Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How Eskimos keep their babies warm
As a mother of four girls I have always had questions about when to potty train, when should my girls goes to bed. This book is beautifully written, giving you an insight into other cultures and how they bring up their children sitting seamlessly with the Mei-Ling Hopgood's experiences with her own daughter Sofia. I would recommend this book to any parent who has ever...
Published 18 months ago by Lynds

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I had high hopes
I liked the start but somewhere in the middle I felt I was reading a university essay ,I did learn a few things but I was expecting more cultural diversity and less going over the same subjects in the same countries five times. I found it somewhat boring by the end and just wanted to finish it ,to be done.
Published 16 months ago by charlotte


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How Eskimos keep their babies warm, 23 Mar 2013
As a mother of four girls I have always had questions about when to potty train, when should my girls goes to bed. This book is beautifully written, giving you an insight into other cultures and how they bring up their children sitting seamlessly with the Mei-Ling Hopgood's experiences with her own daughter Sofia. I would recommend this book to any parent who has ever questioned their parenting skills, a beautiful book not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Interesting!, 3 Feb 2013
By 
Kim (Bromley, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How Eskimos Keep Their Babies Warm: Parenting wisdom from around the world (Kindle Edition)
With a 10 wks old and 5 year old, I really found this book interesting. It makes you realise that there is no right or wrong way to bring up children, only different methods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How Eskimos keep their babies warm, 18 Mar 2013
As a mother of two I was reallly looking forward to reading this book and was not disappointed. The book gives examples of parenting from around the world and it gave an interesting insight into other cultures and how they raise their children. I found it very enjoyable and I would definately recommend it to other parents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How Eskimos Keep Their Babies Warm: Parenting wisdom from around the world (Kindle Edition)
Very insightful. As a first time patent to a toddler I found this book very interesting. As the author herself has said, parents in the west are very quick to judge each other on how they raise their children. This is most definitely true in Wales. As a mother I constantly feel guilty for going back to work, for continuing to co sleep with a toddler amongst other things as a result of other people's judgements. Therefore I was very pleased to read that many of these parenting choices are normal in
other cultures.
The book has also taught me about many parenting customs that I had never heard of but find fascinating and might even choose to follow. A great read, we in the west have a lot to learn from other cultures. It will help the reader realise that there are many different ways of raising a child successfully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I had high hopes, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked the start but somewhere in the middle I felt I was reading a university essay ,I did learn a few things but I was expecting more cultural diversity and less going over the same subjects in the same countries five times. I found it somewhat boring by the end and just wanted to finish it ,to be done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very enjoyable and interesting read., 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How Eskimos Keep Their Babies Warm: Parenting wisdom from around the world (Kindle Edition)
This is the first kind of 'parenting' book I have read that I enjoyed! It's not really a parenting book but more a cultural look into the different ways that other countries tackle everyday things.

As a first time expecting parent, I enjoyed reading about the different cultural references. How some of the western material things are not always as necessary as I first thought them to be and it has defiantly questioned some things I thought were just the way to do things.

I would recommend this book to my friends and family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Helps you trust yourself, 13 April 2013
Although my children are past the age where I would usually be consulting parenting books I read this with interest and really wish I'd read it 10 years ago. In a world where too many aspects of parenting are handed down as hewn in tablets of stone it is refreshing to learn how things are done elsewhere, and to be able to adopt a completely different method secure in the knowledge that it is practised successfully somewhere. I found the chapter on potty training particularly thought provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really interesting and liberating., 29 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book a really interesting read. As a newish mother I began to feel liberated from the constraints our culture places on parents when reading how other cultures raise their children. For example, I no longer worry about occasionally breaking the bedtime 'deadline' after reading about the flexible attitude Buenos Aires parents' hold. My 14 month old has had no ill effects and we've had more fun as a result. Wish I'd read this book sooner and would recommend to other parents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Interesting read, 12 April 2013
I loved this book as its really well written, gets you thinking and is a refreshing approach for parenting! It has challenged me to think about aspects of how I parent and has some great and unusual suggestions for how people parent across the world - like in Buenos Aires where they keep their kids up really late!
If you looking to read something interesting and a little different then this is for you, I would highly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting parenting practices, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The books lists different parenting practices around the world on various subjects e.g. Potty training to sleeping habits. Quite enjoyable to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews