Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2000 Years of Middle East History
Like a lot of westerners I have little understanding of the problems in the Middle East but this book covers 2,000 years of Middle East history from pre-Islamic beginnings to the life of Muhammed to the Arab Spring, and everything in between.

Written by Michael Rank, a former journalist and Ottoman historian, it connects the events of the past with the Middle...
Published 18 months ago by Louise M

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars My review of Muhammad to Burj Khalifa
This book gives a good overview of the history of the middle east and presents the facts well. The publisher should have employed a proof reader, however, as there are several spelling, grammar and punctuation errors.
Published 18 months ago by James Staples


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2000 Years of Middle East History, 23 Jan 2013
This review is from: From Muhammed to Burj Khalifa: A Crash Course in 2,000 Years of Middle East History (Kindle Edition)
Like a lot of westerners I have little understanding of the problems in the Middle East but this book covers 2,000 years of Middle East history from pre-Islamic beginnings to the life of Muhammed to the Arab Spring, and everything in between.

Written by Michael Rank, a former journalist and Ottoman historian, it connects the events of the past with the Middle East conflicts of today giving the reader a better understanding of the current situation. It shows that issues such as the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, the Iranian nuclear crisis, and human rights problems all stem from deeply-rooted historical issues.

Despite the heavy subject matter, the book is a very fast read and very easy to understand. The subjects are broken up into 25 sections, with each one taking about 5-10 minutes to read. If you don't know much about the Middle East and want to sound informed about the region's history and contemporary politics in the fastest and easiest way possible, then this book is a great place to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mohammed to Burj Khalifa, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Muhammed to Burj Khalifa: A Crash Course in 2,000 Years of Middle East History (Kindle Edition)
I thought the book was a good read, there was a lot to take in, but the author has managed it effectively . Worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great bite-sized pieces, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Muhammed to Burj Khalifa: A Crash Course in 2,000 Years of Middle East History (Kindle Edition)
This is a great book - very informative and easy to read; I really liked the bite-sized chapters that I could just pick up and read when I had 5 minutes spare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read and informative, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Muhammed to Burj Khalifa: A Crash Course in 2,000 Years of Middle East History (Kindle Edition)
The book is neatly split up into small chapters, each one explaining a key element of the history. You could spend five minutes per day on this book and end up advancing your knowledge daily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 23 Aug 2013
By 
Dr. R. Khan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Muhammed to Burj Khalifa: A Crash Course in 2,000 Years of Middle East History (Kindle Edition)
Very smooth. Thoroughly covered the history of Islam, some of the information may not be accurate, such it says that prophet Muhammad is buried in Makkah, which is not correct. He is buried in Madina.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great overview of the Middle East, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For someone well aware of 20th century post WW1 history, this book gives a good snapshot of middle eastern history that I was not aware of, thus helping make more sense of issues affecting this part of the world right now.

This excellent resource breaks down individual chunks of Middle Eastern history into sizable easy to understand chunks that goes a long way to being able to understand what is behind the news and why the middle east is where it is today - an excellent and very helpful resource, which I will read again at some point

Peter Davies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Crash Course in Middle East History, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Muhammed to Burj Khalifa: A Crash Course in 2,000 Years of Middle East History (Kindle Edition)
I am glad to have gotten this book because I love the way the info is broken down into bite size chapters of the historical events and actually look forward to educating myself reading it. Many of the chapters have information which are completely new to me. I thoroughly look forward to reading this book fully and definitely recommend it to anyone who has an interest in history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Informative and easy to read, 4 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. CM McConnachie (Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Muhammed to Burj Khalifa: A Crash Course in 2,000 Years of Middle East History (Kindle Edition)
I found this book quite interesting and, although it didn't answer all my questions, it did answer most of them. It is broken down in to small enough chapters which makes it easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars My review of Muhammad to Burj Khalifa, 31 Dec 2012
This review is from: From Muhammed to Burj Khalifa: A Crash Course in 2,000 Years of Middle East History (Kindle Edition)
This book gives a good overview of the history of the middle east and presents the facts well. The publisher should have employed a proof reader, however, as there are several spelling, grammar and punctuation errors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars From Mohammed to Burj Khalifa, 28 Dec 2012
This review is from: From Muhammed to Burj Khalifa: A Crash Course in 2,000 Years of Middle East History (Kindle Edition)
I think as a very high level pamphlet this does a pretty good job of setting out some of the chronology of events in the middle east with some interesting facts thrown in. The claims made at the head of each chapter are a bit rich and would require much more in depth text to follow in order to support them. Finally whilst the book started at Muhammed as claimed it didn't get all the way to Burj Khalifa so I was left wondering what this actually is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews