Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best home planetarium
I have bought several star projectors for my little star-obsessed girl, but this is by far the best. It plugs in - which is vital given her previous one ran out of battery power within 15 minutes. There are several star discs with the projector, and options to rotate and to add "shooting stars". The "shooting stars" are little zips of light which move over...
Published 21 months ago by Mr. Howard Dawber

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sky at Night
Wasn't really overjoyed with this Planetarium It's Ok but
nowhere near as good or clear as it looked on the pictures that
it was advertised to look like.
Published 14 months ago by Gwen S.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best home planetarium, 25 May 2013
By 
Mr. Howard Dawber (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Planetarium Homestar Pro / Star Theatre by Sega Toys (black) (Electronics)
I have bought several star projectors for my little star-obsessed girl, but this is by far the best. It plugs in - which is vital given her previous one ran out of battery power within 15 minutes. There are several star discs with the projector, and options to rotate and to add "shooting stars". The "shooting stars" are little zips of light which move over the star field.

It's also a sturdy thing, which feels high quality compared to the alternative plasticky versions.

The stars are beautifully crisp and you can make out constellations etc. Short of a "real" star projector planetarium, I think this is the best you are going to get at around £100 for the home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased, 30 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Home Planetarium Homestar Pro / Star Theatre by Sega Toys (black) (Electronics)
Me and my wife were very pleased with the purchase. We are still enjoying it almost every evening. At first I was uneasy as some reviews mentioned that it was projecting dots of light and it's not very real. When i first turned it on it was the same for me, than I started studying it and I found that you can adjust the lens by rotating it at the top of the device. I think it is because you can adjust to higher or lower ceiling as required. Anyway once you adjust it just right, you will enjoy it for sure and it will look realistic. 5 stars and thumbs up. Hope that helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clear night view whatever the weather outdoors, 9 Aug. 2014
By 
Reviewify.co.uk "Mark" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Home Planetarium Homestar Pro / Star Theatre by Sega Toys (black) (Electronics)
Length:: 2:23 Mins

The Sega Toys Home Planetarium Homestar Pro aims to bring a sky full of stars to your home. If you live in a built up area and have ever looked up at night you might not realise just how full of stars the night sky is due to light pollution. Take a trip to Egypt and go on a star gazing tour and you'll be amazed at the beautiful light show on offer when you're in an area with clear skys and no surrounding light.

The Homestar Pro attempts to give you that experience in the comfort of your own home by projecting 60,000 stars onto the surface of your choice, be it wall, ceiling, or floor.

The Homestar Pro comes with 2 discs, one disc projects stars with an overlay of the constellations, very useful if you want to learn how to spot the constellations in the night sky. The second disc gives you the night sky without any additional markings, and it's this disc you'll likely use the most.

Setup is very easy, just pop the disc into the Homestar Pro, plug it in, aim at the surface of your choice and press the on switch. To ensure the projection looks at its best you'll need to focus it using the focus ring that runs around the lens, and while most of the stars look crisp there was some blurring for the stars at the peripheral edges.

The Homestar Pro can project a static image or you can set it to rotate, something that injects a little life into the projection. To add a little more life you can also choose to have shooting stars appear and these are a really nice touch that gives it a bit of excitement as you watch the starfield rotate.

It's nice and relaxing watching the stars, they fill the surface with light and look much better then I've been able to capture in my video. It's a pity the motor used is a little noisy, although that was soon masked by popping on some relaxing music in the background. Spotting this might cause you to drift off to sleep the manufacturers have included an automatic shut off countdown timer, allowing you to fall asleep under the stars.

The rotating star field is bright and beautiful, especially with the odd shooting star. It's expensive and for the price it would be nice to see some additional slides included, perhaps some less serious ones that children would enjoy using. Overall it's a nice and compact home planetarium.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing. Definitely recommend!!, 27 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Home Planetarium Homestar Pro / Star Theatre by Sega Toys (black) (Electronics)
I bought this direct on Sega Toys website as it was only £99. I absolutely love it! It's exactly what I wanted. It creates such an amazing experience at night. Me and my partner love going to sleep under this. I'm 24 years old so it's definitely not just for kids! It took a couple of minutes to get it properly in focus but if you spend the time getting it right, it really does look incredible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sky at Night, 2 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Planetarium Homestar Pro / Star Theatre by Sega Toys (black) (Electronics)
Wasn't really overjoyed with this Planetarium It's Ok but
nowhere near as good or clear as it looked on the pictures that
it was advertised to look like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 13 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Planetarium Homestar Pro / Star Theatre by Sega Toys (black) (Electronics)
The girls love Stars and to transfer the bedroom each night to a magical land is really special. The company that provided it are fantastic and went out of there way to ensure that it arrived in time for Christmas. Completely brilliant service. Highly recommend to anyone with little ones that love the stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Looked promising but very disappointed., 11 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Planetarium Homestar Pro / Star Theatre by Sega Toys (black) (Electronics)
I bought this product for my 2 year old son who gets very excited when he sees the moon in the night sky, and loves his basic ladybird star-projecting nightlight. I thought this home planetarium would be a fantastic upgrade for him to enjoy falling asleep to. However within a couple of minutes of plugging it in, it became apparent that the product is falsely advertised, showing clear pictures of stars when in fact, the Home Planetarium simply projects a blurry, distorted patch of "noise" on the ceiling.

This product has an adjustable focus ring, and even after adjusting the height at which the unit sat, and trying different focus levels, it never became the sharp image that is shown on Amazon.

Needless to say, I contacted the seller the very same day that I received the product to arrange returning it.

2 stars because the product itself looks good and appears well made. It's just a shame it doesn't function the same way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great gadgit, 27 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Planetarium Homestar Pro / Star Theatre by Sega Toys (black) (Electronics)
Its the perfect toy for adults, what a conversation piece. Everyone will love it . Just sit back in your own living room and watch, perfect. :))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 28 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Planetarium Homestar Pro / Star Theatre by Sega Toys (black) (Electronics)
this was for my son and he is totally happy with it and i think its an amazing idea, now trying to find out if you can buy different slides :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Starry night.!!, 12 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Planetarium Homestar Pro / Star Theatre by Sega Toys (black) (Electronics)
This is a great planetarium, arrived quickly, is amazing quality , stars and planet come out very clear when you play around with the focus, the turning motion is cool too, the shooting star is not the greatest feature I have to say but it is still pretty cool,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews