Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thumb it! Rumple it! Dogs'-ear it!!
Customer Video Review     Length:: 0:44 Mins
This is a book that will appeal not only the the 'young children' for whom it was originally intended, but also to much older Alice buffs and collectors. In fact, I suspect it will *mostly* appeal to the buffs and collectors.

The book, while not an actual facsimile of the 1890 edition, does come close in several respects. The text is...
Published on 12 Feb 2010 by Steampunk

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A historical look at Alice
I often request children's books from the Vine programme being the parent of a 7 year old and have been fortunate enough to receive some excellent and now well read books. We are readers in this house and althoug my son is dyslexic he loves a story as much as any other child. He enjoyed this book (especially with the advent of a film in the not too distant future). The...
Published on 6 Mar 2010 by A Raven


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thumb it! Rumple it! Dogs'-ear it!!, 12 Feb 2010
By 
Steampunk "JS" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Nursery Alice (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Length:: 0:44 Mins

This is a book that will appeal not only the the 'young children' for whom it was originally intended, but also to much older Alice buffs and collectors. In fact, I suspect it will *mostly* appeal to the buffs and collectors.

The book, while not an actual facsimile of the 1890 edition, does come close in several respects. The text is reproduced word-for-word, and the publisher has (thank Heavens!) resisted the temptation to muck about with it by updating spellings or anything of the sort.

Even the type-face is that of the original book.

The (20) illustrations are the familiar Tenniel prints, reproduced in colour (coloured by Tenniel himself)

This edition includes a few 'extras': The original preface to the 1890 edition; Carroll's Christmas greeting, and his Easter Greeting; and the sickly-sweet poem, 'A Nursery Darling.'

In Carroll's own words, what is the point of this version of the Alice story?
"My ambition NOW is (is it a vain one?) to be read by Children aged from Nought to Five. To be read? Nay, not so! Say rather to be thumbed, to be cooed over, to be dogs'-eared, to be rumpled, to be kissed, by the illiterate, ungrammatical dimpled Darlings, that fill your Nursery with merry uproar, and your inmost heart of hearts with a restful gladness!"

Um. O-kaay.... Thank you Mr Dodgeson...

This is a nice book and a MUST for Alice collectors. I've tried to use a short video to give you the chance for a quick virtual thumb, coo over, dogs'-ear, rumple, etc.

Definitely five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautifully presented edition of this magnificant young readers adaptation, 15 Feb 2010
By 
Chris Hall "DLS Reviews" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Nursery Alice (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
First published in this `younger readers' format back in 1890, the classic story of `Alice in Wonderland' was so beautifully and lovingly adapted into `The Nursery Alice', simplifying and shortening the text to allow our younger readers to enjoy this magnificent story.

The text itself is large and bold, printed here on thick high-quality paper honouring the original publication as best it can. Indeed, the high-quality of the book itself is evident throughout. The glorious hardcover binding portrays a luxury quality to the book. The dust jacket is thick and hard wearing, true to the original printing.

The presentation on each one of the pages is so classically set, that one can't help but feel a pang of nostalgia when reading through the book. The twenty full colour illustrative prints that appear throughout the book alongside the text are each exact copies of Sir John Tenniel's original illustrations.

The chapters are short and concise allowing for short bedtime reading for young children. This really is a joy to behold and a book that will certainly be treasured by children and then again fondly remembered in their later years.

The book runs for a total of 64 pages and includes the added bonuses of the original preface to the 1890 edition (addressed to any mother), the poem `A Nursery Darling', An Easter Greeting To Every Child Who Loves "Alice" and the Christmas Greeting (from a fairy to a child).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Alice, cut down to size, 15 Mar 2010
By 
Paul B "-pb-" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Nursery Alice (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Just like the potion Alice drank, this version of the famous tale has been considerably shrunk to fit small children.

But this is no bodged edit, it's actually Carroll's own work to appeal and explain the story to children too young to understand the full tale. With large colourful (and original) pictures the text skips briefly through each stage of Alice's journey down the rabbit hole and asks children questions to get their attention.

It certainly surprised me when I read it to my kids. Though at times it seems a little twee, some of the ways that Lewis Carroll goes about explaining the events of the story are ingenious. Because this is the original text there are phrases and words that children may not understand today but in some ways it's nice to have a cut down story which is faithful to the text and doesn't try to modernise it (in light of certain films, shall we say).

Ultimately, though, this is as much as treasure as it is a bedtime book, it's probably not something children will want to have read to them too often but older children will be interested in reading it themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will Fire Your Child's Imagination, 23 Nov 2010
By 
A. Marczak "mazzarak" (Mordor) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Nursery Alice (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have to say I'm not familiar with the original story, but my 6yo daughter and I loved this book. The chapters are short, the pictures are wonderful and the writing style is excellent. With so many references to the pictures themselves, the child can really allow themselves to get into the mind of Alice. Although some of the language is a bit outdated, I loved the fact that Carroll would use a strange word, my daughter would say "what does that mean?" and the story would give the answer straightaway, as though Carroll knew that would happen. My daughter loved that.

The chapters don't really tell a story, they take a theme from the picture and develop it. Even so, I think it's a perfect bed time book for a 6 year old, and if your child is a keen reader (age 7/8/9), they'll be able to read this no problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charming Alice, 25 Mar 2010
By 
kehs (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Nursery Alice (Hardcover)
This is a delightful introduction to Alice for the younger reader. The illustrations are charming and will draw anyone into this magical world. However, as is intended, it is only a very brief look at Alice and I feel that readers of all ages will be wanting more after having read this book. Don't let that comment detract from this book though as it is a wonderful book to own and cherish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A historical look at Alice, 6 Mar 2010
By 
A Raven "Raven" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Nursery Alice (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I often request children's books from the Vine programme being the parent of a 7 year old and have been fortunate enough to receive some excellent and now well read books. We are readers in this house and althoug my son is dyslexic he loves a story as much as any other child. He enjoyed this book (especially with the advent of a film in the not too distant future). The illustrations are lovely but not the highly coloured "in your face" illustrations he is used to. As such he has not asked for this book too often - he likes the story but it is not a favourite.
This book is a nice introduction to the Alice in Wonderland story for younger children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Presentation of a Classic, 25 May 2010
By 
Brian Hamilton "brianhamilton14" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Nursery Alice (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Everyone knows this classic tale so there is little to be gained from speaking about the story.

What I liked about this book was the presentation, a good size (think the annuals you used to get at xmas) with a hard back and nice dust cover.

The illustrations were what did it for me. I expected them to be some kind of modern rendering but they were very old-school. It was all hatching and thick lines, like you used to see in newspaper cartoons.

A good read for kids and recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Times change..., 3 Feb 2010
This review is from: The Nursery Alice (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Interesting to see what was considered appropriate for the Edwardian nursery, I bet this is the most demanding thing a lot of kids will come into contact with (as far as grammar and syntax is concerned) for a long time. Probably until they have a crack at the unexpurgated version. It's Carroll's own abridgment (word?) and the illustrations are reliably excellent, nicely presented... a really nice book and a nice gift for an enthusiastic new reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully surreal, 30 Jan 2010
This review is from: The Nursery Alice (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This beautifully John Tenniel illustrated hardback book, with matching dust jacket and a lovely matt feel to the cover, takes the most memorable elements of Lewis Carroll's whimsical tale, and reminds us why it remains timeless, as well as providing a good introduction to the story for the uninitiated. This heavily abridged book emphasises Tenniel's illustrations and subsequently provides an accessible introduction to the magical adventures of young Alice, the Mad Hatter, The Cheshire Cat, and all the other weird and wonderful creatures Alice meets on her journey. My five year old loved having it read to her, and is now keen to explore the original text. A nice gift for (primarily but not exclusively) girls aged between 4 and 8.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Picture book Alice, 24 Feb 2010
By 
Silverfrog (Leeds UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Nursery Alice (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I was interested in this book because, although I liked the original Alice in Wonderland, I hadn't realized that Lewis Carroll himself had adapted the story for younger readers. The basic outline of the story is there, but a lot of the dialogue (especially the wonderfully zany poems and songs) have been removed. Instead Carrol directs his audience towards the John Tenniel illustrations or asks questions about the story ('So it really was a little Puppy, you see. And isn't it a little pet? And look at the way it's barking at the little stick that Alice is holding out for it! . . . Have you got a little pet puppy at your home? If you have, I hope you're always kind to it, and give it nice things to eat'). I suppose that this is rather sweet, and may be suitable for younger readers, but it seems a bit condescending.

Still Tenniel's illustrations are fantastic, and the edition also includes Carroll's preface to the 1890 edition, two of his poems, and an Easter greeting 'to every child who loves "Alice"'. On the whole, however, I think that this edition will be a bit cloying to all but the youngest of readers (Carroll specifies children 'aged from Nought to Five', and their parents may not want to suffer reading it to them). Everyone else should hold out for the original Alice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews