Customer Reviews


281 Reviews
5 star:
 (236)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Genius
Really didnt know what to expect with this. Had never heard of the band, but had heard Pompeii played a few times on the radio and really liked what I heard.

Listened to the sound clips on amazon and liked what I heard so took a punt and bought the album. Wow. I cannot think of a time when I have been so quickly hooked on the first listen to an album...
Published 18 months ago by J. Piper

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good ... but no cigar!
Having seen all the positive reviews and listened to the clips on Amazon I thought I'd give this CD a try. I've now listened to it 4 or 5 times and it's a 'grower'. There are some good tracks (opener Pompeii in particular, even if it does sound a bit like a Maori chant meets 'Life In A Northern Town'!) and overall it's quite easy on the ear with some 'nice' tracks. And...
Published 18 months ago by Adrian L


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Genius, 18 Mar 2013
By 
J. Piper (Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bad Blood (MP3 Download)
Really didnt know what to expect with this. Had never heard of the band, but had heard Pompeii played a few times on the radio and really liked what I heard.

Listened to the sound clips on amazon and liked what I heard so took a punt and bought the album. Wow. I cannot think of a time when I have been so quickly hooked on the first listen to an album before.

Usually I end up having a couple of favourites on an album and skip past the rest of them. With this album it is different however. There are so many great tracks on there, that I happily listen to the whole thing without skipping. If pushed for some favourites then I would say Pompeii, Things we lost in the fire, Bad Blood, Weight of Living PtII, Laura Palmer and Oblivion. Standout track for me though is Icarus - I looooove the intro to it and a really catchy chorus. Have already listened to the album at least a dozen times and still loving every moment.

One of my top 10 all time albums (and I have hundreds of them). So good that I bought it twice! - once from amazon but then also from apple so that I could have it on my work ipad (which has all sorts of security on it which means I cannot plug it into a pc or download music apart from via itunes). couldnt bear to be away from the album during the day :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album!, 3 Aug 2013
By 
Sharron Hather "irismay42" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Blood (MP3 Download)
This is a great album that really took me by surprise with its excellence! Beautiful melodies and spine tingling harmonies and an overall sound that is really distinctive. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 4 July 2013
By 
G. Weatherburn (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Blood (Audio CD)
love every track. saw them live at glastonbury and they were amazing. cant wait for the next album. definitely one to watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but i was miss lead., 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Blood (Audio CD)
Love the CD although didn't have the same songs as the other. if your wanting more you need to buy the CD with the car on the case as it has 2 CD's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fine debut!, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Blood (Audio CD)
This album is all in all pretty good. From emotional soaring melodies such as 'Overjoyed' to quirky ballads such as 'Flaws' it brings an interesting sound to the table.

I can't help but feel Bastille rather overplayed their hand in the lead-up to this album, on first listen I had already heard 6 of the 13 songs. It left it feeling more like a collection of singles than a complete album. Perhaps some tracks should have been left as singles too as it feels like the album has tried to get to many different sounds into one space. There are, however some excellent moments. 'Weight of living, Pt I' and 'These Streets' harp back to the original quirkiness and excellent melodies that first caught audience's attention in 'Flaws'. Some of the lyrics are a little bit bland or un-inventive which brings me to my final summary.

All in all this a a good, solid debut with soaring melodies and well crafted music to back it up. It is slightly let down by the fact it seems some-what unrefined for an album that was a fair while in the making. Very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just brilliant, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Blood (MP3 Download)
This album is just superb. Can't stop listening to it. The main 'hits' are excellent, such as Pompeii and Flaws, which I was immediately attracted to when I first downloaded this album. However, I kept listening to the other less well known tracks, especially Weight of Living, Pt II and Icarus, and I can't sum up their quality in one word. Great album, buy it, you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super album - great price!, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Blood (Audio CD)
This was a present for my 20 year old daughter for Xmas and she loved it (and so did I). A great album from Bastille and at a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love love love it, 20 Oct 2013
This review is from: Bad Blood (Audio CD)
This is the cd I have on all the time in my car at the moment. I love his voice I love the drums I love the songs it's a great cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great hooks, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Blood (Audio CD)
Bought this album as I really liked the couple of singles I'd heard, I was not disappointed! In my opinion one of the best albums I've heard for ages, some classic tracks with fantastic hooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bastille, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Blood (MP3 Download)
Yes very pleased after hearing the Glast. Hope to hear more of them. Downloaded ok . Thankfully cheers Ta Mucho
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bad Blood
Bad Blood by Bastille
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews