Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable romp!
An enjoyable romp through Europe and North Africa in the 1960's with some perceptive philosophical insights and accurate descriptions of the rapidly changing social, cultural and political landscapes of the countries Rigby passes through.
Published 23 days ago by Le franglais

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars A little humility needed....
This is one of those difficult books to review. It was free, so it seems a bit churlish to give a bad review, but it does deserve an honest one.

The book was well-written. There's no denying that. It was also insightful in parts, as it recalls the life of a young performer accepting his sexuality and living a colourful life amongst dancers and actors of...
Published 4 months ago by LadyJaguar


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars A little humility needed...., 7 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dancing Bare (Kindle Edition)
This is one of those difficult books to review. It was free, so it seems a bit churlish to give a bad review, but it does deserve an honest one.

The book was well-written. There's no denying that. It was also insightful in parts, as it recalls the life of a young performer accepting his sexuality and living a colourful life amongst dancers and actors of stage and screen. There is relatively little name-dropping, and in places it made entertaining reading. There is no doubt that his life has been tough at times, and respect to him for laying it all out there for other people to read.

But boy, oh boy, am I glad I've never had the dubious honour of having Mr. Taylor's gimlet gaze travelling over my less than perfect bod. For almost the entire book he could not help pointing out the physical and intellectual shortcomings of others, whilst preening and admiring himself in small thong underwear. If it was written ironically, it didn't work. He came across as an insufferable bore, surrounded by grotesques. If you weren't thin and beautiful, you were given the Rigby cold glare, and it made very uncomfortable reading. Almost everyone he came in contact with seemed to bear the weight of his contempt. In the end his narcissism and the ugly way he described other people became too much.

I'm glad he found love in the end. I really am. I'm hoping that as his beauty fades, he is not subject to the same excoriating judgement with which he seems to regard other people. In the meantime, a little humility is a great thing, and this book has none of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dance Bare, 7 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dancing Bare (Kindle Edition)
It's not an exciting book as I read a third of it hoping it would get better, but n I think it got worse.
No way could I recommend this book to anyone as I thought that the star rating could be like it was I was wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable romp!, 9 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Dancing Bare (Kindle Edition)
An enjoyable romp through Europe and North Africa in the 1960's with some perceptive philosophical insights and accurate descriptions of the rapidly changing social, cultural and political landscapes of the countries Rigby passes through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Bare Essential, 5 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dancing Bare (Kindle Edition)
An enjoyable read, kept me interested from beginning to end. A cannot put me down book. Would thoroughly recommend the book to anybody interested in this topic of fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dancing Bare (Kindle Edition)
I read this book on holiday. I found it a very good book would recommend. Easy to read easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 1 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dancing Bare (Kindle Edition)
did not enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dancing Bare, 13 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dancing Bare (Kindle Edition)
I have read other books by Rigby Taylor, most where readable. Dancing Bare was his worst book, dull from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dancing Bare
Dancing Bare by Rigby Taylor
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews