters as well as the actual flight by the escaping from the Japanese
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)