Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars67
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 January 2016
An excellent, well researched and interesting book. I admire the author for his profound ' depth of research' My interest of late and for reasons no other than admiration and interest has been to read about a dozen books written by German and WW2 British submariners. I have got myself quite hooked on the subject! However this book is one I know that I will read again in a year or two. It rates alongside the U-Boat commander Teddy Suhren's book, that book also well worth a read. However 'Being silent they speak' in my opinion is well worth the five stars that I gladly give. The capture of the sole survivor, after Unbeaten's sinking of a U-Boat and keeping the German captive aboard and having him work in the galley is so very British. A first class read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2013
The author's naval knowledge shines through, but he has clearly also done extensive research on HMS Unbeaten and the personalities that made up her brave crew. It is in his well crafted descriptions of Malta, the extremely challenging conditions of operations there and HMS Unbeaten's extensive operations in the Med that the book comes alive. The touching personal link between the author and one of the crew of Unbeaten has no doubt also been a catalyst for the quality of this book, including the research into Unbeaten's sad demise. A well researched, enjoyable and informative read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
This factual book is well constructed and gives a fine account of the life ou "Unbeaten" and her crew. It is cronological from the boat's building in Barrow-in-Furness to it's loss. It is brilliantly researched. Thee book though factual is not dry or boring but the author fills in the war in general at the time. I thought I was well versed with the 2nd world war but the narative of this submarine is expanded to include other facts of the time. Some are totally new to me and I found the book enthralling
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
Well written, i like the technical details describing the various types of boats, and comparisons with the u boat.The patrols sometimes seem to have been quite uneventful owing to the situations in which the found themselves, yet vitaly important, their courage is to be greatly admired, and i sincerly hope as the author suggests that the resting place of this great little submarine and it's very brave crew is found.
Worth every penny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
Being interested in WW11 submarine literature, I bought the book from its title. It has been quite well researched and relies quite heavily on the submarine's reports. The author tries to paint a picture of the period also but in adding background descriptions, makes the history of the boat's activities a little disjointed. Nevertheless it is an interesting history of a WW11 submarine operating in the Mediterranean.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
This was a very interesting and factual description covering the life of a British submarine during WW2. It could not be described as a literary masterpiece but it gave a a full description of the role that our submarines played in harassing the German and Italian supply routes in the Mediterranean. Without this, our troops would not have had the success they did in the North African campaign.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2013
An interesting and well researched account of submarine operations in Mediterranean in the early years of WW2. Unfortunately it is spoilt by the style of the narrative which leaps backwards and forwards in a confusing way. Also the proof reading is poor with many spelling mistakes and punctuation errors.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2016
As a ex-submariner I would strongly recommend this book. It's a fantastic read that immerses you in the day today struggle that all submarine crews go through. The dedication of the crew is felt throughout this book. The author captures it all perfectly. Well written and researched. A fantastic book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2014
Another true story about the sometimes 'hidden' war played out under the waves. Must have been quite terrifying for much of the time and a very lonely way to die. A lot of research has obviously gone into writing this book - and it shows.

Very sad that the story has such a tragic ending.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2013
Technical and full of well researched facts woven together to to reveal an outstanding history of Unbeaten. War history is not my usual choice of reading, falling over this title while browsing. It managed however to grip me as a story with a wealth of information for the true war historian reader.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)