Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple but very effective
Great product. It does it all for you. No more mucking about with software. It just works. Not the cheapest of solutions but definitely the best!
Published on 20 Nov 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Unfortunately I can not recommend this device
This device sounds great on paper. There's no way a keylogger can log the pin code used to lock it and it locks itself when removed etc.

The first issue you will encounter is that you need to saw through the packaging to get to the device. It works fine initially with the default pin code set on the device, the problems start when you try and set your own. As...
Published 5 days ago by HC


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good secure USB but for the money would expect faster transfer speeds, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iStorage IS-FL-DA-256-32 32GB datAshur 256-Bit USB Flash Drive (Accessory)
I got this key to compliment my 8gb Ironkey which can't handle very large files... Overall it is an excellent USB key but the one thing I will say is that the transfer speeds let it down...To be fair it doesn't mislead about its transfer speeds but you would just expect a USB with this premium price tag that they would be much faster where in reality, my Ironkey is much much faster at transferring data... Then again, the Datashur can be used on almost any system with a USB slot whereas the Ironkey can be fairly limited to certain OS's.

Overall though this is a great USB and very very secure... A great buy if you're not overly concerned about transfer speeds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple but very effective, 20 Nov 2012
Great product. It does it all for you. No more mucking about with software. It just works. Not the cheapest of solutions but definitely the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Unfortunately I can not recommend this device, 16 Dec 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This device sounds great on paper. There's no way a keylogger can log the pin code used to lock it and it locks itself when removed etc.

The first issue you will encounter is that you need to saw through the packaging to get to the device. It works fine initially with the default pin code set on the device, the problems start when you try and set your own. As other reviewers have said, it takes a couple of attempts to get to grips with changing the password. It is not as simple as it should be, and this is coming from a technical user. I actually think almost anyone who buys this device will be more technical than your average man on the street so be aware.

My particular problem with the device is that after setting a password successfully it will randomly reset back to the default pin: 11223344. When it does this ALL YOUR DATA IS LOST. Note that this was not a result of entering the wrong pin code 10 times which is a great security feature. The first time this happened I thought it was a fluke, but it has happened twice since. It is a fault with the device.

The problem with devices of this kind is that people will invariably store personal information on it and sending the device back for a refund is a not something I am comfortable doing.

As great as I thought this product would be I can not recommend it. I am not sure if I received a faulty unit but I am not going to return it to find out as I don't trust that my data is not still stored on it. It is also pretty expensive for the storage space you get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great device, not very robust, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This USB device works exactly as expected - set a pass code and all your content is encrypted. It's all totally self-contained so you don't need any software installed and it will work with any device that reads a normal USB stick. Push the button again or pull the stick out and it automatically locks. Try too many times with the wrong code and everything is erased. All my projects team carry these now as it gives clients peace of mind that their data cannot be lost on a train or left lying around unprotected.

The only downside is that although the keyring lanyard tempts you to carry it with your keys it isn't strong enough. The end snapped of mine and the keys then slide away too. It all went back together with some superglue and still works fine, but the plastics are not the toughest around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product!, 16 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great product for people looking for secured key!
It does not have all the cumbersome of other products I have used. Quite straight-forward in setting up and using.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent. it does the job, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No fuss. It just does what it is designed to do. Easy to use too. Good instruction leaflet. Good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Product, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The USB is just what it said it would be- It took a few go's to figure out how to change the password on the fly but once I had figured it out it became very easy to change the password;
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Keyboard entry all work fine. I have my passport, 9 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iStorage IS-FL-DA-256-32 32GB datAshur 256-Bit USB Flash Drive (Accessory)
Do NOT buy this product Why failed after 4 months of light use! Keyboard entry all work fine. I have my passport, bank and PC sign in passwords Ni data and birth certificate all recorded. I have 2x win 8.1and a Win 7 plus a chrome book. They all reported that the device driver could not load the iStorage. So £90 wasted. Not even a option to get a replacement. I`m certainly NOT returning it for repair. Shame on you Amazon for stocking this item. I will certainly buy my future computer related items from another retailer...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Store with confidence, 11 Dec 2014
By 
KF "M" (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: iStorage IS-FL-DA-256-32 32GB datAshur 256-Bit USB Flash Drive (Accessory)
Possibly tempting fate but I found this the ideal method for transporting sensitive information. Gives clients confidence their trade information is not going to end up in the wrong hands.

As with anything software based you should always have a back-up.

I bought mine direct and iStorage also included my contact details on the case should it get lost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Secure Encrypted Drive from a UK Company!, 25 Dec 2011
By 
M. Girling (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Datashur is a recently released USB drive from iStorage. It comes in three storage sizes: 4, 8 and 16GB. Similar in concept to the USB hard drives from iStorage, these USB drives offer hardware encryption fully authenticated by a user-defined PIN which is entered directly via keys on the unit itself. In order to accommodate PIN entry, the device includes a rechargeable battery, which is charged automatically when inserted into a USB port.

The unit is small enough to sit alongside other devices plugged into adjacent USB ports but, in order to accommodate the need for a keypad, the device is longer that most other USB drives. I would certainly recommend using a short USB male/female cable to plug the device into your PC, just to ensure no damage is caused to it or your PC when in use. The other advantage of using a cable is that it allows PIN entry on the unit when the drive is already plugged into your PC.

Operation of the device is simplicity itself, though a little fiddly due to the necessarily compact size of the keypad. Keypad entry is reliable but the keys are small and have only a small amount of travel and would be difficult for someone with dexterity problems. The keys have clear legends and the inclusion of alphanumerics on the keypad (similar to a phone keypad) means you can use a more easily remembered alphanumeric PIN (rather than hard to remember numeric-only PINs on competing devices). The keys legends appear to be quite durable and unlikely to wear with use (a problem encountered by a few similar products).

Until you enter a PIN onto the device your computer will not recognise it as a disk drive, so your valuable data is completely protected. When you unplug the device or the USB port ceases to provide power, the unit will automatically lock and PIN re-entry will be required in order for the drive to become visible again. The PIN has to be 7-15 characters in length, giving billions of possible combinations. If an incorrect PIN is entered 10 times in succession, the encryption key and your disk contents are deleted - making it impervious to brute force attacks!

Entry of a PIN onto the unit itself completely ensures your valuable PIN cannot be captured by any malware on your computer; it also means that the device requires no authentication software, making it platform independent. During PIN creation and PIN entry, two status lights guide you and give acknowledgement of wrong or correct PIN entry. A third (rather bright) blue light shows when data is being transmitted from/to the drive.

Once entered, the PIN makes the disk's single partition entirely visible to the Host PC. So, paranoid users may want to use additional measures in order to protect individual files when connecting the drive to unknown host. One thing I would like to have seen on this drive is some degree of plausible deniability in the encryption system. For systems with on-board PIN authentication this could be achieved by the use of a second partition that is only visible upon entry of a second PIN.

The Datashur drive works with a Windows PC, Mac, Linux or any other system that has a USB port that can recognise USB drives formatted to FAT32 - even printers and embedded systems! You can, of course, format the drive to NTFS or other format available on your system, but at the expense of platform independence, so FAT32 is really recommended for most users.

On first insertion into a Windows PC, the necessary drivers are automatically downloaded from Microsoft update - this took just a matter of seconds for me; I am not sure what happens on other systems. No software is included with the unit because it does not need any. A full user manual is included on the drive and there is also a credit card-size durable instruction sheet to carry in your wallet.

The unit looks physically robust, though no claims are made as to its ability to withstand crushing or temperature extremes but the Datashur does have a certificate for water resistance. One thing I do like is the very secure metal cable for attaching to a keyring etc - unlike the flimsy 'string' seen on some competing products. Inside, the unit is physically protected from hackers by encasing everything in epoxy resin Should anyone attempt to open the unit then breaking open the epoxy resin should destroy the unit, so that your valuable data cannot be extracted by use of a microscope! When not in use, the entire unit is protected by a sturdy aluminium case.

The encryption used is top-notch military-grade AES 256 bit. The encryption key is not held in memory but in hashed form on the built-in cryptographic chip. This makes the encryption key virtually impervious to discovery or accidental deletion. It is simply not necessary to retain a copy of the encryption key on any other device (a weakness suffered by software-based systems).

The user can generate a new encryption key at any time but this will wipe the drive's contents - so be sure to backup first. Again, unlike some competing drives, a new encryption key can be generated on-the-fly any number of times; other, presumably less secure devices, have a limited number of encryption keys built-n during manufacture.

iStorage have applied for FIS 140-2 Level 3 certification for this product and expect to achieve this in March 2012. This is really the US Government's gold standard that encrypted drive manufacturers strive for. I think you can fully expect a 10-20% price rise when this occurs, so buy your Datashur encrypted USB drive now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews